We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
Ranked #48 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here on New Years, it was perfect. Great location, excellent service and great price. We received a free upgrade to the top floor with a balcony. Rooms were very clean and there's complimentary Wi Fi and a mini fridge which is always nice! I don't plan on staying anywhere else again when visiting Vancouver.

Room Tip: On the top floor (5th) you get balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dockgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Happy New Year from all the staff at the Best Western Plus Sands Hotel and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    514
    173
    67
    23
See reviews for
257
489
101
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Chose BW Sands based on tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Before the stay the hotel provided clear directions on how to reach the hotel using public transport on request.

The hotel is located in a vibrant but peaceful part of Vancouver a couple of minutes walk from Stanley Park. The area itself is very scenic with a view of English Bay and a variety of supermarkets and restaurants are close by.

The presentation of the lobby gives a good impression and this is reflected by the high standard of the rooms. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful and the lobby includes free computer usage with complimentary printing. The computers also include memory card slots which are very useful for travellers to upload camera photos while on the road.

The room was large with quality furnishings and very clean while beds were very comfortable. The room had a mini-kitchenette area with a microwave, fridge, coffee making facilities and a dedicated kitchen sink. The free wifi provided was adequate. The room also had a lot of hanging and storage space.

The attached restaurant/bar had great service and the hotel provided a complimentary appetizer voucher per couple. The appetizers were very generous serving sizes.

The only minor negative was a $5.00 environment charge issued upon checkin which had not been disclosed at the time of reservation through Booking.Com. However this should not dissuade anyone from staying here as this appeared related to the hotel's genuine commitment to recycling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for sending in this review. The $5.00 environment charge that you are referring to in your review is actually $1.00 plus tax per day. This is part of the Zero waste program that has been put in place here at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here after a long absence and discovered that the comfort and location are still excellent. This is one of the better BW hotels. The room and hotel facilities were perfect for us and the staff were friendly and helpful. The lounge/bar was cozy and very convenient for evening dining. The bus connections outside the hotel were also useful for getting downtown without driving/parking. We will try to return here again in summer when the English Bay area is at its best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thrifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Welcome back to the hotel and the staff and I would like to thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

If hotels were rated on quality of service, BW plus Sands would be 5 star! We are travelling as an extended family group and had an excellent experience at this hotel. The staff were very helpful, volunteering ideas and suggestions to help with our visit to Vancouver. Early check in for both of our rooms was easily accommodated to suit our 5am arrival. Our housekeeping lady was so kind and went out of her way to make sure we knew were the umbrella was in our room when she passed us in the corridor about to venture out in the rain. The service we recieved from Haley in the restaurant was excellent. The rooms were adequate and very clean and presentable and the location was great but it's the staff that really make this hotel!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MissHooley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review of our property. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Once again thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in November 2012 and really thought we got our money's worth. First impressions from walking in the door is that it looks more upscale than what we'd expect knowing the nightly rate. Security was good - we needed our room card to access the elevator. The room was clean and was plenty large for both of us. We picked this hotel based on reviews from this site and were quite happy with it. There are plenty of restaurants on the blocks near the hotel, and you can walk to Stanley Park in ten minutes. Also, there's a bike store across the street from the hotel so you can easily rent bikes. The breakfast at the hotel was also good. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable on the area. The room also had a recycling bin with separate container for organic waste - something I haven't seen in other hotels. Parking was $15 a day. Free WiFi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for the review on our property. It is nice to see that our reviews are working, when prospective guests are looking for a hotel in Vancouver. The location is superb and we hope to see you again soon and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Friendly staff; clean, comfortable and spacious room; had a great dinner in the hotel restaurant/bar and a great breakfast in the same room. It is a two minute walk to Stanley Park and the Seawall Walk as well as being situated in a multi-ethnic community with a wide array of interesting shops( no cookie-cutter stores here) and ethnic restaurants. We would definitely go back to this hotel on our next Vancouver trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building. They are doing very noisy renos across the street and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckrooser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. We are all pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
South Main
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
Address: 1755 Davie Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#50 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Best Western + Iniative, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing