We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A dream-hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Balfour Inn

The Balfour Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Balfour Inn
Ranked #49 of 61 Vancouver B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A dream-hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you like old huge Victorian Villas, quite green surroundings (a lovely garden), fantastic staff, decent breakfasts, individually decorated rooms (many with old original details) - and good price for all this - then The Balfour Inn is your place! We are amazed! Its like coming home to you´re loving aunt, that takes care of you and really really likes you.
The place is not really close to the downtown but we hired bicycles and biked all over the city! The bus 17 stops just outside, there's a Starbucks and a Greek restaurant.
The area is very calm and green with amazing enormous villas.
Really recommend this place! We will be back!

Room Tip: Lost lagoon is amazing and Falce Creek are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamala11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    8
    9
See reviews for
5
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I don't like the fuss and bother of downtown hotels, not to mention the cost. The house is old and lovely and the surrounding area is quiet and beautiful. It's a quick walk to VGH and transit is just down a half block with Starbucks on the corner. My bed was super comfy and the room clean. The common bathroom upstairs is unique in that I have never had the pleasure of using a water
closet separate from the sink and bathtub :) Fun. I plan on staying again soon.
Kathy C.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I had the hilarious pleasure of staying at the Balfour Inn Vancouver recently. It can only be described as Fawlty Towers of the north, which I am sure the owners would laugh at. Staff often don't have a clue, literally, of what is going on and guests can't understand them, leading to some very entertaining moments of total miscommunication - but no rats in the dining room. Very entertaining and a pretty nice clean environment. in a great location. Very close to transport and in a great area for walks and biking. It's friendly, disorganised , frankly chaotic at times though everybody means well and anything goes, they are definitely non-judgmental. Lovely garden to relax in, and a great bubble tea place round the corner. If you are lucky they will forget to bill you as they did me...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Terrible mattress (could feel the springs), musty smell and mould growing in our basement suite room. Window won't open to ventilate for fresh air. Staff are friendly and rooms clean. However, lodging places must have decent mattress, ventilation and clean smell (without mould) before I would want to stay. We had booked two nights but checked out after one night stay.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Its not one of those fancy hotel, but it is very nice and clean. Its right in the middle of the city and BC Children's hospital was just a stone throw away. Staff was very thoughtful and nice. Will surely recommend to go!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Issac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Smelly rooms, bad bed's totally not what you expect for this price. left after one horrible night (snoring came true the floors!) We left to a other place just $20 more per night in DT vancouver!
My advice, don't go there!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RvanAlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I chose this B & B based on the beautiful website, however, it dod not live up to my expectations. My room was so small, that the door opened outwards. There was a stale, musty smell in the room and wireless did not work. Honestly, I would not recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#25 of 61 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Shaughnessy
Granville House B&B
Granville House B&B
#23 of 61 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kerrisdale
No photo provided
Gastown
Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
Urban Hideaway Guesthouse
#9 of 61 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Shaughnessy
Hycroft Suites
Hycroft Suites
#25 of 45 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balfour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balfour Inn

Property: The Balfour Inn
Address: 1064 Balfour Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 1X1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Balfour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing