We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff extremely helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #43 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The location was very good - near enough to downtown but not too near.
Plenty of restaurants nearby.
Bathroom rather cramped but problems with shower were rectified same day as we complained.
Staff at front desk extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank UkGoldenoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Thank you for letting us know your thoughts, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

Although we were bothered by outsude noise on Saturday night, the staff's helpfulness more than made up for that. Best staff I have ever seen.

Room Tip: I would definitely stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

A fine place to stay on vacation, close to many restaurants, the beach and Stanley Park. On the bus route to get into the downtown area for the better shopping otherwise a 15-20 min walk.
We had a large and clean room facing away from the road, but bathroom quite small. Very friendly staff at reception and the restaurant, and the hotel let us check out late (2 pm) with no extra charge. Entry foyer a little dated and dark but overall a good place to stay and good value.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for submitting your review of our property. It is always nice to hear when someone has a pleasant stay with us. We all hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Thee hotel is fine and good value for money. The room was comfortable and clean, only negative was the shower teemperature was a bit variable. As it was our first impression of Vancouver and Canada, what made it was the very friendly and helpful staff. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GretnaBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you, we are all glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This hotel is on Davie Street, a two minute walk from English Bay, where you can sit by the water and watch the sun go down. Not a big hotel, but clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful. Great juice bar opposite and individual restaurants close by. Walk along the bay and take a ferry to Granville Island to wander round the open market, full of local produce and craft shops. The hotel is a taxi ride from the airport which cost CAD38 and took about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dryhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

I want to thank you for providing us with a complimentary review. Our location is always a favourite for our regulars and guests from abroad. We all hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We loved the very spacious, warmly decorated, very clean hotel room at this facility with an excellent view of English Bay and the container ships. The queen size beds were super comfortable and the pillows were as well. The bathroom was spacious and very clean and nice. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient.
The location is excellent for seeing English Bay and Stanley Park. There is a Bayside Restaurant adjacent to the hotel which had good food and good service. This was the nicest Best Western I had ever stayed in. Very impressed with it and would highly recommend it to anyone headed for Vancouver.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggto999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for the glowing review and we are certainly glad you enjoyed you stay with us. The team works hard to ensure that our guest have a pleasant stay and it is always nice to receive these kind of comments. I will certainly pass them on to the staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

After getting off a 14 hour light I was greeted warmly. After reading some average reviews I was worried bout getting a road side room. The room was clean and well presented. No issues with bus noise at all. I even stayed the night of a canucks hockey game and of course there was a little noise after a great win but if you want pure silence dont stay in an international city centre.

Staff were very helpful, great location to English bay and Stanley park. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Distant_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on this site. I am very happy that your introduction to Vancouver was a pleasant one and you were able to a have a good rest after such a long flight, Thank you for bring up the issue of city noise, it is very hard sometimes to understand these types of issuesare brough up when you are in a large urban centre.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
891 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 92 in Vancouver
1,538 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $81 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing