We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great environment, service could be improved”

Rogue Kitchen & Wetbar
Ranked #195 of 3,730 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Gastown
Cross street: Seymour - Waterfront Station
Transit: Rogue is conveniently located at Waterfront Station where you may arrive via skytrain, seabus, bus, west coast express or harbour air.
Description: Every day funk is what going Rogue is all about. Crazy tall light fixtures and walls that glow set against sand-blasted brick and well-worn hardwood floors. Menu-wise, going Rogue means doing things in the kitchen others said couldn't be done. Like a completely fresh burger served medium-rare to make it the juiciest and best tasting in town. Or corn-dogs your not supposed to want but secretly crave. Going Rogue means your horizons are greater than the "usual suspects" of chain restaurants. Rogue gives it's customer an eclectic enough offering of food and surroundings, that they can feel and be themselves. You can go Rogue when you're slumming, you can go Rogue when you need to impress. You can go Rogue with a date, your mates or with your boss. Best of all, you can afford to go Rogue every day of the week. Need a stiff drink and tasty meal to get you through your daily grind and have enough left over to do it all again tomorrow? Go Rogue.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great environment, service could be improved”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Been here a couple of times with friends and I love the atmosphere. Nice decor, clean tables, perfect lighting (not so dark that you feel like falling asleep)

Pretty casual dress code - in the summer it's nice to sit outside and people watch while you eat and enjoy the sunshine.

I have tried the following:

Coconut Chicken Salad - flavourful and fresh

Spicy Tiger Prawns Pesto Pizza - I'm a mild spice kind of girl so this one was a little spicy for me, no complaints though because I knew I was ordering a spicy item. Pretty interesting combo and a variety of cheeses

Sourdough Turkey Sandwich - I loved this one, the cranberry sourdough gives you that nice sweet and savoury mix. definitely more than enough for one person I ended up sharing with my boyfriend.

I love their fishbowl sangrias; the straws are huge and the bowl is huge-er? haha I have a picture in my photos of it.

Service is pretty good here, they're pretty attentive. I've never had an above and beyond experience though but I would say much better than your average "bar". The food is definitely better than typical bar food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    170
    58
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

It was our first time to Rogue. We went for supper there after a day of touring around Vancouver. We had a great experience here. We were well taken care of by the wait staff . . . actually several people helped us as our waitress fainted! Having a gluten sensitivity, I had several amazing options to pick from (something I'm not used to!) and was quite pleased with the Cod selection I made. It was incredible! My husband ordered the blackberry maple salmon and was equally impressed. We both were impressed with the quality of food. Should you go here? Yes! Just a quick mention about the aesthetics . . . gorgeous decor! Very impressive lighting, and wonderful atmosphere. I highly recommend Rogue Kitchen & Wetbar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good appies and great staff”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Gastown location. Lettuce wraps and the mac and lobster balls were delicious. It was a Friday night and the place was packed, but we had great service throughout the evening. It was a little noisy, but that kind of goes with the territory. We'll definitely visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Prairieschooner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome. ”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Greeted with a friendly smile. Hostess went out of her way to find me a table outside. Wait staff was friendly and attentive. Delicious Caesar and good happy hour specials.

Definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arrogant Bar Staff”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Just nipped into this bar as we waited for the seabus. Ordered a Bellini and a Whisky Sour as we only wanted a wee drink while we waited. The bellini arrived as per usual for bellinis here in Vancouver, loads of syrup, masses of crushed ice and a dash of fizz! Whisky sours are one of my favourite drinks as i like the punch you get from the whisky, that's the overriding taste (hence the name). First thing i noticed was the bar tender asking his pal how to make it so i was alert from the off, it then arrived with a lime wedge which i hadn't seen before but seeing as I'm in a new city i thought id persevere. I couldn't taste any whisky at all and my fiancee who is adverse to the taste of whisky couldn't taste any either. I politely and quietly asked the bar man if he had remembered the whisky, he promised he'd put an extra half shot in! I still wasn't convinced so asked him to try it at which point he took the huff and aggressively removed my drink. He became very argumentative and made me feel embarrassed and unwelcome, so we left. His attitude through the whole event was appalling and he immediately went on the defensive when i tried as politely as possible to ask him to check the drink.
Real shame!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rogue Kitchen & Wetbar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Rogue Kitchen & Wetbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing