We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Salmon, good deer.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salmon n' Bannock

Salmon n' Bannock
Ranked #4 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Canadian, Native American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Shaughnessy
Description: We are Vancouver's only First Nations restaurant. We specialize in wild fish, free range game meat and of course bannock, freshly baked daily. We use traditional ingredients that we prepare and present in a modern way. In our small casual bistro everyone is welcome as they are. In the spirit of First Nations' traditions, our intention is to provide a gathering place where the focus is on the people and the food. Inez (Nuxalk Nation) and Remi Owners
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Salmon, good deer.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I took my mother to this restaurant for the sockeye salmon, I tried the deer shank, both were very good. The mashed potatoes was nicely done and the vegetables (slivered carrots and green beans) were done perfectly. We tried the clam fritter appetizer but we were underwhelmed due to the lack of clams, the bannock was over worked a bit too much but tasty, the saskatoon berry jam was good. There were limited choices for dinner but the two we had were quite tasty. Mom was wanting herring egg roe for an appetizer but that choice was not on the menu. If I am there on a cool day I will try the stew.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarT9005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    86
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unique First Nations inspired cusine for when you want something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We tried this out during dine out as we had never tried Native American / First Nations / Aboriginal cuisine. They were offering a 3 course menu for $28 and there were 2 of us so we decided to try different things.

1st course - Spicy mixed game chorizo skewer and organic mixed greens salad with Indian candy and bannock crackers. Both were tasty and the indian candy was better than any indian candy I had tried before.
2nd course - Elk roast in red wine and mushroom gravy and wild sockeye salmon filet with dill sauce. I was a bit intimidated by the elk and felt it tasted too “meaty” (if that makes sense to any of you) but my carnivoir of a boyfriend really enjoyed it.
3rd course – Bannock bites with hot caramel sauce. The caramel sauce tasted a bit burnt but the cinnamon bannock bites were tasty enough on their own for me. It was almost like a really dense timbit.

The service was really good especially considering the restaurant was packed (fair enough for Dine Out season) and turns out one of the patrons left their baby soother on the ground and they called everyone back the next day to try to find out who it belonged to. One of the owners was there as well doing quality control and she was very friendly and more than happy to chat. Only downside was that the restaurant felt very small - but probably only because it was during Dine Out.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GE0RG1E
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I were out for a walk one day and just happened to walk past this restaurant. I grew up in a small town where native cuisine was abundant so definitely wanted to check this place out. We went back a couple of weeks later and it did not disappoint. I had the wild sockeye salmon with creamy dill sauce which included roasted potatoes, cauliflower and carrots as well as a fresh bannock. My boyfriend had the bison cheese burger on bannock with sweet potato wedges. The service was very attentive and the food fresh and well made. I would highly recommend checking this restaurant out. My only regret was that we were too full to try the bannock bread pudding!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GE0RG1E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lovely, unique, so yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I really miss Lilliget Feast House (formerly on Davie near Denman, closed for years now) and was heartbroken when they closed, so I was so happy when I saw Salmon 'n' Bannock open a couple of years ago. Though S'n'B doesn't have the atmosphere (or my favourite waiter), it still earns it's 5 stars. I highly recommend the deer stew and the game platter sampler. I wish they had some sort of feast platter, like Lilliget did, but it's not fair of me to keep comparing them. The service I have received at S'n'B has always been fantastic and I like the all Nk'Mip wine list (though the whites are more consistent than the reds, as is true with most BC wine). Overall, a wonderful, unpretentious restaurant that has never failed to make me full and happy.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Felicity_23d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was a fabulous dining experience. The food was terrific, the wine was First Nation wine and very good, and the service was spectacular. One of the owners waited on us and she was absolutely charming--a real delight.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wblizek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salmon n' Bannock also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Salmon n' Bannock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing