We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating Our 50th Wedding Anniversary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bee & Thistle Guest House
Ranked #5 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Celebrating Our 50th Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We discovered Bee and Thistle two years ago; it is hard to find enough superlatives to describe it. For starters, the breakfasts are simply the best and most beautiful on the planet, fresh fruit courses and luscious baked treats are followed by perfectly prepared and sauced eggs, all artistically garnished with color-coordinated fresh flowers just plucked from the garden. Each plate is a work of art. From beautifully decorated rooms with comfortable beds to sumptuous towels and hand crafted soap, everything speaks of understated luxury. And of course there are freshly baked cookies in the room each afternoon...

Best of all are the warm and friendly hosts Lynn and Michael, who seem to have thought of everything their guests might desire. We wanted a hike--Michael recommended a trail through a nearby canyon with lush ferns, tall firs and cedars, and a quiet stream, and loaned his guidebook to us. We asked about views from Grouse Mountain--Lynn suggested we might like to have dinner there and told us about the two grizzlies orphaned as infants who were rescued and who now live in a multi-acre enclosure there.

When we booked our return trip Lynn asked about the reason for our travel, and we told her we had decided on a road trip to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We arrived to find a crystal vase holding an iced bottle of champagne surrounded by tiny pink rosebuds, the same flowers which graced our wedding cake 50 years earlier. We think of Lynn and Michael as friends, and hope our journeys will take us back for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
209
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I can't say enough about this B&B! It is just perfection! It has been decorated beautifully. The breakfasts were delicious gourmet works of art!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacup4074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We love great B and B's because we are always made a part of the city we are in by the hosts and the location and the Bee and Thistle was a perfect introduction to Vancouver. Convenient to everything good in the city, located in a neighborhood that felt homey, a truly lovely house.
Flowers everywhere, even as garnishes for the wonderful breakfasts. The rooms were perfectly appointed, with balconies that have views of the bay and the city, spacious, very modern baths,
great beds. The hosts Michael and Lynn were tremendous, great ideas for delicious restaurants we could walk to, and that is high praise in a "foodie" town....The breakfasts were
elegant, delicious, filled with local fruit, homemade pastries and savoury dishes and very hearty portions. Very hard to leave this place.

Room Tip: The top floor suite was really the most spacious with a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eldichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed 4 nights with Lynn and Michael who are the perfect hosts, very friendly, helpful, totally accommodating and just very, very nice people. We were a group of 4 on a months tour of BC staying at B&Bs wherever possible; this was probably the best. For example, nowhere else had a laptop/internet available in every room. Their house has an intriguing history of renovation, all beautifully done. Great location five mins walk to Commercial Drive which is a hub of bars, restaurants (look up Havanna's), and bus routes. The Sky Train to central Vancouver is only a 5 mins bus ride or 20 mins walk away. Our lasting memory of the Bee and Thistle are Lynn's remarkable breakfasts. They are truly works of art! All the guests while we were there always had cameras at the ready; there was certainly no need for lunch! Just make sure you book early, it is a B&B not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Lyn and Michael went out of their way to be so helpful to my family. We would reccommend the Bee and Thistle to anyone visiting Vacouver, rooms were imaculate, spacious and very well appointed with refrigerators, coffee and tea makers, fresh cookies each afternoon.
Located in a convienient area of Vancouver with dozens of interesting restaurants a short walk away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Lovely hospitality / amazing breakfast / cosy and charming rooms / just the perfect place to explore Vancouver!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sascha_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This has to be one of the best B&B we have stayed in. The B&B is located in a quite area yet only a short walk to a great choice for evening meals. Downtown bus (number 20) is only a very short distance from B&B.
The B&B is spacious, clean and you can see the effort of the owners in making your stay special.
The room has all you need and is free of the clutter and those annoying unnecessary cushions, which you don’t know where to put, that you can experience with some B&B’s. The room has a fridge with soft drinks and chocolate bars; there are also cookies on your bed when you return each day along with the breakfast menu.
The breakfast is 5* and would leave many top hotels in the shade for both taste and presentation. It must take hours to do and has the woe factor. Leave the diet until you get home!
To sum up there are no corners left unturned to ensure all your requirements are meet and you as quest are left felling special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thisisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,819 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
884 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 54 in Vancouver
681 reviews
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#35 of 54 in Vancouver
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bee & Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bee & Thistle Guest House

Property: Bee & Thistle Guest House
Address: 1842 Parker St, Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Commercial Drive
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest house located in a 1908 heritage house situated next to "the Drive", which is 10 minutes by car from downtown Vancouver, Canada. Cozy rooms are a blend of historic and contemporary, with touches of luxury. Some have views of mountains and harbor. All rooms have queen or king beds, fridges, luxury linens, fireplaces, t.v., iPod docking stations, ensuite bathrooms, complimentary snacks & drinks. The Lions' Loft and Joey's Retreat are both suites with king (Joey) or queen (Loft) beds, full kitchens, lovely bathrooms, gas fireplaces and flat screen t.v.s. We are 1 1/2 blocks from Commercial Drive, which is a casual neighborhood with more than 60 moderately priced restaurants, coffee shops and pubs within easy walking distance. All Vancouver points of interest are easily accessible via public transit. The #20 bus stops 1 1/2 blocks from our house and the Commercial Drive/Broadway skytrain station is an easy 15 minute walk along vibrant Commercial Drive (or 5 min. bus ride). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bee & Thistle Guest House Hotel Vancouver
Bee And Thistle Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing