We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous. How a hotel should be.”
Review of St. Regis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Regis Hotel
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Staying here as part of a business/holiday trip I was pleasantly surprised to find a quaint, charming, immaculate and beautiful hotel in a great area. Really, this place was fabulous. Lovely large rooms, stunning shower, clean and in a good position for walking the city. Not a great view unfortunately but you are in a city. Cost wise it was more than reasonable, especially in terms of what you get for the money. The staff couldn't do enough for you. I will definitely return to Vancouver because the city is lovely, and will most definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,365 - 1,371 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in Vancouver during transit back to Hong Kong from US. St Regis is really a brand of luxury and service. It is the first time we stayed in St Regis hotel. With unbeatable location, right next to Skytrain Granville and City Centre Station, minutes walks to waterfront, Gastown and other shopping spots made your visit to Vancouver city more convenient and less time consuming in terms of transport. As we left our kid in Hong Kong during our trip to US, we have to call back home from time to time, St Regis is really something that they included all local and international calls during your stay in the hotel, its ...awesome. And the tastefully decor, friendly staff, efficient check-in and check-out, wonderful bathroom facilities .... all made our stay in Vancouver so nice. But one thing .... there isn't a fridge in room !

Room Tip: Do not bring many luggages, the room is ... small !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STregisVancouver, Manager at St. Regis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Gary Y,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and the TA community! Should we have the pleasure of hosting you on your next visit to Vancouver, I wanted to post that all of our suites include fridges, and that we do rent fridges for our standard rooms for $10 a day, Alternatively, we are always more than happy to store items for you in our fridge and freezer at the front desk, free of charge.

Should you need more space as well, the Junior or Executive Suite offers much more square footage with in the living room area should you require more space.
Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you had safe travels home!

Warm regards,
Meryl Macdonald
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

In Vancouver for the Sun Run, April 21st. First time at St. Regis. This is a boutique hotel, not part of a larger chain. The location is just a couple of blocks away from the Canada Line in the downtown core. My stay was everything I hoped for based on the majority of favourable Trip Advisor reviews.

I had a clean and quiet ,street-facing second floor room, with a very comfortable bed. Unlike so many larger hotels, the St. Regis does not nickel-and-dime on services. The rate includes bottled water, local and worldwide long distance calls, laptop-sized safe, Wi-Fi and a full breakfast. Although the hotel is 100 years old the rooms are modern and stylish. Mine had a large shower, plush duvets, towels and robes. Some reviewers seemed to think their rooms were too small and noisy. I did not feel this was the case but everyone has different expectations. I am a small, single traveller, and stayed in a room with one queen bed. That room might have been too cosy for a larger person or a couple .

The one elevator is small but then the stairs were fine for going to and from my room. The elevator is required for going to the lower floor breakfast area- no problems with that as long as a person knows and isn't in a really big hurry. The breakfast was hot, filling and offered selections for those you do not want eggs (pancakes, waffles, yogurt, toast, cereal...) and was modified for me the morning of the Sun Run.

I did not need to use parking but can see that the street-side area might be a bit difficult for someone driving their own behicle. Again, once a guest knows what is going on the logisitcs of parking and dropping off go more smoothly. Certainly other rude drivers and Vancouverites showing their impatience (as described by another reviewer) speaks to Vancouver and is not the hotel's fault. I found the staff friendly and helpful so I am certain they would be able to assist new guests with any parking concerns.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dakbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Excellent. Both myself and my partner enjoyed our stay immensely. The room was very clean, comfortable and luxurious without overdoing it. We really appreciated the chocolates and the water. The breakfast was delicious and wonderfully presented. I absolutely loved the hotel and the service was exemplary in so many ways. It is a beautiful hotel and so convenient to everything. All the staff provide the best in service and truly made the stay fantastic. I was actually pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was.
The dedication to quality and customer care is evident in the very exceptional service that all the staff at the hotel provided. I definitely will stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidH154932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great service and excellent location if you're not planning on driving. Comfy beds, none of the cootie ridden coverlets you find at cheaper hotels, a very nice restaurant on site and a reasonable bar next door. Breakfast is expensive if bought separately but is included in the room price and the options were well cooked and presented. And again, truly outstanding desk service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna52496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very convenient to downtown restaurants and sights. Great room with sitting area as well! Complimentary breakfast was great!! They give you a choice of omlets made to order, pancakes, fruit, hashbrowns, toast, yogurt, cereal etc. The hotel is over 100 years old but very elegant and chic! I loved it and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatteLovingHedgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pros: The hotel room was emaculate. The staff were professional and friendly. Parking was extra but safe and secure.
The room price offered breakfast in a lower floor dining room. Free wifi in room and the best shower ever.

Cons: Noisy beyond belief. Do not stay in a room facing the street. On a weekend when the bars close the notice is unbearable starting at 2:00 in the morning. If there is a hockey game, forget sleep altogether. We complained to the staff but they were not very successful at disbanding a drunk and disordly crowd.. The police were called. The noise continued until a street musician started a bob marley sing along with the crowd. We thought of fleeing the premises at 3:00 am to drive home.
The general manager was very understanding and discounted part of the stay. That was very professional and the right thing to do. It was because of the wonderful staff that I would consider staying here again, though only in a room that does not face the street.

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STregisVancouver, Manager at St. Regis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the St. Regis Hotel. We understand that one of the things which comes with being located near Vancouver’s theatre, music and sports venues is occasional street noise.

Though our brick walls and premium double-glazed windows go a long way toward mediating that background noise, there are some people for whom the environment is an impediment to sleep. We make every effort to accommodate these guests by moving them to a higher floor or a room which faces away from the street.

We’d encourage guests who have a high sensitivity to sound—or any other stay requirements--to contact us prior to arrival so that we can plan accordingly for their room preferences.

Again, thank you for sharing your review with us and the TA community!

Warm regards,

Meryl Macdonald
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,041 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,685 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Hotel

Address: 602 Dunsmuir Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $145 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Regis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ST. REGIS HOTEL - DOWNTOWN VANCOUVER CANADA. Perfectly located in the centre of downtown Vancouver, the St. Regis Hotel is the city's best choice for award-winning service and refined boutique hotel accommodations. The independent, Canadian-owned and operated St. Regis recently completed a total renovation that brought this beautiful heritage building up to the highest level of modern comfort and finish. The St. Regis all-inclusive room rates include complimentary FULL BREAKFAST, HIGH-SPEED INTERNET, FREE LOCAL AND WORLDWIDE LONG DISTANCE, FIJI BOTTLED WATER, STEVE NASH SPORTS CLUB PASSES, AND BUSINESS CENTRE ACCESS. Winner of TripAdvisor's Travellers Choice Awards for Service for Vancouver hotels, with one stay you will see why the St. Regis Hotel is "more than you expect, everything you deserve." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your St. Regis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Regis Vancouver
St Regis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing