We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise in downtown Vancouver”
Review of St. Regis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Regis Hotel
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatchewan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise in downtown Vancouver”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the St. Regis for 6 nights. The room (Smart Queen size) was not large - but more than adequate, as we are never in the room much when we travel anyway!
The bed was unbelievably comfortable, with great pillows. Towels and robes were soft and fluffy, bathroom was large with great walk-in shower, EVERYTHING very clean. Good quality bathroom toiletries.
Lots of plug-ins by the desk for all the chargers we all seem to have now.
We cannot say enough about the breakfast - provided as part of your stay - made hot to order individually - eggs, waffles, bacon, sausage, omelettes, FRESH fruit cups, etc - excellent. Very professional table service with good coffee, several types of fruit juice. But PLEASE don't forget to tip the servers - they deserve it - and yes, your breakfast is included in the room - but gratuity is NOT! A comparable breakfast - in a downtown hotel - would cost you at least $15-20 per person!
The attached pub is excellent as well - very good food. We did not try the Steakhouse.
All St. Regis staff were very professional, courteous, and friendly. Great business centre just off the lobby (computers/printer) if you need it.
Location could not be better. We walked all over downtown; we also used buses and cabs. Granville Island was a 10 minute bus/$10 cab ride, Stanley Park about the same (buses stop literally two minutes away). Pacific Centre mall is half a block away. Robson Street - LOTS of shopping, etc - two blocks. The waterfront (Canada Place) was about a 15 minute walk.
In our opinion there would be NO reason to stay anywhere else if you are staying in downtown Vancouver. Much better value, service, and accommodation than any of the larger hotels we have stayed at - and the price was unbelievable. We have CAA, so our rate was about $145 per night taxes included.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel - you will sacrifice view (you will face the side of another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,821
    506
    80
    34
    14
See reviews for
369
1,248
170
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Immediately upon arrival the desk staff greeted us warmly and offered directions to anywhere we may be visiting. The room was quite small but not a deal-breaker since we weren't going to be spending much time inside. It had a small desk between the two beds, but definitely had no room for a club chair or a coffee table. It came stocked with quality amenities, including free bottled water and chocolates on the pillows. The quality of the fixtures in this hotel were evident in the bathroom, which was roomy and had a deep, soaker tub. It may sound a little silly to be impressed with the bathroom, but having stayed in a number of places with outdated fixtures, cracked tiles and mouldy grout, that this one was a particular treat. The beds are to-die-for comfortable. It was like sleeping on a supportive cloud. The in-room coffee machine was a nice touch, but unfortunately the single-serve coffee packets tasted terrible. WiFi worked like a charm and the hair dryer actually had some power! We loved the décor and all the beautiful, local artwork in the halls and lobby. While we did not eat in the adjacent restaurants, the breakfast (included in stay) was impressive. How lovely to be able to choose your made-to-order, hot breakfast off a menu instead of dishing out room temperature scrambled eggs out of a chafing dish. According to their website the hotel provides passes to a nearby fitness club, but we were never told about this by the desk staff. The hotel is right downtown and surrounded by every amenity you could need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roaminnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

The best value in all of Vancouver, we paid $170 tax included for a Smart Queen size room. The hotel has free Internet, bottled water, free long diastase calls anywhere and a hot breakfast included Wow how do they do it. The great location makes it perfect for walking everywhere and shopping is very convenient. movies are only $9.99 in rooms
for those rainy days. The hotel is small but perfect for the business or family traveler. Remember they have bigger rooms for more $$$'s but the bathrooms are perfect size, great shower and layout. The staff are trainer to be super efficient and on the ball -they even have umbrellas at the desk for you to stay dry. Connected to a full Steve Nash workout center makes it perfect.
Best of all it is connected to the finest steak house in the city Gotham Steakhouse and bar I mean an outstanding steak house. Do not miss this outstanding value as we discovered it through Travel Advisor - it is a 2012 award winner and deserves to be in the top of it's class. My respect for Travel Advisor grows as they seem to work hard to get their award winning destination right- nice to be able to trust their selections.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We would have given the hotel 5 stars for the review due to the standard inclusions and overall a high standard of customer service that have been outlined by other reviewers. The hotel is in a great location and the free breakfast, water and wifi is a great standard inclusion.

There were two issues that meant our stay fell just short of excellent. On our arrival we were given access to a room very early as we had a very long flight and this was very much appreciated, however the room was very small, but mostly the bed so much smaller than I had expected, and had thought we had requested two double beds, I then checked our booking form and the booking with our agent had requested two double beds and this booking had been made many months before. When we enquired about another room were advised suites were available but we ended up paying more for a suite so that there was a fold out bed. This meant that the cost of our stay was alot higher and not as good value for money.We had medical equipment so the smaller room wouldn't have worked for sleeping arrangements, hence our forward booking request.

Also when we arrived we didnt have change with us so we couldn't tip the porter ( my husband had actually offered to take the luggage but the porter insisted he help) we noticed after that the staff member wasn't very helpful or polite after that however all the other staff were wonderful. We did ask at the counter the next day about tipping customs as in Australia tipping is uncommon and after that we carried change with us for good service, perhaps the staff member concerned should have considered that we would have made it up to him given we were staying another 5 days.

Thank you for a nice base to explore Vancouver from on a whole the staff are excellent and the room we ended up staying in was lovely but it did come at a cost and given we had requested two double beds we felt we shouldn't have to borne the extra cost but being very tired we didnt want to be pushy about that, just would have been nice if this had been offered.

Just a note on noise, we stayed in a hotel later in our trip in Hawaii which was 4 star and much more noisy. Its downtown and maybe we are used to some city noise from staying in cities in Australia such as Sydney so it wasn't a concern for our stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khcs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a great hotel! Great location and the service was indeed exceptional. The price was right also, as I was expecting to pay much more as I booked this hotel last minute. I wish I could have stayed longer, but I will make sure this is my hotel of choice the next time I am in Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSSS910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed at the St Regis Hotel for 11 nights. The Hotel itself is situated in a perfect location, right in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The rooms have a beautiful decor and extremely comfortable beds. The staff were great. Always smiling and willing to help. Room service was very quick and efficient and the food was of a very high standard. Breakfast too was wonderful and gave us a great start to the day. There are many hotels in Vancouver and the choice was a daunting task but I was so glad I chose to stay at the St Regis it would definitely have to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. A big thank you once again to Jeremy and the staff, you made our stay a truly memorable one and we will definitely be back. Exceptional!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Having come back to Vancouver from travelling to Seattle and Victoria, we wanted a high-quality relaxing hotel for our final night in Vancouver. We went along to the St. Regis and booked in without a reservation. Luckily they had a room available! The staff were incredibly attentive and helpful, giving lots of local advice when asked and providing exceptional service. The rooms were impeccable, with good views over the city, a high quality bathroom and very comfortable bed. Included in the price is an excellent breakfast and access to the high-quality gym and spa around the corner from the hotel. We even asked if we could use the gym on the day we had checked out to get showered before our flight and the evening and they were happy to provide. In particular the concerge's on the front desk provided an amazing service and I will happily stay at the St. Regis again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Hotel

Property: St. Regis Hotel
Address: 602 Dunsmuir Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1Y6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Regis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ST. REGIS HOTEL - DOWNTOWN VANCOUVER CANADA. Perfectly located in the centre of downtown Vancouver, the St. Regis Hotel is the city's best choice for award-winning service and refined boutique hotel accommodations. The independent, Canadian-owned and operated St. Regis recently completed a total renovation that brought this beautiful heritage building up to the highest level of modern comfort and finish. The St. Regis all-inclusive room rates include complimentary FULL BREAKFAST, HIGH-SPEED INTERNET, FREE LOCAL AND WORLDWIDE LONG DISTANCE, FIJI BOTTLED WATER, STEVE NASH SPORTS CLUB PASSES, AND BUSINESS CENTRE ACCESS. Winner of TripAdvisor's Travellers Choice Awards for Service for Vancouver hotels, with one stay you will see why the St. Regis Hotel is "more than you expect, everything you deserve." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Regis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Regis Vancouver
St Regis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing