We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adequate, average and good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
Ranked #47 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“adequate, average and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The property is a bit old and smallish but has a very helpful staff, a fitness center and is close to English bay. I would stay there again. The walls are very thin! The difference between a regular room and premium room is minimal but in dollars it is quite a bit more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 46carpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank You for the review. I am glad you found the hotel so convenient! I do apologize that you did not like the upgrade that you chose. We look forward to seeing you on the next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    578
    200
    80
    24
See reviews for
303
560
108
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

It was pretty good 2 nights for me here. Location of hotel is very good, near to some of the city attractions and good food. Beds were very comfortable. Expect the room and bathroom to be slightly small in size, which is acceptable for me and is also common in most downtown city hotels. Decent value for money stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darren3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello

Thank You very much for your review. I am glad you found our beds to be very comfortable. The location is great and I am glad you found our hotel to be good value for your money. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford SK, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great place to stay. Family and dog friendly. Central to Granville Island, Stanley Park, great restaurants and coffee shops, within walking distance of great shopping , bike rentals across the street. Hotel restaurant also family friendly. Have returned here many times and will return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello

Thank You for your review. I am glad you found our location so accommodating for your needs and our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder Bay,Ontario
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed there four nights and was very enjoyable.You could lie in bed and see the ships at anchor in English Bay.The room was not huge ,but very comfortable.It was spotless!The staff could not have been more friendly
The location was great .It had great food,good scenery as well as shopping.Also parking was very convenient and reasonable.
It was a little noisey on the street below on the weekend,but did stop at about i:00pm.
I forgot to mention the great breakfast deal for $6 during the week.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of English Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hello

Thank You for your review. It sounds like you had a partial Ocean View from your room and it is very relaxing to watch the Ocean. The Ocean side does have some street noise on the weekends which is unfortunate. I am glad you found the rest of your stay to be so comfortable and the staff to be so friendly. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Location was perfect, price was very reasonable (but double check all offers on website as we found better price that what was quoted when speaking to hotel front desk) cleanliness of room was excellent and it made for a great holiday. Didn't require or expect anything more and there were no disappointments.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello

Thank you for the review and I am very pleased we were able to get you a great rate through our front desk. It was good to hear you had such a great holiday and and we were able to be part of it. We look forward to seeing you on your trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The BW Plus sands has become our regular hotel in Vancouver. Basically on English Bay, a hop-skip and jump from the Stanley Park Seawall, surrounded by restaurants and all the stores one needs, including a government liquor store, clean and excellent, knowledgeable and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank glena878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello

Thank You very much for your review of our property. I am glad that you have found our staff do be very knowledgeable and friendly. I am pleased as well that the hotel is so close to the activities you like to do. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The location is fantastic, steps from everything the West End has to offer. The room was perfectly acceptable, a bit small but very clean, nicely decorated and really, we found no faults - the beds were wonderful, comfy and soft with terrific pillows. The parking is reasonably priced and in general, our stay would have been perfect.... except that we were located on the front side of the hotel, directly above the pub/restaurant. The street noise was completely bearable - really that was not a problem - but the bass thumping from the pub was ridiculous. That as well as being awakened relatively early by the cleaning staff who don't seem to know enough to keep their conversation to anything below shrieking was enough to keep us from returning. Upon check out we were given a "free upgrade" - whatever that means - if we choose to give them another chance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank You for your review. I am glad you found the hotel to be comfortable and in a great location. I do apologize about the extra noise that disturbed your stay. We only have DJ's on Saturday Nights and I have spoke to the Bar Manager about the Bass. I have also spoke to the housekeepers about there energy levels down in the morning. The free upgrade next time you return is to a higher floor and room with a king bed. I hope you will stay with upon your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Main
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
Address: 1755 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing