We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sands
Ranked #47 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Friendly Staff”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Thee hotel is fine and good value for money. The room was comfortable and clean, only negative was the shower teemperature was a bit variable. As it was our first impression of Vancouver and Canada, what made it was the very friendly and helpful staff. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GretnaBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you, we are all glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    601
    209
    80
    26
See reviews for
312
581
111
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This hotel is on Davie Street, a two minute walk from English Bay, where you can sit by the water and watch the sun go down. Not a big hotel, but clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful. Great juice bar opposite and individual restaurants close by. Walk along the bay and take a ferry to Granville Island to wander round the open market, full of local produce and craft shops. The hotel is a taxi ride from the airport which cost CAD38 and took about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dryhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
I want to thank you for providing us with a complimentary review. Our location is always a favourite for our regulars and guests from abroad. We all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We loved the very spacious, warmly decorated, very clean hotel room at this facility with an excellent view of English Bay and the container ships. The queen size beds were super comfortable and the pillows were as well. The bathroom was spacious and very clean and nice. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient.
The location is excellent for seeing English Bay and Stanley Park. There is a Bayside Restaurant adjacent to the hotel which had good food and good service. This was the nicest Best Western I had ever stayed in. Very impressed with it and would highly recommend it to anyone headed for Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggto999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for the glowing review and we are certainly glad you enjoyed you stay with us. The team works hard to ensure that our guest have a pleasant stay and it is always nice to receive these kind of comments. I will certainly pass them on to the staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

After getting off a 14 hour light I was greeted warmly. After reading some average reviews I was worried bout getting a road side room. The room was clean and well presented. No issues with bus noise at all. I even stayed the night of a canucks hockey game and of course there was a little noise after a great win but if you want pure silence dont stay in an international city centre.

Staff were very helpful, great location to English bay and Stanley park. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Distant_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on this site. I am very happy that your introduction to Vancouver was a pleasant one and you were able to a have a good rest after such a long flight, Thank you for bring up the issue of city noise, it is very hard sometimes to understand these types of issuesare brough up when you are in a large urban centre.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orinda
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

we needed a hotel the night before our cruise. some folks were concerned because this hotel is not near the port. Since we had an entire day in Vancouver ,we loved that it was near English Bay and Stanley Park, as well as places to eat and shop. The room was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy that your stay was a pleasant one. I certainly hoped that you enjoyed your cruise and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Small but comfortable hotel. Not a new hotel with tons of amenities, but well-appointed and clean. Yes, the walls are somewhat thin, so bring earplugs or ask for a room on a higher level on the back side. So convenient for public transport...buses pick up and drop off right in front (which accounts for some of the noise). Hotel staff are so friendly and helpful. Free community computer use or free wifi. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoReCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Unfriendly check in staff, run down lobby, half renovated rooms and thin walls combined with NOISY cleaning staff who start at 6 am. Forget trying to get some sleep. If the maids don't wake you up, the pot smoke in the hallway might.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSandsGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sands, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Ms Stenberg
I am sorry your experience at our hotel was not to your liking. However I find that posting such comments on Trip Advisor without letting me know or having even a slight chance to rectify these problems you experienced is not the most proactive thing to do. Upon checkout nothing was mentioned to the staff or me. All these issues could have been address at the time of their alleged occurrence and dealt with.
In the future when you stay at other hotels please bring any issues to the attention of the General Manager for a quick resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sands

Property: Best Western Plus Sands
Address: 1755 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Sands Hotel is situated across the street from the beach at beautiful English Bay and world famous Stanley Park. Shopping, Vancouver Aquarium, Concert Venues and international restaurants are only moments away. 100% Non Smoking and a Zero Waste Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing