We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bee & Thistle Guest House
Ranked #6 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northeast
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Seldom do we write a review about a restaurant or a stay where our expectations were exceeded, but this one did. The facility was wonderfully fresh and clean, with exceptional amenities - in room laptop with wireless connection, flat screen TV with cable including music channels, and wonderfully comfortable bed. Hosts Michael and Lynn were most gracious down to the smallest detail. When we had to leave very early the on last day and miss breakfast, they put breakfast items including orange juice in our refrigerator. The breakfasts were something else: Lynn is a gourmet cook and gave us a three course over-the-top meal each morning. Fresh fruit, fresh scone, homemade jams, French toast with blueberry syrup just to name a few. See the pics we took of one morning's serving.

Note: it's a climb up the stairs, so it would be a problem for anyone with limited mobility.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimBobTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
204
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ct
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Delightful weekend spent at The Bee & Thistle Inn. The staff is beyond amazing, especially Tory, who has an excellent talent to make a person feel like royalty. She accommodates in every way, always with a smile and a true cheery attitude. The Inn is delightful, well kept and quite pleasant. The holiday decorations were just beautiful. and show great attention to detail and design. Our room was just lovely; comfortable and well appointed. As we dined at the Inn we would be remiss not to add how really delicious the food was, and how well presented. The staff in the restaurant and the whole of the Inn were exceptional. We are already planning our next weekend trip.

Room Tip: I am 5'2:" and found it difficult to shower without getting your head soaked, as the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara21Westport_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I decided to go to Tofino on Vancouver island for our honeymoon. We also wanted to experience the city of vancouver so we stayed at the Bee & Thistle on the tail end of our trip! We were interested in being in a gay-friendly area and after some internet research an area known as "the drive" seemed like the perfect place for us. We had never stayed at a B&B before and the Bee & Thistle was such a wonderful experience for our first time! The owner's daughter was incredibly friendly and inviting. She showed us the house and explained how to use the security system to get into our room (Ivy Room). There were freshly baked cookies, a congratulatory wedding card and complimentary bottle of wine in the mini refridgerator in the room! The bathroom was beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable one we've ever experienced on a vacation! There was a large book of local restaurants with guest reviews to help us pick out where to eat! Breakfast each morning was delicious and just right to get us started each day on our sightseeing adventures. "The drive" was excellent for eating, shopping and we hopped on public transportation to get to Stanley Park. We have nothing but excellent things to say about the Bee & Thistle and I think now we've started a new tradition of travelling only to B&Bs for our vacationing future :-)
Thank you so much for everything!
Beth & Jamie, Wisconsin USA

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Bee & Thistle and it was an excellent choice. We stayed in the Ivy room. The bed was very comfortable and I didn't find the room noisy even though we were on the street side. The bathroom was very nicely appointed and we appreciated the complimentary snacks and drinks that were provided. My one complaint about the room was that the two chairs were not very comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic and very substantial. We saved the baked goods for snack later in the day. The hosts were very gracious. The b & B is located just off Commerical Drive which is a very interesting part of the city. I usually come to Vancouver for work and I stay downtown so this was a nice change.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We just spent 2 lovely nights at this beautiful and charming bed and breakfast. Comfortable beds, delicious breakfast(bring an appetite) and great amenities.

This establishment was clean and inviting. I would both stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Vancouver.

Just off "the drive" it is a true gem.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank myfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Creek, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was in Vancouver for 5 nights to attend a Maiwa workshop. My room was clean and comfortable. I loved the heated floor in the bathroom. The best part of my stay at the Bee and Thistle was the warm hospitality extended to me by my hosts. Lynn and Michael were away but Cheryl and Haigan were wonderful. Thank you so much for making may stay so relaxing. I would definitely choose to stay at the Bee and Thistle again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a couple of nights at the Bee and Thistle ( Ivy's Room) at the start of our trip in September and four nights in mid October ( Lion's Loft) on our way home. It was everything you could wish for and our hosts, Lynn, Michael, Cheryl and Haigan couldn't do enough for us. A short walk down to Commercial Drive where there were great restaurants as well as ample public transport. The 20 trolley bus will take you downtown or to the sky train station for a quicker ride down town. We will definitely be back. We highly recommend the Bee and Thistle.

Room Tip: The Lion's Loft only has a queen bed whereas Ivy's room has a king if you want more room. Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ditu-Wonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,713 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 90 in Vancouver
839 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 54 in Vancouver
675 reviews
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#29 of 54 in Vancouver
180 reviews
West End
English Bay Inn
English Bay Inn
#4 of 54 in Vancouver
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bee & Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bee & Thistle Guest House

Property: Bee & Thistle Guest House
Address: 1842 Parker St, Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Commercial Drive
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1908 heritage house located near downtown Vancouver, Canada, with views of mountains and harbor. All rooms have min. queen beds, luxury linens, fireplaces, t.v., iPod docking stations, ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bee & Thistle Guest House Hotel Vancouver
Bee And Thistle Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing