We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house, but noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point Grey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Point Grey Guest House
Ranked #18 of 50 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
207 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting Vancouver for work. The location of the Point Grey is great and the house itself is beautiful. Breakfast was good and she was very accommodating in terms of having it at different times the two mornings because of my schedule. I stayed in the Albion Room, which was extremely spacious. It did, however, have the downside of facing the street and with older window frames, the noise was pretty bad. In fact, I had a tough time sleeping any later than about 6am. That said, I would probably stay here again, but ask for one of the other rooms because I am a light sleeper at the best of times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
25
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our son moved into an apartment on Broadway and this was the nearest accommodation available. The B&B is in a circa 1930's large home on West 10th. The room we had faced onto the street which was one detraction - the ambient street noisy from a busy thoroughfare. The other detraction is that I would have preferred a King sized or two twin beds as a queen can be a bit squishy when you are used to a larger amount of sleeping real estate. Nevertheless, the street noisy and nocturnal-proximity to the missus (okay not really a bad thing) was offset by an excellent location, a great back yard and a very gracious host (Georgia). Breakfast was basic and be sure to ask for a good strong pot if you need your caffeine kick in the morning. As my wife and I now have a son to visit in Vancouver, we also have a great reason to return to this charming B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private bath rather than a shared one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGGH, Owner at Point Grey Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for your candid but positive review of your stay at our guest house. We wish we could mute the traffic sounds from 10 Avenue, but next time please request ahead so that we can ensure you have a quiet location in the house (with a king bed possibly). As you know this is a busy time of year with our proximity to the university, but we look forward to trying harder to make your next stay perfect. Best wishes, Georgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Do yourself a favor and get out of downtown...rent the basement suite of Hugh and Georgia's Guest house and do your own thing...or rent a room and get a lovely breakfast too. The home is nicely furnished and cosy and comfortable, a large living room area to relax in or if you happen to be there in the summer, a lovely little English Garden to relax in. The rooms are all nice...the suite downstairs is self appointed and large enough to sleep four...two on a pull-out in the living area.
There is on street parking which is free of charge...a bonus in Vancouver and another reason not to be in downtown.
The Point Grey area is really close to a lot of great eateries and they are in easy walking distance. There are also some lovely boutiques and quaint little shops.
Should you want to walk to the beach, it is a steep downhill 10 minute walk...lovely but then the walk back home is steep uphill!!! But lovely beachfront walking is really close by.
This was my second stay at the Point Grey Guest House....we will be back...

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bathroom if you don't want to share one ask for the lower level suite if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAMCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Four years ago, my wife and I made our first visit to Vancouver. Through pure luck, we happened to stay at Point Grey Guest House. It is a beautiful home in a very nice neighborhood, but the key is the hosts. Georgia and Hugh (and don't forget Shelby) are among the nicest people God ever put on this earth. Their home is meticulously maintained with clean, bright, and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is a delight and the conversation is cheerful and uplifting. Plan ahead as most guests are repeats and book early. If you stay once, you will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grover1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Georgia and Hugh have themselves a little gem in the West Point Grey neighborhood of the city. This area is a little like the Knob Hill of San Francisco, a rejuvenated suburban island within the city limits, where the houses are beautifully rehabbed and the real estate is getting astronomically expensive. Both partners are very helpful and honest, to-the-point about whatever you need.

We rented one of two rental cottages adjacent to the house. The cottage is large and features a kitchen, dining room, living area, bathroom and bedroom. Way more than we probably needed, but fully loaded and enough to support a family or group of 4. There is also a nice outdoor area that is private, for breakfasts and drinks - or you can sit at the cafe table in the back yard and enjoy the landscaping. Everything is thoughtfully decorated and kept neat and clean.

There are a few guest rooms inside the house, but we went through the Website and were directed to one of the rental cottages instead. Georgia told us that the Website does not make it clear that you can rent single room, which includes breakfast each morning.

The quiet streets are lined with well-groomed lawns and just down the road, within walking distance, is Point Grey Village. The Village is quiet, neatly-kept and features little shops that sell coffee, boutique clothes and a few restaurants serving gourmet food. There is a Safeway up the hill for all of your needs.

Point Grey is located near the far west end of Vancouver, in the suburbs west of the city proper. By way of exceptional public transportation, you can see everything the city has to offer. We were first concerned that the Guest House was so far from everything, but for a $2.25 ticket you can ride just about anywhere in the city, no additional fee for transfers to other buses. Because the buses only accept exact change, Hugh and Georgia may be able to provide you with a few starter tickets (added to your bill).

In retrospect, I'm glad we stayed here instead of inside the city limits. It was much more relaxed and quiet here, and we still had access to everything in the city, including the beaches, Stanley Park, the Sky Train, and the buses. It was especially handy to be at a remote location, because we visited during Canada Day and the city was packed.

A word of caution, none of the Vancouver maps we got were very good: Most only show major streets and omit the ten or more small streets in between each one. So, to look at a map you would think you only have a few blocks to walk, etc. We accidentally got off the bus too soon and ended up walking 16 blocks to the Guest House.

If you come in from the airport, use the Sky Train to get off at Broadway City Hall, and then catch the 99B bus to Sassamat street. That will drop you off a few blocks west of the house.

Room Tip: 10th street is one of the larger and more noisy main thoroughfares, so expect some traffic noise. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msupsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Beautifully decorated, very quiet, comfy beds and gorgeous bedding, extra special attention given to small details, a nice little table to sit at over looking the lovely garden, amazing breakfast. Georgia and Hugh accommodated our dietary needs and were very friendly and helpful. The B & B is within a 20 minute walk of lovely Jericho Beach and many shops and restaurants. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritaterriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but needed to be close to UBC, so based on the Trip Advisor reviews, I decided to give this one a shot. I was not disappointed. The hosts, Georgia and Hugh (and Shelby!) couldn't have been friendlier, but were definitely not intrusive. I felt very welcome and at home. The breakfast was delicious. A very healthy and hearty way to start the day. The room was very clean, comfortable and cozy. The house was lovely and in a great location. Will definitely stay again. Thanks Georgia!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
University Land Endowments
West Coast Suites at UBC
West Coast Suites at UBC
#64 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#19 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
West Point Grey
House On Dunbar B&B
House On Dunbar B&B
#16 of 50 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#24 of 50 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Kitsilano
Suite Dreams Vancouver Bed and Breakfast
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 50 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Grey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Grey Guest House

Property: Point Grey Guest House
Address: 4103 10th Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R 2H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West Point Grey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Grey Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come & visit us at Point Grey Guest House and enjoy our cozy olde world charm and the relaxing atmosphere of our friendly Bed & Breakfast. A home away from home tucked away in Vancouver's beautiful West Side within a short walk from Point Grey Village and a 10 minute bus ride from The University of British Columbia. Add a healthy hearty breakfast and free WIFI/internet to complete your pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Point Grey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing