We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea for two, but not for gluten free me”
Review of Tea at the Castle

Tea at the Castle
Ranked #94 of 98 Coffee & Tea in Vancouver
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tea for two, but not for gluten free me”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

In a real afternoon tea city, this is one of the upscale establishments that at least tries to accommodate celiacs. Bravo.

However, the selection of tasty treats presented disappointed: jello, a very tiny piece of chocolate, a muffin with peace preserve, a few tiny uninspired sandwiches. It all left me feeling frustrated.

Come on Fairmont. Try harder. There are more of us than you can imagine --

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tea - not what we expected”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The table setting was very pretty. Our server, Cindy, was perfect. Scones were delightful. We really enjoyed the asparagus sandwiches - the rest if the food items were just ok. The harpist was not in attendance when we were there. The most distracting and disappointing aspect was the bar opened right into the tea room. We did not enjoy seeing the sports shows on the big tvs while we were trying to have a quiet moment to have our special tea and very pricey tea. Our previous experience of tea at the Empress in Victoria, BC put the bar too high for the Hotel Vancouver to compete.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a place of serenity”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My girlfriend & I spent a couple of hours of pure bliss just sipping tea and eating delicious petite sandwiches & cakes. The service was attentive and not once did I feel like I was being pushed out of the door. The atmosphere was quiet, comfortable and you felt totally at home. It was a nice way to finish up the day after shopping.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It's just tea”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

It was ok. My partner wanted to do it. $35 each for tea and little sandwiches was steep. The scones and cream were quite good and eclairs were wonderful. Rest was just ok. Decaf tea options - other than herbal - would have been nice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kanderson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“So royal!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Scones and brie croissant - excellent! Tea - excellent. Setting and comfy couches excellent. Other savory items - neah. Other sweet items - okay. Service slow and not really good at all, we had a few servers.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mamalikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea at the Castle also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tea at the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing