We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B.W. Sands Hotel, Vancouver, B.C. Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have stayed several times at this hotel as the location is perfect for us. English Bay (beach) is a block away. Tim Horton's is right across the street for coffee and breakfast sandwich. Denman Street shopping is right around the corner with many good restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank You for your response. I am glad you find our location so Ideal. We look forward to seeing this Summer when it is beach wear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Every trip to Canada since 2002 we have stayed here for our initial stop over in Vancouver. Excellent location right across from English Bay Beach and close to shops, restaurants and all the wonderful activities that are located in the city.

The staff are always very courteous and helpful when it comes to asking them for help. We had arranged accommodation to start the night before our arrival so that we could drop into the room straight after our 7.30am flight in.

The family suite we had was spacious for our needs and had a kitchenette so we could make our own meals. We only did our own breakfasts and made lunches for our day trips. Too many dinner choices in Vancouver - you are spoilt for choice.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LargeAussieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank You for the review. I am glad that we have always been your chosen accommodation for
your initial stop over in Vancouver. It is always nice to hear that our staff are professional and helpful. The location is also great for shopping and dining as you mentioned. We hope to see you on your next visit to Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Check-in was easy and the front desk staff were very friendly. We had booked a premium room on the fifth floor that included a king-size bed, upgraded bath amenities, fridge/microwave, robe & slippers, and breakfast. The room was clean and well-appointed for our needs.

We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurant, including adult children visiting us for three meals there, and enjoyed the food. The hotel is within a block to the seawall, so we enjoyed long morning walks during our stay. Restaurants, stores, beach, etc. are very close by, so we didn't even have to drive anywhere during our stay.

This was the third hotel stay of our 8-night Westcoast visit, and the most enjoyable one. On our last morning we were able to book an extra half a day's stay. It was a wonderful relief to be able to enjoy the entire day without having to wait around for several hours after the 12:00 noon check-out. Our flight didn't leave YVR until 10:30pm, so it would have been a long uncomfortable wait. The front desk staff were always very friendly and helpful adding to the enjoyment of our stay. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A premium room on the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank You for the great review. i am glad that our staff was so accommodating and that we made the last part of your trip the best. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The staff at check-in were friendly and efficient. Our King bed rooms with sea view balconies were well appointed, clean, spacious, air-conditioned, had a mini frig, microwave, lounge, coffee table, desk. The bed very comfortable and street noise not an issue with us, but we were on the fifth floor and guests need an awareness this hotel is in a very busy, vibrant area, including at night. Bathroom was large and functional, 2 bathrobes and slippers provided. Hotel has 2 elevators, easy parking, at $14.99 per day, not exorbitant and we knew at booking there was a charge and preferred we had safe, on-site parking. Bus stops outside and across the road, as was a Tim Hortons, where we bought a fast breakfast instead of hotel's. We were given coupons for 2 for one beverage, for the Bayside Lounge, which is outside the hotel. It was a pleasant venue and had a great view of the seafront opposite. Liked the location of The BW Sands. English Bay is lovely. We spent hours on our balcony enjoying the sunset, boats out in the harbour, the statuary at the entrance to Stanley Park. In the immediate vicinity, easy walking, were plenty of grocery outlets, Restaurants, eateries, pharmacy, fashion retail. Our children walked to and from a night time Canucks game in the city centre and proclaimed it safe and easy, so the city centre is close enough, either by walking along the seawall or by bus from outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor sea view balcony rooms will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank You for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am glad that you found everything so convenient and easy from our location and that you found the staff friendly and efficient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Hotel is superbly situated for the Beach and has a multitude of restaurants and take-away's very close. Immediately outside the Hotel are two bus stops that will get you to the City Centre in about 10 mins. depending on traffic. If you use these get a day pass from Mac's store 100yds. away for 8 dollars which gives you unlimited day travel.The Hotel reception is dingy and small but the staff are pleasant and efficient. We were only staying two nights and then returning just over a week later for a further 3 nights. The Hotel has a bar and a restaurant both of which were again a bit dingy and dark but the food was reasonable both in quality, service and price.
The room that they gave us (115) was small, dark, miserable and level with the car park upper level outside - so the view was not good either. We arrived in the dark after a long distance travelling day and did not see outside until the following morning nor appreciate the room's limitations. The room had no fridge and very little storage space. We complained the following morning but were informed that the Hotel was full and as we had only one more night to stay we put up with it. The second night we were woken by a fight outside on the car park. We told them on departure that if we did not have a better room on our return we would go elsewhere.
On return we had a room on the fourth floor (424) which gave us a view of the sea and the road outside but was noisy with the two bus stops outside but was bigger, brighter and much more acceptable.
If you stay here insist on being on floor 4 or 5 for quality and more peace.

Room Tip: Stay above floor 3 and get an even number room so you have a sideways sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank You for your review. I am sorry that the first room was not acceptable but was pleased to hear on your return visit the staff were able to meet your needs and give you a better room with a view on a higher floor. The hotel does have a great location, close to English Bay and lots of shopping and restaurants but that does create some street noise unfortunately. Thanks again for staying with us and hope you can book with us on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Perfect place to stay if you need to be in the cities downtown core. The staff were very friendly and we were minutes away from Stanly Park. I thought it would be noisier on Davey Street but it was actually very quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Breanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you found the staff friendly and that you loved the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our experience has been THE BEST overall. We would highly recommend. As a side note though... be sure you have booked the right hotel, as there are many to choose from in Vanc. We chose the Sands for a bunch of us to stay at during a w/end wedding celebration. Unfortunately we booked the wrong BW downtown... We checked in, and we were not registered... found out later what had happened.....had to pay for 2 nights at the other hotel. This was our mistake, so I would caution you when booking online MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE CORRECT HOTEL.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Hello

I am glad you had a great time staying at our hotel and that made up for accidentally booking the wrong hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,784 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 92 in Vancouver
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $87 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing