We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bee & Thistle Guest House
Ranked #4 of 53 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2010

...just came back from a great long weekend in Vancouver and had the BEST stay at this B&B. It's got a great location off of trendy Commercial Drive and "to die for" breakfasts. From the fresh chocolate chip cookies and complimentary beverages in our room, our stay couldn't have started off any better. We had the Florence room and really appreciated the beautiful character that has been retained in this restored 1908 home. The little touches like the cozy bathrobes and a notebook computer in our room just added to our enjoyment. When we asked for directions to Empire Field for a football game Michael drove us there! We had a delightful sleep in on Saturday morning and were treated to a fabulous breakfast of fresh fruits and juice, enormous fresh baked pecan buns (we were warned by another set of guests to pace ourselves because there was more to come!) the best eggs benedict I have ever tasted nested on crispy potato latkes - yummy and beautifully presneted. If you ever get a chance to visit Vancouver and are lucky enough to snag a room here you won't be disappointed. Thank you hosts Lynn and Michael, we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponygaltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Bee & Thistle Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 295 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2010

Lynn and Michael at the Bee & Thistle are exceptional hosts with a fabulous guest house. They were extremely friendly and accomodating, eager to answer our questions and guide us around town wheneever we asked. We stayed in Molly's room and felt it exceeded our expectations...every evening it felt like we were returning home.

I loved the personalized menus every afternoon and the delicious cookies waiting for us both in our room and in the cookie jar downstairs. My husband and I actually raced to see who got to read the breakfast menu first each day because we couldn't wait to see what was in store for us the next morning. Breakfast was beyond amazing. Beautiful presentation with fabulous flavors to back it up. I would be hard-pressed to choose a favorite meal, but the chorizo potato petals, blueberry peach smoothie and creme brulee French toast were definitely up there. I didn't try a single bite of something that wasn't fantastic.

The bed was the best we've ever slept in away from home. Because Lynn and Michael are also travelers, they truly appreciate what travelers desire when away from home. I could feel myself melting into the comfy sheets and fluffy pillows every night.

Overall, the Bee & Thistle far surpassed our expectations, and my husband and I cannot wait to return. I can't imagine any place better than this, and was honestly sad to have to leave. We will definitely return and recommend this to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aligrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed at this exquisite B&B and loved it! Set in a neighborhood of architecturally interesting classic homes on pleasant tree-lined streets that are safe and very nice for walking, the Bee and Thistle is a classic turn of the century Vancouver home beautifully restored by the innkeepers themselves over a 4 year period. We stayed in Ivy’s Room and quite enjoyed its high ceilings and windows and its light airy feel. Warm cookies greeted us on arrival. All needed amenities were provided (including really nice soaps and other toiletries) and the bed with fluffy comforter was very comfortable. We slept very well indeed!

Lynn & Michael are great hosts who go beyond the call of duty to make sure their guests are completely satisfied. The breakfast we had was wonderful and with presentation rivaling that of 4 star hotels where we’ve stayed. Truly, these are people who love their work as inn keepers and it shows in their attention to detail. Our only regret was that we couldn’t stay longer. We envision a return in the Fall for romantic walks beneath a full moon, on the tree lined streets of the neighborhood!

The location is good, just 2 blocks up from Commercial Drive and close to lots of fun shops and great restaurants of all types. (We especially liked our dinner at Marcello Pizzeria and Ristorante!) It’s probably further than you would want to walk to downtown Vancouver (though we’ve done it). But you could easily take the bus or Skytrain downtown and leave the car here, thus avoiding the not inconsequential costs of parking downtown and the traffic stress. Once there, it's a great town for walking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoutOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We arrived tired from traveling and were welcomed by the owners, Michael and Lynn, who gave us helpful info and made us feel right at home. The place is very cozy, well taken care of, extremely clean...a place you will wish you lived in! We stayed in the lions den and didn't want to leave the bed. Main reason being it was so comfortable and you have a view of the mountains through the balcony doorway. The breakfasts are gourmet, no exaggeration. This was the most unexpected surprise of any place we have ever stayed. Book you room, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily_2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

It was a lovely visit from start to finish. When you check in, your room has a menu for breakfast the next day, along with welcome information and cookies! You get a brief tour, and you get to discover all of the treats waiting for you in your room.

We stayed in Ivy's room, even though we didn't know what it would look like. We loved the bay window (lots of light!), comfy bed with down and non-down pillows, plenty of nice towels in the bathroom, a stocked mini-fridge (snacks and some drinks, although plain bottled water would have been nice, too, instead of just Perrier), a large TV, a netbook (although the WiFi is a little slow) . . . oh, and everything is spotless! I love clean places, and this room was sparkling.

As a note for this room, the only oddity was that the bathroom/bedroom shared a stained glass section of the wall which means that you can see each other a little bit. You still have some privacy, but it might not be the best if you're staying with someone you aren't super comfortable with. : )

The breakfasts were fantastic and plated in a restaurant-quality way. One warning--you might find yourself too full to eat lunch later. They will help you pack up food to take with you later, but it is so hard when it looks and tastes so good! Breakfast is a great time to talk to the hosts who will give you advice about places, and they will even offer to help you get places. They also have pamphlets upstairs by the rooms to help with bus schedules, directions, and some menus for places.

Since this is a bed and breakfast, I care the most about the bed and breakfast parts which were both great. However, on top of this, the house has great character and is run by friendly people who want you to have a good time. The location is nice because you aren't too far away from downtown, but you're able to have a beautiful, peaceful setting while you're there. Oh, and another point of interest--the hosts are the ones who redid this house, so we were impressed by that as well!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlyJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Lynn and Michael went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. Lynn's breakfasts exceeded anything I expected- gourmet food and a lot of it! The location is a little outside of downtown, but in a cool neighborhood with lots of restaurants, bars, and shops. It is very easy to jump on a bus to get downtown. The rooms are all remodeled and very comfortable.

I hope I get a chance to stay at the Bee and Thistle again! I usually don't write reviews, but we had such a good time staying at the Bee and Thistle I made an exception!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarBar103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Let me simply give you the breakfast for one morning in this remarkable B&B. Blueberry Peach Smoothy, Brandied Fresh Local Strawberries in Toffeee Lace Cups, Fresh Baked Crossants with Home Made Pear, Peacan and Coffee Jam, Creme Brulee French Toast with Bananas, Whipped Cream & Maple Syrup. All of this plus reasonable prices in expensive B.C.., wonderful rooms in a resotred early 20th century home and a lively restaurant filled neighborhood with great public transport to downtown. Oh, I forgot the Chorizo Potato Petals! Lynn and Michael have raised the B&B to a new level of excellence.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonatirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,891 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
912 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 53 in Vancouver
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#35 of 53 in Vancouver
197 reviews
West End
English Bay Inn
English Bay Inn
#6 of 53 in Vancouver
230 reviews
West End
O Canada House
O Canada House
#3 of 53 in Vancouver
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bee & Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bee & Thistle Guest House

Address: 1842 Parker St, Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Commercial Drive
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: $130 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest house located in a 1908 heritage house situated next to "the Drive", which is 10 minutes by car from downtown Vancouver, Canada. Cozy rooms are a blend of historic and contemporary, with touches of luxury. Some have views of mountains and harbor. All rooms have queen or king beds, fridges, luxury linens, fireplaces, t.v., iPod docking stations, ensuite bathrooms, complimentary snacks & drinks. The Lions' Loft and Joey's Retreat are both suites with king (Joey) or queen (Loft) beds, full kitchens, lovely bathrooms, gas fireplaces and flat screen t.v.s. We are 1 1/2 blocks from Commercial Drive, which is a casual neighborhood with more than 60 moderately priced restaurants, coffee shops and pubs within easy walking distance. All Vancouver points of interest are easily accessible via public transit. The #20 bus stops 1 1/2 blocks from our house and the Commercial Drive/Broadway skytrain station is an easy 15 minute walk along vibrant Commercial Drive (or 5 min. bus ride). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bee & Thistle Guest House Hotel Vancouver
Bee And Thistle Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing