We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #47 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Level Contributor
195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed 3 nights as a stopover to look around Vancouver. Good location near Stanley park and English Bay. Very helpful and polite staff. I liked the shops and restaurants in the local streets. Easy to use the buses to get about (or walk). I'd stay here again if I return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aer197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your stopover and we hope you will come back and see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    601
    209
    80
    26
See reviews for
312
581
111
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galiano Island, Canada
Level Contributor
403 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband and I never really consider any other hotel in Vancouver any more. The rooms are spotless, our poodle is welcomed with goodie bags and bags to take on our walks. Stanley Park and the beach are right out the front door. Yes, there is some street noise but please remember you are housed in the middle of a city of 2 million people...there will be noise in any hotel with windows.

We love the fact that Ralph at the front desk always remembers us by name and is so helpful and charming. You can tell a well run place when good employees stay.

We lived in Vancouver for many years, but retired to the country about 100 KM and two ferry rides away, so this affordable, comfy little hotel has become our home away from home whenever we need to come to the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied guest. It is also nice to see that you have come back and stayed with us on several occasions. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pritchard, BC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Well appointed hotel right on English bay in Vancouver's west end, just next door to Stanley Park. Close enough to the business part of the city but located in the restaurant and shopping areas of the west end. Very nice restaurant at the hotel and numerous other restaurants just a few steps from the lobby. Public transit right outside the front door. Very pleasant staff. Well worth a return visit. Excellent.

Room Tip: Not noisy if you are on the lane side of the hotel but then you don't have a view of English Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesfalkener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
James thank you for taking the time to place this review. It is always pleasant to hear from our guest and see that they not only enjoyed our your stay, you also enjoyed our city and all that it has to offer. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at Best Western Sands by the Sea for eleven nights while searching for a home in Vancouver. We were so glad we did. The location at the foot of Davie St cannot be beat if you want close access to Stanley Park, English Bay, and all that the bustling and cosmopolitan West End has to offer. If you do not want to drive there are several buses that stop right outside the hotel, including one that goes to the heart of the downtown core, and one that runs right up Davie St to Yaletown.

Everyone was so good to us, right from check-in. We were given lots of good advice on the area when we asked for it, and the staff knew the local scene pretty well. When we entered the hotel they would hit a button and the elevator door would open for us without having to use our room key. They also have a button to open the double doors into the lobby and more than once we approached them only to have them open before us. We felt like royalty!

We stayed in a king room on the top floor facing towards the mountains. Although not the largest room we've recently seen, it has numerous thoughtful touches that make it seem a bit less like a hotel room. They provide an umbrella in the closet for those rainy days, the best coffee service I've seen in a while, along with a small bar fridge. The sitting area has either a sofa or an overstuffed armchair and ottoman, along with a laptop desk. The bath had very nice amenities including marble top and an impressive array of toiletries. The towels were fluffy and plentiful. They provided a soap dish by the sink, a small detail but again something that makes it feel more like home. Every morning they supply copies of The Vancouver Sun and The Province, a touch we really appreciated.

The bed was plush but supportive, with a duvet sandwiched between two soft attractive sheets. We prefer blankets and housekeeping was only too happy to take away the duvet when we asked and supply us with extra blankets. The housekeeping staff were wonderful, always cheerful and willing to stop and chat a bit about the city and interesting things to do in the area.

I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you have business in the West End. You get a very comfortable and appealing room for a good price, and you get the kind of welcome you'd want to give guests in your own home.

Room Tip: As others have said, ask for a mountain view room, they're on the quieter side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elliott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you so much for this extensive review and we are all happy that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope that your new home is every thing you were expecting and drop by and see us again since you now live in the neighborhood. Many thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The furnishings, bed and bedding, amenities were the best I have ever experienced at a Best Western! I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Jim thank you for the kind review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolah Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My travelling companion and I booked this in the internet using booking.com so knew nothing about it except what we read in customer feedback (which was very good). We asked for a room with a view and that is what we got - looking out over English Bay; beautiful. The staff we excellent - the room was not quite ready but they were ready with suggestions on how to fill our time until it was (the restaurant - for traditional Canadian pancakes - was a top tip). The trolley bus stop outside the door made access to downtown so easy. Around the corner are a great selection of restaurants, bars and cafes. Stanley Park is within walking distance, as are ferries to Granville Island and other points. Excellent staff, well-appointed room and excellent location. Definitely one for a repeat visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (however this is also the noisier side of the building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Jennifer thank you for taking the time for send in a review of our property. It is always a joy to hear from guests and their experience. I know the staff enjoyed having you stay with us and I can see by your post you had an amazing experience in Vancouver. We hope to see you again soon if you come back to Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

You won't find better value or a better location. I've been a staying here 2-3 times a year for the last few years. Its very close to downtown but far enough away from all the noise so you can sleep well and you can't beat the location next door to English Bay and world-famous Stanley Park. It was recently upgraded to a "Plus" category by Best Western and the rooms have big flat-screen TVs, comfortable beds, nicely decorated rooms etc.

Room Tip: Have a drink in their Bayside Lounge and enjoy a 5 Star view of English Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeltaBoy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us a kind review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Property: Best Western Plus Sands
Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing