We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
victoria, bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hotel exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed September 25, 2006

My husband and I were desperate for a place to stay after a horrible night in another hotel the night before. Following a Vancouverite's recommendation, we called the Wedgewood and a short while later we were welcomed by their friendly doorman who proceeded to introduce us to the Front Desk clerk, equally friendly and very accommodating with all of our questions and special requests.

This place truly exceeded all our expectations!!! We stayed in one of their Deluxe Executive rooms, and we were wonderfully surprised by how very spacious and very luxurious it was, all in a tasteful understated way. Beautiful semi-canopied beds feature the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in with individually controlled reading lights, while a double soaker tub is right in the bedroom with a marble walk in shower in the bathroom. The amenities were great, but the warm cookies and bottled water at night were a real treat. We didn't have the opportunity to see any of their suites, or their famous new Penthouses which are apparently the current hot spots for Hollywood celebrities, but if our luxurious room is one of their second lowest categories, we can only imagine what their Penthouses must be like!!! What is outstanding though about this hotel is the friendliness of their Staff. They seem to have invented the word "service". From their delightful Executive Housekeeper, to the courteous room service attendant and very professional waiters. They all make you feel very much at home. We especially enjoyed our dinner in Bacchus. What a romantic room and the food was delicious. We couldn't get an appointment in their Spa, but we will make a point of trying it on our next visit. This is definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed - would recommend it without a second thought!!!!

  • Liked — great service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank hotelshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    182
    45
    23
    7
See reviews for
205
814
80
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2006

My wife and I spent a weekend in Vancouver as part of an anniversary celebration and booked one of the penthouse suites at the Wedgewood.

The booking service, call-backs after confirmation of registration and treatment by staff prior to getting there was excellent. We were certainly looking forward to the weekend after all the fuss made upon booking.

We arrived at the Hotel and were greeted promptly along with a bellman to take our bags and a valet for our vehicle. The lobby provides a glimpse of the classic elegance of the hotel. The bar was busy with people watching and we were able to spy a few hollywood celebs inside who happened to be in Vancouver filming.

Our suite unfortunately was not ready so we ended up being told that we had to wait in the lobby. Not a big deal, but with the suite booked, price paid and knowledge of the booking staff about our anniversary I would have expected more in the way of personal treatment by the front desk staff and aknowledgement of our special stay.

Nonetheless, we finally were able to check into our suite - overall very elegant accomodations - with a beautiful deck veranda. Furnishings were comfortable, with added extras of a king size bed, heated floors and a nice sitting area. Though the suite was smaller than I had expected.

The weekend stay in Vancouver, the meals and room service were great, however I too would have expected a bit more fuss and personal service from a boutique hotel which views itself as world class.

At checkout day we requested a bit more time as we had enjoyed a leisurly breakfast that morning. There was no way we could be accomodated the front desk person advised. Dissapointed we rushed to make it out by the checkout time.

I would certainly recommend the hotel, but was not blown away by the accomodations or service. There are other hotels on par in Vancouver that we have stayed in and enjoyed just as much.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angelos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

We just stayed in one of the newly rennovated penthouse suites at the Wedgewood, and it was AMAZING!!!! We had a gorgeous, spacious living room with a fireplace and a big bathroom with a double size jacuzzi tub that opened into the bedroom. It was beautiful and truly first class. The bellman told us that Pierce Brosnan had just vacated our room after finishing his lastest movie!
We had room service for dinner one night, and our waiter fussed over us to make sure everything was perfect! The food was delicious and in the mornings we had breakfast in our bathrobes on our private terrace - it felt like a scene out of Pretty Woman!
I had a facial in the Spa that was the best I've ever had, and a fabulous massage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!
This a great hotel. It has a very cosy, personal feel about it and the staff really make you feel like they care. There is a very hip crowd at the bar downstairs too, which is fun. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Vancouver with excellent service and a prime location - look no further! Book one of the new penhouse suites if you can - they are worth it!!

  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room with a view - preferably one of the new penthouse suites.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2006

The Wedgewood hosted our Wedding ceremony in early September. We are living in Florida but traveled to Vancouver to share our celebration with family. The staff at the Wedgewood made the entire event, from planning to post-event, a remarkable experience. They epitomize "outstanding service". We were so pleased with the experience that we chose the hotel to pamper mom with an afternoon at their spa for her birthday. The look on her face afterwards was "priceless".

Thanks!!

Brian and Cynthia

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

My husband and I have stayed in several "boutique" hotels all over the world, and decided to give the Wedgewood a try. I was very pleased our initial experience. The bellmen were courteous and helped us from our taxi promptly. They announced our arrival to the Front Desk before we entered the hotel and so they were waiting for us when we approached the lobby area. This is where it seemed to fall apart. I felt like we were interrupting a social gathering, and the staff wisked us away without asking if we needed any help with planning our special getaway. On the few occasions I wentto the front desk, I again, felt as though I was a nuisance to the staff.

We ate in the Bachus restaurant and it was fabulous! The setting and atmosphere was just right!

All in all, we enjoyed ourselves, but the atmosphere in the Lobby was just a little too relaxed and informal for my liking. It was not as professional as I would have expected from this class of hotel.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — Staff attitude
  • Tips/Secrets — Researh!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JoJoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2006

My wife and I were celebrating a special anniversary so we decided to go to the most talked about hotel in our city and we were certainly not disappointed. We had such a great weekend at the Wedgewood, that we've decided to make it a yearly tradition.

The location is amazing, steps away from all the stores, restaurants and theatres and the service couldn't have been more professional and friendly at the same time. We stayed at a Wedgewood Suite beautifully decorated in cool brown and gold tones, silk fabrics and two luxurious spa bathrooms complete with pillar candles and bath salts for the double jetted tub - very romantic!! Breakfast in bed was wholesome and elegantly served, but their Spa was the highlight of our stay. We had to make reservations way in advance because it's so popular and we saw why. They offer a variety of interesting treatments, some for couples. a great eucalyptus steam room and the aestheticians were some of the best we've ever tried. My wife has already made a second appointment.

Their Lounge and Restaurant, Bacchus is definitely the place to see and be seen by the elite of Vancouver. We had a great dinner the first evening and just dessert and drinks late the second evening. We will return often.

Ken Clark

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KCLRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We have just returned from a few days at the Wedgewood. The hotel is magnificent and we have never felt so catered to before. The staff seemed to know our every need and the peace and tranquility of the hotel made you want to stay there instead of tour the lovely city.
Conciege was excellent, they suggested sights and assisted with transportation.
The restaurant is fabulous, the Bacchus, you just wanted to curl up with a book and stay all day.
The Spa is out of this world, we like a pool but really did not miss it.
Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we will certainly recommend it.

  • Liked — The staff made you feel like you were truly a guest in their home
  • Disliked — no pool or hot tub
  • Tips/Secrets — they have small private rooms for dining if you want a unique experience for a small group
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Property: Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Address: 845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wedgewood Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wedgewood Hotel & Spa is one of the city's leading luxury downtown hotels. Located amidst the gardens and waterfalls of the fashionable Robson Square in the heart of Vancouver's thriving cosmopolitan core, the Wedgewood has become a true landmark. It is the only member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux Group in Vancouver, a collection of the finest hotels and restaurants around the world. Vancouver's only member of the prestigious Relais and Châteaux, and one of Canada's leading luxury hotels. The hotel is proud to be the only hotel with private balconies in all the rooms with a stunning view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel And Spa
Wedgewood Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing