We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Location, Poor Service, No Wi Fi or Amenities”
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cassandra Hotel
Ranked #83 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad Location, Poor Service, No Wi Fi or Amenities”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel was 45 minutes from down town vancouver, the service wasnt to good the only time it was was when one of the lady receptionists was there and that was maybe twice the whole 2 weeks we stayed there, IT COST $8.40 for the first night for wi fi then more costs after that!!! no amenities, condom wrapper found between the bed and bedside table on the first night which was just disgusting! the gym was infested with flies. overall the hotel was disgusting and out of the way and the staff werent helpful at all except for one lady receptionist. VERY POOR LOCATION AND SERVICE

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    25
    30
    57
See reviews for
37
43
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My mom and I traveled here this last weekend and booked a last minute room after some travel changes in our itenerary. We ended up paying $170 for a room only to find that the carpet was moldy, filthy and that the room was stuffy and smelled bad. The bathroom had rusting fixtures and the entire room did not look like it had been changed since the 1980s. Internet was only provided with a sharp fee and even the lobby computers require you to pay for internet. A surprise $200 dollars was charged as a security deposit, only to be returned the next day before they had even checked the room. The neighborhood was not very welcoming and the streets around it were filthy. Not worth the value charged. I will definitely give this a miss on my next return.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to downtown are usually cleaner and of better quality. Richmond also has some nice hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deniame135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Good location, just 10 mins by walking to Joyce skytrain. A great number of favor cuisine restaurants around of it. wonderful customer service, the gentleman is so patient to ask questions and resolves with any request during my stay. Room is ok but no wifi. Recommending offer free wifi next time. At the end of word, the hotel is good to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ageliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here with my friend over Canada day Long weekend. Right when we walked through the door we could smell smoke (It was a smoke free room). The sink and counter in the bathroom were dirty. The windows don't open, plus all over the window sill was hair!!! The entire room was covered in hair! Hair in the shower, hair on the toilet, hair on the ground, and hair on and under the sheets!! The shower head was broken and would spray water everywhere in the bathroom. The fridge door handle was broken. Stains and marks all over the walls in the whole building. The only good thing in the room was the TV. Horrible customer service, he could care less that our room was dirty and broken.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The rooms appeared to not even be cleaned, the bathroom was covered in hairs and floor had crumbs, the shower head sprayed water everywhere and the tub looked stained, every bathroom surface had smudges, the bed sheets looked clean but had hair all over, pillow was stained, smelled like cigarettes, only good thing is the tv and this cheap dump only gets about 5 channels... Definitely not what it appears to be online.. waste of 160$.. Terrible service all over

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cailyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked through Expedia, so the rates were right ;) Walk-in rates are much higher and would have been a total rip-off for the services offered. The online photos of the hotel look much nicer than the hotel itself. Not exceptionally clean, has a funny smell throughout, the windows in the room don't open so there's no way of getting any fresh air, the "whirlpool" & "sauna" seem to always be closed, the front desk was a bit of a pain in the butt & it took us 3 attempts at different times during the day and between our activities to finally get checked in :( , everytime our neighbours ran water or flushed the toilet it sounded as though someone started an engine right next to our heads, the heater/air conditioner was also noisy, and an extra charge for w-fi is ridiculous in this day & age... On the up-side, the nice white cotton duvet was definitely appreciated (no patterned polyester bedspreads here), the room was spacious, and the location was ideal for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife stayed there about 3 weeks ago. The location was ok. The hotel was ok. However, the morning front desk person was not polite at all to us and other guess. When we first asked him about breakfast he rolled his eyes and said, " down the street". Later, we noticed a guess asking to let him into his room. The man made a comment in another language to his co-worker then got up, looked into the video camera behind the desk, rolled his eyes then went to let the man in. The guess commented to the employee about his obvious rudeness. We were so upset we left the hotel and wasted our pre-paid 2nd night. I wont advise this hotel if you care for courtesy.

Room Tip: look at room before you check in. You may not want to check in after dealing with the AM front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#73 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#78 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#63 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassandra Hotel

Property: Cassandra Hotel
Address: 3075 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5R 5J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Renfrew
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cassandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cassandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassandra Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing