We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value & best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
Ranked #48 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value & best location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is located near the English bay, wonderful location near water front and close to the down town core. Have to pay extra $15 for each night for parking, plus $5.99 if you like to eat breakfast at the hotel; these rates are reasonable considering the location of the hotel in Vancouver. Heating system of the hotel needs major upgrade!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Farooq H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello

Thank You for staying at our hotel and the review of our property. Our location is in a great being in the heart of English Bay which is close to downtown along with Roger's Arena and BC place. We agreed with your review and we have been upgrading our heating system for the last 10 days. We have created the ability to produce more heat through the hotel with some fairly substantial upgrades. The 5.99 breakfast is also a phenomenal deal and is offered currently Monday to Friday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    585
    204
    80
    25
See reviews for
305
566
109
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This location is amazing.. so many restaurants close by and the sea wall at English Bay is so great for taking the dogs for walks. The only problem is the cleanliness of the pet friendly rooms... It smelled like urine all 4 days I stayed there. I hate febreeze but I had to go to Safeway to buy some and no matter how much I used I couldn't cover up the smell of urine. If it weren't for that I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello

Thank You very much for the review of hotel. I sincerely apologize that there was an odor in your room. We spend extra time on Pet friendly rooms when guests check out so this should not happen. I apologize that our staff did not detect the odor. Unfortunately we were unaware of the situation till after your stay and we would have been able to move you to another room to rectify it immediately. Hopefully you will give our hotel another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked early because I had an important medical appointment in the AM and needed a good night's sleep. My partner came with me. When we entered our budget room with a queen bed we noticed it was cold. The thermostat did not work. We called the front desk and friendly person tried to reset the thermostat. We went out for dinner, expecting it to be warmed up when we returned. Alas afterwards it was even colder. We called the front desk and a person brought up a heater (after a delay since person forgot). The heater blew out the electricity so we had no heat or TV. They staff searched for the breakers. No luck. Finally I suggested, after 5 hours of wearing a coat, that they change us to a room that had working heat. They did so. In the change I lost my glasses. However we did have heat at last and managed to get some sleep. This was classed as an "upgrade" but it really didn't do us much good. There were 2 double beds so we slept in one and used the other duvet to keep warm. The staff were friendly but could not solve problems. The hotel was more like a motel than a hotel. I won't be back. Sad because the location is very good. Management and training is needed at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reader23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank You for your response, I am truly sorry you had such a poor stay. The fuse for your room was in our catering building and I apologize it took Richard a few minutes to find it as we have two fuse boxes and he checked the other ones first. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future as we do have an amazing location and we did try our best to accommodate you other than the room being cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The room was very lovely and big. The whole place was spotless and the bed was absolutely amazing, so comfortable. I slept like a log even though there was a storm going on outside. The windows are huge which was a bonus to look out on to the street and the water. The Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraWoodScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had such a great stay and enjoyed some storm watching. We have upgraded our beds to the Simmonds Beauty Rests, if you were in the market for a new bed for your home. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Quite happy with service and cleanliness. Very good location; steps from English bay, Stanley park, public transit, shops and restaurants, etc. Quiet room if you choose a room facing the back instead of Davie street. The fridge was also a good "plus" and the room size adequate. Except for a bed too soft to our liking, we would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank pmga2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank You for your review. I am very pleased you find our hotel a convenient and great place to stay. I would also like to Thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights before taking an Alaska cruise. The hotel is in a good position for downtown shopping and also it is very close to English beach and Stanley Park - just one road to cross.
Our room was large, clean and comfortable. It was overlooking the main road but the windows were sliding double glazed units so noise wasn't a problem. We could see the cycle hire shop from our room and so it is great if you fancy cycling around Stanley Park - we hired a tandem. Great fun, we went around the park twice, stopping frequently for photo taking and a rest.
Breakfast was very good. love the Canadian crispy bacon and porridge with maple syrup !

Vancouver is a great city to visit - plenty to do and see. Our short stay wasn't enough. Maybe we'll go back for a week next time !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hywel_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank You for the review. I am pleased you had a great stay at our hotel. Great idea renting bikes to ride around the Seawall although it must of been a bit chilly. I hope you had a great cruise and will see you on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We chose this pet-friendly hotel because of the location. We had a dog with us and the proximity to walking trails was ideal. We were on the fourth floor facing the parking lot so there was not much to see. The air conditioning unit was noisy at times and opening up the window instead resulted in being woken up some mornings because of garbage trucks. The hotel has all the basic amenities and we had rooms with coffee maker, refrigerator (not that cold) and microwave. To accommodate pets, the rooms have very dark décor but relatively clean. We did find the cleaning staff not to be that diligent at times and not replenishing some of the items every now and then. We also noted that the carpet was not properly vacuumed and cleaned on at least one occasion. Credits must be given to the front desk and maintenance staff for being very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for the review. I agree we have a tremendous location close to Stanley Park and just feet away from English Bay and the Seawall. I am sorry that housekeeping may have been negligent in their duties. I will address this immediately as we strive for perfection with our cleaning. I hope to see you and your dog on your next return to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
South Main
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
Address: 1755 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing