We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost the perfect hotel”
Review of St. Regis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Regis Hotel
Ranked #9 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
West LA, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost the perfect hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the St. Regis for 5 days as part of our first trip to Vancouver. All in all, the experience was excellent.

Upsides:
The room itself (including the bathroom) was clean, spacious and modern. The staff were incredibly helpful, very capable of providing directions sights and recommendations. One member of the staff even dug into his own pockets to help us make change for bus fare. Other great perks were the location (just one block from the metro), free local phone calls (amazing in this day and age), and free wifi.

Downsides:
The breakfast which was just o.k., mainly because some of the wait staff are not good communicators. (Example, my wife asked for TWO fried eggs, "over-easy." The waitress asked what that was and we (assuming that perhaps fried egg terminology was different in Canada than the US) explained that it means to flip the fried egg over halfway through cooking so both sides of the white are cooked and the yolk is cooked slightly. Her response, "oh, that's called a fried egg." She returned a few minutes later with one fried egg, over hard. Go team!)
Breakfasts aside, the stay was just about perfect. The only other thing that could have been improved is that the low-flow showerhead was very weak -- the kind that requires you to rise off one inch of your body at a time.

Overall:
But in the grand scheme of things, the St. Regis is one of the best hotels of this class that we've ever stayed in. Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echambliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,767
    489
    78
    34
    13
See reviews for
351
1,204
167
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PENNSYLVANIA
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Great place to stay ,particularly, if going on a cruise as Canada Place Ship Terminal is 3 blocks away. Great shopping in Gastown streets also 3 blocks away. Free, full, made to order breakfast. Very Tasty! About $30.00 cab fare from the airport and $6.00 cabfare to Ship Terminal IF you have too much luggage to walk. ROOM 201 was extremely nice and quiet ! Large walk-in closet with bath robes! We wish we could duplicate the room and especially the bathroom here in our own home in Pennsylvania.
The manager, Jerimy, and his staff were extremely helpful and accomodating !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOGOGIRL4EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed at the St. Regis for 3 nights on our first trip to Vancouver. We selected the St. Regis for it's proximity to the docks as we were boarding a cruise to Alaska on the fourth day. Our rooms were immaculate each day. The room and bath were modern and luxurious. The hotel itself was charming keeping the old style look with modern upgrades. The full breakfast (included) every morning was cooked individually and delicious. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. The central location made walking to restaurants and attractions quick and easy. Our stay there made our visit to Vancouver memorable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYRivergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed here for four nights and loved it. I think we had a queen deluxe - it was gorgeous and totally spotless. The decor was soopa modern, an immaculate bathroom and yes - we just loved it. I didn’t love the breakfast, there could have been more choice of fruits and juices but it was complimentary but my partner loved it as he had a fry up every morning. The staff were beyond friendly and really helpful. Two large flat screen tvs - one in living room, one in bedroom - didn't wach but nice to have! Also had complimentary internet. I’ve uploaded some photos we took so you can see how nice it is for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrentobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramat-aviv, tel aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2009

The best location you can get, kind and polite staff, comfortable , sparkling clean
We will be back!
Highly recommend !

Michal Yedidia, Tel-Aviv

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramatavivit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed one night at the end of our vacation, not knowing Vancouver, but trusting in what others had said about this hotel - and were we ever glad!! It was just perfect! The location is fabulous - easy to find - close to everything and the parking garage next door is convenient and reasonably priced. We walked to Stanley Park and took a bus back . The hotel has been renovated recently - everything is brand new and it has a very high tech, hip feel. We thought it felt very European. Our room was small, but certainly met our needs; we loved the flat screen t.v. and there's free computer hook-up in the room and all local phone calls are also free. The bathroom was great with a very, very deep soaking tub and a rain shower style shower head. This is really a terrific hotel; the price was excellent and to top it off, a full breakfast is included. Oh - and the staff were all great - warm, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

From the moment you were spotted taking your luggage from the taxi the staff were excellent. We stayed twice in 2 weeks and in between they stored our spare luggage. the rooms were very good well equiped and immaculate. the location is central to most of the highlights of Vancouver. the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice (included in price) the attached sports bar did good food.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockybuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,717 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,478 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,667 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Hotel

Property: St. Regis Hotel
Address: 602 Dunsmuir Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Regis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ST. REGIS HOTEL - DOWNTOWN VANCOUVER CANADA. Perfectly located in the centre of downtown Vancouver, the St. Regis Hotel is the city's best choice for award-winning service and refined boutique hotel accommodations. The independent, Canadian-owned and operated St. Regis recently completed a total renovation that brought this beautiful heritage building up to the highest level of modern comfort and finish. The St. Regis all-inclusive room rates include complimentary FULL BREAKFAST, HIGH-SPEED INTERNET, FREE LOCAL AND WORLDWIDE LONG DISTANCE, FIJI BOTTLED WATER, STEVE NASH SPORTS CLUB PASSES, AND BUSINESS CENTRE ACCESS. Winner of TripAdvisor's Travellers Choice Awards for Service for Vancouver hotels, with one stay you will see why the St. Regis Hotel is "more than you expect, everything you deserve." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Regis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Regis Vancouver
St Regis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing