We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Regis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Regis Hotel
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great stay, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in February and found the hotel to be everything we could have needed. Room was quite large with super comfy bed, all the essentials including safe plus some nice touches like robes and chocolates on pillows. Breakfast was amazing and also had room service and a meal in the bar area, all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. Staff were fantastic offering assistance with buses, trains and the free international phone calls is amazing.
Proximity to rail for airport was great and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanted to stay in downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolg2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,707
    471
    76
    34
    12
See reviews for
330
1,170
163
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I arrived in Vancouver and I asked the taxi to take me to a hotel close to China town. He advised me that to ensure my safety he would take me to the St. Regis because hotels in China town would not be preferred for a woman traveling on her own.

As soon as I started my check in I became aware of the quality of the staff at the St. Regis. Nelson handled my booking and made me feel so welcome. The room pricing was reasonable and the hotel felt safe and inviting. After Nelson made my reservation he personally walked me up to my room to ensure I would be comfortable. He showed me how to work the coffee machine and did so with such a friendly and cheerful disposition. I was touched! He called me a cab and gave me very accurate direction to my destination.

In the morning when I inquired about leaving a message with the manager about the wonderful treatment I received the night before--> I met Ryan. He was kind, enthusiastic and eager about helping relay a message of how happy I was with Nelsons professionalism. Ryan went out his way to help his colleague and to assist me with Ferry details. I could tell he really cared about me putting in a good word for a man he so obviously admired.

It was not only Nelson, Ryan and the beautiful room that made my stay so amazing. It was everyone else I came into contact with. The two men who were working the continental breakfast were incredible. Fast, efficient and courteous. The breakfast was beyond my expectations of a free meal. The breakfast area (LL) was set up like a dining room and the meal was better then many places I have had to pay an arm and a leg for. The quality was not compromised in the least.

The cleaning staff were lovely. I was not rushed and the whole time I felt an incredible sense of value. I was a single person for one night and they made me feel like I was the only one in the joint. The overall care and attention to detail has left a lasting impression. The whole place felt like Hotel Vendome- a Danielle Steal novel. A place were people come back to again and again.

I will be recommending this hotel for a long time to come. Keep it up St. Regis- you have the human touch.

Sincere Regards,
Vanessa

Room Tip: I would recommend taking a walk around the location of the St. Regis- its a beautiful home base to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent one night there, before our Ski trip to Whistler. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. They also explained everything for you. The hotel itself was SUPER CLEAN and new. I loved it when I entered. I loved the design and attention to details. It is located in downtown Vancouver, which makes it very convenient. There were two issues only with it. When I booked the hotel, I thought since it's a block away from Four Seasons and two blocks away from Fairmont, the location should be awesome. Unfortunately, that was not the case. At 8 or 9 pm, across the street, there were some homeless or maybe drug addict people wandering around. This made me hold my breath when I am passing the street, which is why I question the location. In addition, I was not very impressed with the breakfast. I would be willing to pay extra to have a buffet breakfast, so that I can choose what I eat and . The breakfast menu was set and neither myself nor my husband like the combination. Plus it was limited to ONE TEA or COFFEE! But in general it was not good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farnazii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STregisVancouver, Owner at St. Regis Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Farnazii,

Thank you again for your review and sharing your experiences and comments regarding your hotel room, breakfast service, and location of the St. Regis Hotel.

In response to location, as with any mid to large city, especially one with a mild climate, there is a positive correlation between population and homelessness, and Vancouver is unfortunately no exception to that rule. Our location at Seymour and Dunsmuir is as central as it gets in downtown, and as such there is a lot of foot traffic around our building which includes everyone from business persons to occasional transient persons.

Breakfast being the most important meal of the day, is also the most difficult to offer a service that pleases everyone and still allow us to offer to guests included in their stay. While the food is not buffet style, we definitely do not restrict coffee or tea consumption, usually leaving the coffee pot on the guests’ table and offering hot water refills on our personal sized tea pots. I have spoken with our Breakfast Service Team about this comment and we apologize that your service experiences lead you to perceive that limited beverage service was the norm.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor Community and us.

Warm regards,
Meryl Macdonald
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our family stayed at the St. Regis for a long weekend and would definitely come back. The rooms were stylish and very clean. (Though some of the rooms were on the small side). A full breakfast is included with the stay. The hotel is an easy walk from Gastown and is also less than a block from the Sky Train station. The staff was friendly.

The only drawback was the "handicap accessible" room we requested. It had good grab-bars in the bathroom, but included a huge tub that was difficult for anyone to get into, rather than a shower. This would make it impossible for anyone who had serious mobility issues to bathe.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, which are much larger than the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've just spent a 2 night break at the St Regis after a ski trip to Whistler. The hotel is in a great location, just a couple of blocks away from Canada Place, Gastown etc. We booked the standard room & it was spacious, comfortable & finished to a good standard. Best of all, the staff were all really friendly & helpful. All in all, it was great value for money & we'd definately stay at the St Regis again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Recently stayed here on business and it was fabulous. The location is perfect. The room was wonderful. Breakfast was wonderful. Loved the access to the Steve Nash gym. Not sure I'd stay here on a family trip, but would absolutely stay here again for business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MorleysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here twice for 3 nights in total and would definitely stay again. The Rooms were modern clean and tidy, very easy to walk from hotel to downtown Vancouver shops and Gastown.
Reception was very helpful and recommended Steam Works for dinner which was a short walk away and had excellent food and service. We had breakfast included in our stay and our waitress was very attentive and helpful when we had to have a quick early brekkie one time, and they had good food and was made fresh for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ev-Court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Hotel

Property: St. Regis Hotel
Address: 602 Dunsmuir Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Regis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ST. REGIS HOTEL - DOWNTOWN VANCOUVER CANADA. Perfectly located in the centre of downtown Vancouver, the St. Regis Hotel is the city's best choice for award-winning service and refined boutique hotel accommodations. The independent, Canadian-owned and operated St. Regis recently completed a total renovation that brought this beautiful heritage building up to the highest level of modern comfort and finish. The St. Regis all-inclusive room rates include complimentary FULL BREAKFAST, HIGH-SPEED INTERNET, FREE LOCAL AND WORLDWIDE LONG DISTANCE, FIJI BOTTLED WATER, STEVE NASH SPORTS CLUB PASSES, AND BUSINESS CENTRE ACCESS. Winner of TripAdvisor's Travellers Choice Awards for Service for Vancouver hotels, with one stay you will see why the St. Regis Hotel is "more than you expect, everything you deserve." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your St. Regis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Regis Vancouver
St Regis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing