We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be made to feel more special!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bee & Thistle Guest House
Ranked #3 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Wonderful location, best breakfast we have EVER had, attention made to every detail. What a special place!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 304 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2011

We could not have picked a better place to stay at for our vacation than the Bee and Thistle in Vancouver. Just off of Commercial Drive, this was a great home base for our entire trip, including an adventure up to Whistler for dog sledding!

The owners are incredibly friendly and were always at our service, without being the least bit invasive. The service went above and beyond what was expected, from fresh baked cookies, daily, to incredible breakfasts customized especially for us. The adjustable fireplace was an especially nice touch. If we ever head to Vancouver again, I would definitely stay here once more, as I cannot imagine a better combination of service, amenities and value.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Even though the owners were on vacation themselves - their daughter did a great job of making us feel welcome! Especially wonderful are the heated bathroom floors especially in January rain in Vancouver. We had not trouble using public transit or walking everywhere. Also the notebook in the room was immensely helpful!
Would definitely use this B and B again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearl-ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

My wife and I live in the lower mainland and decided to take a break close to home to celebrate our 13th wedding anniversary. After reviewing recommendations on Trip Advisor, we chose Lynn & Michael’s B&B and it was the best place we could have chosen. Being faithful B&B lovers, we have stayed in B&Bs around the world but this one stands out because of the owners, the décor, location, views and the FOOD!!! Lynn & Michael are awesome hosts, warm and caring. Their breakfasts are to DIE FOR and I would not mind going back just to have the 2 course exotic breakfasts!

We stayed in the Lion’s Loft and it was worth every cent. The views were breathtaking from every part of the room, the fireplace with the large screen TV with cable and DVD player and 2 rocking chairs made for a cozy way to spend rainy days. The heated floors in the bath, the claw-foot bathtub and every little detail added to the experience. The entire home is restored and gives you a sense of being in a castle brought back to its glory days.

When we first considered this B&B, we were concerned about being in traffic or in a busy part of town but to our pleasant surprise; we were in a quiet neighbourhood and had easy access to public transport too. Commercial Drive is a rich and vibrant market place full of restaurants offering food from exotic lands and we just loved walking around and taking it all in.

We will go back again just to enjoy Lynn & Michael’s hospitality and heartily recommend the entire experience to anyone who wants to get away and just be lost in a garden…

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vineet_Verghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this lovely B&B in Vancouver as a kick off to our Nth American holiday. The rooms were beautiful and exactly what we wanted after a long flight. The location is out of the main CBD of Vancouver, but in a cool area of shops that we would probably not have seen if we hadn't stayed there. Michael and Lynn were so nice and extremely helpful as we explored the area. They gave us ideas, maps and even drove us to the city on our last day there which was so nice. The breakfasts were incredible-delicious and beautifully presented. We loved it and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_Murray76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We spent 2 nights here and our hosts were fantastic, typical Canadian friendly service. Lovely house and rooms. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sputnik707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Lynn and Michael's The Bee & Thistle was simply the best bed and breakfast my wife and I ever stayed at (after extensive travels in North America, Europe, and Asia). Everything from our arrival, to the house, the bedrooms, the bathrooms, the breakfasts, and the hosts was amazing. We stayed at a very nice and modern hotel downtown the night prior and would unequivocally say our stay at Lynn and Michael's house was better in all aspects - more character, more comfort, and certainly more warmth. And all this is even before we had Lynn's incredible breakfasts... You would be hard pressed to find a better spread (and better company!) anywhere downtown. Finally, the neighborhood is full of little restaurants. We particularly enjoyed Taiyo Sushi: nice and simple and 2 blocks from home!

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemonde0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,067 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
692 reviews
West End
O Canada House
O Canada House
#4 of 56 in Vancouver
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
English Bay Inn
English Bay Inn
#6 of 56 in Vancouver
232 reviews
Shaughnessy
Douglas Guest House
Douglas Guest House
#10 of 56 in Vancouver
107 reviews
West End
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bee & Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bee & Thistle Guest House

Address: 1842 Parker St, Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Commercial Drive
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: $128 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest house located in a 1908 heritage house situated next to "the Drive", which is 10 minutes by car from downtown Vancouver, Canada. Cozy rooms are a blend of historic and contemporary, with touches of luxury. Some have views of mountains and harbor. All rooms have queen or king beds, fridges, luxury linens, fireplaces, t.v., iPod docking stations, ensuite bathrooms, complimentary snacks & drinks. The Lions' Loft and Joey's Retreat are both suites with king (Joey) or queen (Loft) beds, full kitchens, lovely bathrooms, gas fireplaces and flat screen t.v.s. We are 1 1/2 blocks from Commercial Drive, which is a casual neighborhood with more than 60 moderately priced restaurants, coffee shops and pubs within easy walking distance. All Vancouver points of interest are easily accessible via public transit. The #20 bus stops 1 1/2 blocks from our house and the Commercial Drive/Broadway skytrain station is an easy 15 minute walk along vibrant Commercial Drive (or 5 min. bus ride). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bee & Thistle Guest House Hotel Vancouver
Bee And Thistle Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing