We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great week!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #47 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another great week!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed a week at this hotel and really enjoyed it. I generally don't spend much time in my hotel room as I like being outside but one day I walked all around Stanley Park and the next day I walked to and from Vanier Park so by night time, I was exhausted. I decided to just enjoy my dinner inside the hotel room. The thing that really impressed me was the number of TV stations, I am a sports geek and to get TSN and TSN2 was terrific. The bed was comfortable and the view of the mountains is nice. I really wish I could have left the window open because it was a bit warm but without a screen on the window I didn't want to risk it.

Staff was very friendly and they helped me navigate my way around, both by bus and on foot.

There are so many restaurants in the area. From Tim Horton's right across the street for an early breakfast (jet lag meant I stayed on Eastern time) to an Indian restaurant right next door, a Greek/Persian restaurant around the corner, Bulgarian restaurant across from there and pubs here and there, I have absolutely no complaints and will be back next time I'm in Vancouver.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We have just recently changed over our in room TV's boxes and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wide selection. I can see what you are saying about the screens. I am also from back east and it took me awhile to get used to no screens, but I can honestly say that there is no issue. We don't seem to have the need here on the coast. I do hope we will see you again soon and thank you for sending in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    616
    208
    81
    25
See reviews for
320
595
111
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Not a luxury property but the location can't be beat. The West End has great shops and restaurants and of course, the beach a block away. The room was spacious and clean. The only thing that looks or feels old is the elevator but it works so it's really a non-issue. Another nice thing is transit - catch the bus right in front. It goes up and down Davie St so getting to the MRT/Skytrain is super easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanB-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to send in a review of our property. The location is next to none and can't be beat. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is one of my favourite Vancouver hotels for the budget conscious traveler. This property is located near the corner of Davie and Denman streets just off English Bay and therefore central to many of Vancouver's many attractions and famous restaurants. Although regular buses run from right outside the hotel to anywhere in Greater Vancouver, it is an easy and enjoyable walk along English Bay to the delightful little ferry tugs to Granville Island, B C Place and the theatre district or walk due west into Stanley Park or along Denman to the waterfront to either Stanley Park and the Vancouver Aquarium or the waterfront promenade to the Vancouver Convention Centre, the cruise ship terminal and all that the heart of downtown Vancouver shopping has to offer. The rooms are the upgraded standard you would expect from a Best Western and secure vehicle parking is offered. If you are looking for a central location to lay your head after a busy business or site seeing day, this property is good value.

Room Tip: I was successful on Priceline at getting a room at this property for a two night stay at $68 a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review, I could not have described our hotel and area better myself. thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

the hotel isn't the newest in the city, so expect things to look a little bit dated and only a few floors have views, BUT the staff really do work hard to make the hotel a really great place to stay (and honestly who really spends time in their room when they are on holiday?!). It's spotlessly clean and tidy, any issues are quickly and politely resolved by front desk staff (who are great) and much to my relief (having just flown for 10 hrs with two kids under 5) the quiet room at the back I requested really is very quiet at 6pm and stays that way all night. The location is excellent - Tim Horton's opposite opens 5am - midnight, perfect for jet lag, but for the unadventurous McDonalds, Safeway and Starbucks are also within a block's walk. To keep the kids happy the facilities of 2nd Beach are a 10 min stroll away. I'll stay here the next time I'm in Vancouver, and look out for the mounted police sign in the parking lot (the parking charges are pretty reasonable too)!

Room Tip: Ask for what's important to you, the staff will do their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S F W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we delivered everything you requested. The staff work very hard to make our property feel comfortable and inviting. Thank you for taking the time to send in this review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent one night before going on a week long cruise. The location was great, close to English Bay, Stanley Park, and many restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, and I was allowed to leave my car there while we were away for the week, for a small fee. I would go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and you found it convenient to leave your car with us. We do offer this service to our guest and we ask all cruise guest to call the hotel directly to reserve your spot as our lot is limited to extended car stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

clean rooms friendly staff from cleaning to front desk to management
I read several reviews before I booked this hotel and became a bit skeptical
however the location is great so chose to give it a try anyhow. Glad I did and
disappointed in some of the comments I read. They were very misleading.

Room Tip: any questions just email them they are quick to respond and will assist wherever they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we are all very pleased to receive such a kind review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 90 in Vancouver
1,401 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 90 in Vancouver
1,389 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Property: Best Western Plus Sands
Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Best Western, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing