We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hate to recommend this hotel just because it will be harder to get a reservation here when I am visiting Vancouver!! Love this hotel. Good value, friendly staff and fabulous location! This hotel may not suit a purely business traveler as it is a bit of a walk to the business district but if you don't mind a walk or if you are in Vancouver to see the sights and beautiful vistas it is perfect..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for the review Susanna and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We actually stayed two days this week on separate occasions due to travel from van island.
Easy commute to the horseshoe bay terminal (20-30 mins for 8am sail).

The first night we were in a top floor king room523 - which was fairly nice, comfy bed and somewhat quiet facing away from Davies street.

The second stay however we were on the 3rd floor in room 315. We knew the hotel was fully booked, so we held our own on this one.
The room smelt bad on arrival, and the air conditioning unit was thumping every 2-3 minutes prior to returning to a normal cycle. The bathroom was tiny (so small you can barely stand between the toilet and door and close it). The bathroom light switch as well took a few seconds to find, as it is 6ft from the bathroom door.

The bed was comfortable on the plus side, however the curtains were stained in a few places - very visible - and the coffee smelt funny after being brewed in the machine?

The front desk were not overly helpful when asked about a local pizza place, pointing to a completely different one instead - admitting they weren't sure.

The pop machine on level 5 was not operating properly however staff were good. Spoke to security who apologized for the problem, redirecting me to front desk to obtain a refund, than ensured the fourth floor machine operated correctly. Stand out guy!

Oh, and the comment another heterosexual person made about the homosexual population in the area - me and my fiancé are very straight - no pressure, not uncomfortable - heterosexual couples walking hand in hand on the beach. Get over the flags - they are people too :)

I don't think we would stay at this hotel again unless we were guaranteed the room we had on the first night (523).

Kind of a bummer to be the only BW I've stayed at so far not to offer a breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slivers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. I am sorry to hear that your second stay did not met with your experience on your first stay. I will address these issues with housekeeping. As a full service hotel with a full service restaurant on site we don't offer the included breakfast, however we do offer a breakfast feature of $5.99.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Overall the hotel was great. It serves is purpose as a nice place to sleep, beds and room were clean, Free WiFi works good (when sitting near the hallway).
The area was not bad and has a lot of food choices nearby.
If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefbek97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and the recommendation. Hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just a few blocks from my cousins place. Starbucks right around the corner & the ocean just a block down further. Walked to Granville Island & Stanley Park, Gastown, Chinatown, downtown, Rogers Arena/ BC Place. Great ocean view room. Steak & lobster special for $14.96 plus eggs Benny & crab cakes for brekkie ! AND talk about feeling at home - the same Kiff Holland picture above the bed at hotel is the one I have above my bed at home !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for you review. It's truely home away from home, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

With only one very narrow and poorly labeled disabled parking space that was always filled with cars without a disability plate, placard or sticker, don't expect help or support from the front desk. You will be on your own if you need access for a whel chair, or have problems walking distances. The staff smile, look at you and then shrug thier shoulders. They have not taken disabilit issues into the fire safety plan or the use of the elevators. They think it is fine to park on the second level in a regular space and walk. The dated decor and lack of atention makes an otherwise wel located hotle less than satisfactory. Good restaurant and bar and good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

The staff is fully train on both the Canadian and American Disabilities act. They are also well trained in the event of a fire. Communication is key when one requires extra help. The disabled parking spot is always monitored by myself and there was always some form of sign that indicated that they were allowed to park in this spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in 2010. Great location near to the city, but what I did not realize was that its in the center of a gay area!
As a heterosexual person, it wasnt the most comfortable to be in.

The accommodation was very costly for a self catering suite, the decor was dark brown, old and smelt of smokers! I think it was over priced and the neighborhood was noisy. Not the best views, better get a hotel by the sea next time. I wont be staying there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a mix of beach, woodland and city. You can see the stunning english bay beach and stanley park from the front door. The city is behind you and if you are feeling active you can walk most places however the nearest bus stop is opposite the front door. We booked this hotel by chance and couldnt have been more chuffed. Clean rooms, polite and helpful staff - why pay more to stay central when this offers a bit of everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for the review and we are all pleased that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,515 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#53 of 92 in Vancouver
875 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $62 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing