We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pouteeeene!”
Review of La Belle Patate

La Belle Patate
Ranked #179 of 3,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Davie Village
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pouteeeene!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I am from Montreal and this place has one of the most decent poutine i've had on the west coast so far. the gravy and squeaky cheese are great and the portion are huge.

you can get all you can eat poutine for 25$$ i dare you to try!! i can barely finish a small one :P

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandybeachbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    34
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Poutine!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

If you have never had poutine, I highly recommend this place to be the first you try. Excellent service and the poutine was superb. The cheese curds were nice and squeaky. I don't recommend you order the most popular choice, the smoked meat if you are solo. We ordered a traditional and a smoked meat and found that the smoked meat poutine had A LOT of meat and took away from the fries and gravy flavour. It was still good but a bit much for our tastes. So get two and split them amongst yourselves.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank flaneur99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“decent food”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I enjoyed the poutine and hot dogs . It was a lot better than the one in Victoria and no short changed by an employee here. Stay away from the one in Victoria

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gentle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious steamie and poutine”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

It's been awhile since I've enjoyed a steamie St Laurent style in Montreal, so La Belle Patate's version was a welcome treat. I would have preferred my dog to be that much more "steamed" so that its piping hot and really "bloated". But the toppings and cabbage slaw is what made it amazingly delicious. We wanted to buy some of the slaw but the owner explained that it's really only made for the hot dog and would taste different without.
The poutine (large size) was equally delicious. With house made fries cooked just right, cheese and a gravy to die for, this made for a nostalgic experience.
The restaurant itself is okay, and the service friendly.
We'll be returning for absolute certain! Wish you opened one up on the Main St. corridor. That's exactly what we need.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dr-sea-breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Likely the best in Vancouver”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

It's pretty good poutine, when I went the curds didn't squeak but I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and say it was just an "off" day.

Love that it only serves poutine; the gravy is AWESOME, the staff are really super friendly. I liked it quite a bit, but I'll have to search around more before I declare my loyalties.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Patate also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to La Belle Patate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing