We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all counts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed there four nights and was very enjoyable.You could lie in bed and see the ships at anchor in English Bay.The room was not huge ,but very comfortable.It was spotless!The staff could not have been more friendly
The location was great .It had great food,good scenery as well as shopping.Also parking was very convenient and reasonable.
It was a little noisey on the street below on the weekend,but did stop at about i:00pm.
I forgot to mention the great breakfast deal for $6 during the week.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of English Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Hello

Thank You for your review. It sounds like you had a partial Ocean View from your room and it is very relaxing to watch the Ocean. The Ocean side does have some street noise on the weekends which is unfortunate. I am glad you found the rest of your stay to be so comfortable and the staff to be so friendly. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Location was perfect, price was very reasonable (but double check all offers on website as we found better price that what was quoted when speaking to hotel front desk) cleanliness of room was excellent and it made for a great holiday. Didn't require or expect anything more and there were no disappointments.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hello

Thank you for the review and I am very pleased we were able to get you a great rate through our front desk. It was good to hear you had such a great holiday and and we were able to be part of it. We look forward to seeing you on your trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The BW Plus sands has become our regular hotel in Vancouver. Basically on English Bay, a hop-skip and jump from the Stanley Park Seawall, surrounded by restaurants and all the stores one needs, including a government liquor store, clean and excellent, knowledgeable and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank glena878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hello

Thank You very much for your review of our property. I am glad that you have found our staff do be very knowledgeable and friendly. I am pleased as well that the hotel is so close to the activities you like to do. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The location is fantastic, steps from everything the West End has to offer. The room was perfectly acceptable, a bit small but very clean, nicely decorated and really, we found no faults - the beds were wonderful, comfy and soft with terrific pillows. The parking is reasonably priced and in general, our stay would have been perfect.... except that we were located on the front side of the hotel, directly above the pub/restaurant. The street noise was completely bearable - really that was not a problem - but the bass thumping from the pub was ridiculous. That as well as being awakened relatively early by the cleaning staff who don't seem to know enough to keep their conversation to anything below shrieking was enough to keep us from returning. Upon check out we were given a "free upgrade" - whatever that means - if we choose to give them another chance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank You for your review. I am glad you found the hotel to be comfortable and in a great location. I do apologize about the extra noise that disturbed your stay. We only have DJ's on Saturday Nights and I have spoke to the Bar Manager about the Bass. I have also spoke to the housekeepers about there energy levels down in the morning. The free upgrade next time you return is to a higher floor and room with a king bed. I hope you will stay with upon your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great location, close to English Bay and Stanley Park. Plenty of choices of places to eat. Very friendly staff and plenty of parking. For $80 a night we got a very clean and comfortable room for 3. The only complaint I have is that there was no fan in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65ChadW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Great location, close to English Bay and Stanley Park. Plenty of choices of places to eat. Very friendly staff and plenty of parking. For $80 a night we got a very clean and comfortable room for 3. The only complaint I have is that there was no fan in the bathroom.

Thank You for the review of our hotel. The hotel has a great location and you were able to secure a fantastic price. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The hotel has central fans that are constantly on but this unfortunately is not the traditional bathroom fan that you were missing but it does help. I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel was perfect for what I was looking for. It was in a good location so that many places were in walking distance. The people working were always nice and gave suggestions when we needed them. The elevators we a bit scary though.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akbwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank You very much for your review. I am glad you were very happy with your stay at our property and felt our staff was pleasant and the location was so convenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Location of this hotel is perfect, West End, close to sea, Stanley park and downtown. Bed comfort was wow. Staff was nice. Too many cigarette smokers at the entrance though. Law should be reinforced. Really, 200 characters minimum ? Well I'm going to lorel ipsum this...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mathieu-Philipp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Location of this hotel is perfect, West End, close to sea, Stanley park and downtown. Bed comfort was wow. Staff was nice. Too many cigarette smokers at the entrance though. Law should be reinforced. Really, 200 characters minimum ? Well I'm going to lorel ipsum this...

Thank You for your review. I am glad you found our location so perfect. I do apologize about the people smoking in the breezeway. We look forward to seeing you on the next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#54 of 92 in Vancouver
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 92 in Vancouver
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $95 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing