We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far, the very best!”
Review of St. Regis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Regis Hotel
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
1 review
“By far, the very best!”
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I don't have to repeat what everyone else has said, it's all true!

I will add that the guest missing the "ipod dock", it was there all the time. If you don't have the audio cord the front desk will loan you one, and it plays thru the TV, using the input button on the side of the TV, which yes would have been easier to figure out if it had been in the room brochure binder.

Ours was a fast graduation trip, and we needed to check in early to get ready. No problem. Then, I wasn't flying until late the next night, so they held our luggage for us, let us into it a couple of times (to change out coats/shopping) and nicely sent us on our way with a "come back soon".

With a daughter in school in Vancouver, I have been there 5- 6 times in the past year. Always staying at a different hotel. The deco, the service, the umbrella's (which was a huge bonus because everyone seemed to be sold out close by) the breakfast, everything was amazing. By far ... the VERY BEST. Congrats to the staff and mgmt of the St. Regis in Vancouver for running a Great Establishment.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    505
    80
    34
    13
See reviews for
368
1,244
170
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Reflecting on a conversation I had with friends about whether one believes in love at first sight or not, this hotel was love at first sight for me. After a LONG flight from the East Coast and a 25-30 minute cab ride, my sister and I arrived at the St. Regis around 2am. IVAN (graveyard shift) checked us in promptly and professionally, and made us feel very welcome. We had room 105 at first, which I felt was not suitable since we needed two beds. Booked through a third party, so the preference was not conveyed properly. Not the hotel's fault, and after a quick phone call downstairs Ivan was waiting and ready to take us to room 112, which was satisfactory and our HAFH for 5 exciting days and 5 amazing nights. Vancouver is a super cool city, and the people made it even better. Those Canadians really are nice, Eh? The room was spacious with two double beds, one flat screen TV with decent amount of US programming, relatively large marble bathroom with double sinks (major extra points here) and medium sized walk in shower. Electronic safe was easy to use, and AC worked well. The only thing I really craved was an iPod dock to play music whilst getting ready or lounging. Breakfast ends around 10am so we were down there around 9am every morning. I never saw the waitstaff turn anyone away if they came right at ten, so maybe on weekends they extend the time until a little later. The waitress is nice but didn't catch her name, and CRAIG is the other waiter who also works at the front desk. Whatever your question, Craig is the guy to ask. Very knowledgeable and detailed in his instructions. I was able to have my choice of coffee, OJ, small bowl of cereal, toast, muffin, cooked eggs, bacon and potatoes. They have more options, just ask and they will most likely have it. We didn't have anything planned, and was going to wing it this trip so we went to the front desk to ask for directions to Robson Street. BENJAMIN (morning shift) pointed us in the right direction, as he did every morning thereafter. Just like the staff before him, he was courteous and helpful. Benji and Juan helped me find a Vietnamese restaurant for lunch one day, and it didn't matter that it took 15 minutes but the fact that they kept patiently searching is something a world traveller like me totally appreciates. Thanks guys! Robson street is lively, with tons of stores, restaurants and cafes. We came here everyday, which is totally unnecessary but we just loved hanging out with zero direction. Very fun at night, too. We took a cab to Yaletown Brewery for lunch, and it was a comfortable, darkly lit space with a view into their brewing room. Food was tasty, and the Wheat Ale was refreshing. You can walk, just mind that it's about 15 minutes. Dinner at Glowbal was a tad too noisy and food too salty for a future return trip. The next morning my friend came to stay with us, which made her the third person in the room. Still pretty comfortable with 3, but may opt for a suite or connecting rooms next time. We also had a sushi dinner at Blue Water Cafe one night and it was pretty good, but not the best I've had. There's a mall right around the corner with a Sephora, in case you forgot anything you can pretty much find it in there. I brought an umbrella since it was going to rain nearly everyday, but the front desk has some available for your use. Two computers in the side room and a mini library with books. Low key pub next door with a friendly Russian bartender and reasonably priced drinks. They had drink specials everyday for around 5 bucks. Also showed the Machida UFC fight on Saturday night, fyi for my fellow fight fans. ADRIAN (afternoon shift) helped secure reservations at Cin Cin. I can't even tell you how great the customer service is at this hotel! You could be wandering aimlessly by the front with a blank look on your face and someone will inquire if you needed anything, without being intrusive. Gym passes to nearby Steve Nash Sports Club are 15 bucks a day. This is the first time I did not go to the gym, so I cannot tell you more than that it seemed top notch from pictures I saw online. Ate at Cin Cin the last night, and while service was lukewarm and even borderline unacceptable, food was good to great depending on what you ordered. Wine was excellent, never even heard of Okanagan wine which was surprisingly nice. We frequented the Loose Moose (divey but fun bar) two times, liked the unpretentious and lively atmosphere. Two tiny nitpicks, one the cleaning...the woman is very sweet, the level of cleanliness is high, but maybe they need to hire one extra maid? Our rooms were always cleaned last or next to last around 3-4pm, which was slightly annoying. Also, one of the girls at the front desk was indifferent, so maybe at another hotel it would have been standard but at the Regis it definitely stood out. There's one elevator which could be slow at times, but there is a stairwell and hotel is only five stories high. Exchange place one block away that had good rates. Craig can tell you where it is. Noise level was low, never even unpacked the earplugs! Location was convenient, we either walked or took a taxi everywhere. As many other people already mentioned, the train station is 1 block away. Juan checked us out on the last day, and there weren't any sketchy charges or anything so we were off with smiles. Overall, I loved this place, you will probably love it too, and we'll be back in January '10!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MonkeyNPrinceTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I booked two rooms here and was pleased with them both. The queen room was a bit snug but was beautifully furnished, great bathrooms and the windows allowed for a great street view without the street noise. The two-doubles room was quite large and the bathroom was spectacular - though not a great view. The free breakfast is above average and the staff was very, very helpful. The location is very central but the parking situation is a bit crazy. Basically you have to double park on the street, unload your bags and then have a staff person direct you around back to the parking garage - there is no valet parking.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank VWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I can't say enough good about this hotel. We were in town to take a cruise and the hotel is located within walking distance to the cruise terminal. Everyone we encountered at The St Regis was way beyond helpful and friendly. Craig, who greeted us when we arrived and we also saw at breakfast the next morning was especially friendly and helpful. He was very knowledgeable about the area and could tell you off the top of his head which bus to take to get wherever you wanted to go. He knew all about the area and the "must sees", since we had a short time in the city. This is a charming small hotel, more like an Inn really. We have a very large bathroom that had a walk in shower with a built-in bench. There was also a lighted, magnified mirror in the bathroom that I really appreciated. There were 2 bottles of water in the room that were complimentary. Usually with a hotel of this caliber, they charge big fees for every little thing, but not here. The wi-fi was free and there was also a cooked to order breakfast included. The location was also with a few blocks of the Canada Line station that you can take right from the airport. It cost $2.50 instead of a high cab fare. I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed at the St Regis for a few days prior to our cruise from Vancouver and would throughly recommend it to everyone. The location is very good, being just a short walk from a Canada Line station, the Canada Place cruise terminal and the central shops and restaurants of Vancouver. The room was excellent, very comfortable, with internet access and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was fabulous. Breakfast with eggs to order was excellent. The staff are all very friendly and very helpful. An excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and I agree with all who previously provided rave reviews. I will only try to add some information.

I usually stick to public transportation in a city as large as Vancouver, but we needed our rental car quite often. This hotel's parking garage is next to the hotel and access was quite easy and at at reasonable daily charge (unlimited in and out privileges).

The quality and selection of the included Full Breakfast was excellent.

Many hotels have nice rooms, but were not quite designed for people living out of suit cases. Our room was exceptionally well designed for ease of use by the traveling customer. If you want a room with a bath tub, it might be difficult to obtain at this hotel.

In room internet is provided at no extra charge. The log on id was 12 characters and the password was 13 characters. If your computer goes into standby mode, you have to do the log in process again. I think that there was a lot more finger exercise than is needed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We had to sign on to tripadvisor to let everyone know this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We were continuously blown away by every aspect, the friendliness, cleanliness (I can't get over how thorough the cleaning staff were), and great facilities. This was the best hotel experience we have ever had. The staff continuously went above and beyond, no request was too much, and we could never stump them with our questions. Their restaurant and tourist recommendations and knowledge were spot on. The room was wonderful, comfy bed, great shower and all the extras you need when travelling (such as really dark curtains and no outside sound). The included breakfast was always fresh and tasty. Thank you St Regis for making our Vancouver experience so wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_dani_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,812 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,661 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Hotel

Property: St. Regis Hotel
Address: 602 Dunsmuir Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1Y6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Regis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ST. REGIS HOTEL - DOWNTOWN VANCOUVER CANADA. Perfectly located in the centre of downtown Vancouver, the St. Regis Hotel is the city's best choice for award-winning service and refined boutique hotel accommodations. The independent, Canadian-owned and operated St. Regis recently completed a total renovation that brought this beautiful heritage building up to the highest level of modern comfort and finish. The St. Regis all-inclusive room rates include complimentary FULL BREAKFAST, HIGH-SPEED INTERNET, FREE LOCAL AND WORLDWIDE LONG DISTANCE, FIJI BOTTLED WATER, STEVE NASH SPORTS CLUB PASSES, AND BUSINESS CENTRE ACCESS. Winner of TripAdvisor's Travellers Choice Awards for Service for Vancouver hotels, with one stay you will see why the St. Regis Hotel is "more than you expect, everything you deserve." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Regis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Regis Vancouver
St Regis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing