We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like fawlty towers”
Review of The Balfour Inn

The Balfour Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Balfour Inn
Ranked #35 of 55 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I had the hilarious pleasure of staying at the Balfour Inn Vancouver recently. It can only be described as Fawlty Towers of the north, which I am sure the owners would laugh at. Staff often don't have a clue, literally, of what is going on and guests can't understand them, leading to some very entertaining moments of total miscommunication - but no rats in the dining room. Very entertaining and a pretty nice clean environment. in a great location. Very close to transport and in a great area for walks and biking. It's friendly, disorganised , frankly chaotic at times though everybody means well and anything goes, they are definitely non-judgmental. Lovely garden to relax in, and a great bubble tea place round the corner. If you are lucky they will forget to bill you as they did me...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 31 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Terrible mattress (could feel the springs), musty smell and mould growing in our basement suite room. Window won't open to ventilate for fresh air. Staff are friendly and rooms clean. However, lodging places must have decent mattress, ventilation and clean smell (without mould) before I would want to stay. We had booked two nights but checked out after one night stay.

Stayed: August 2012
3  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Its not one of those fancy hotel, but it is very nice and clean. Its right in the middle of the city and BC Children's hospital was just a stone throw away. Staff was very thoughtful and nice. Will surely recommend to go!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Issac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Smelly rooms, bad bed's totally not what you expect for this price. left after one horrible night (snoring came true the floors!) We left to a other place just $20 more per night in DT vancouver!
My advice, don't go there!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RvanAlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I chose this B & B based on the beautiful website, however, it dod not live up to my expectations. My room was so small, that the door opened outwards. There was a stale, musty smell in the room and wireless did not work. Honestly, I would not recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms and beds where ok and clean, the breakfast was ok but not special. 'Shared bathroom' was indeed shared, but not with 2 rooms but minimal 5 and the shower didn't worked to well. The house was very old and for that reason, noisy. The management was not that friendly, the people who worked there, were.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We were glad we chose the Balfour. We had been looking at lower-priced places near Chinatown and Gastown, but it was not that far (we had a car) to get to this beautiful old neighborhood and it felt relaxed and quiet. Our dog-friendly room turned out to be in the basement and was a little bit oddly furnished, but it was roomy and comfortable enough, and had a refrigerator. There was actually a full kitchen in the basement too though we didn't use it. Breakfast was simple but adequate and the lady who cooked for us couldn't have been nicer. We enjoyed chatting with fellow guests over breakfast, but that was the only time we ever saw anyone. There were nice outdoor tables in the pretty garden where we spent time on the laptop planning our next moves. There were dog parks within easy walk too. All in all a nice base to explore Vancouver from, and very affordable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bordercollie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
713 reviews
South Main
No photo provided
Parkview Queen Guest House
#21 of 55 in Vancouver
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#34 of 55 in Vancouver
197 reviews
Shaughnessy
Hycroft Suites
Hycroft Suites
#27 of 52 in Vancouver
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balfour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balfour Inn

Address: 1064 Balfour Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 1X1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balfour Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Balfour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing