We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A great choice in Vancouver”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We recently stayed at the Wedgewood for four nights while visiting Vancouver. It's a wonderful and quiet place to come home to after a long day of hiking and sightseeing. A little bit older and more sedate than the larger hotels but that is part of its charm. The staff is very helpful and accomodating. A suggestion - if you are thinking of going to Whistler for the day, Avis is only one block away and it is an easy drive. They open at 7:00am and have late night drop off arrangements. You can stay at the Wedgewood and still have a full day in Whistler without changing hotels. Special rates are sometimes available for the Wedgewood and, if you can find one, you can stay in a nice luxury boutique hotel for about the same price or only a little more than the mass market ones the cruise lines use.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank des124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    182
    45
    23
    7
See reviews for
205
814
80
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Wedgewood and found it delightful. Our room, 8th floor, was large and handsomely furnished and equipped. The staff was friendly and efficient. A fine continental breakfast was provided each morning. Our meals at the in-house lounge/restaurant - the Bacchus-- - were excellent.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Vancouver and looking for a special place to spend some time enjoying.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Bacchus bar/lounge/restaurant is so civilized.
I find this type of boutique hotel charming and as a single for the most part traveller I feel very safe here.
It is a perfect location.
The welcome box of chocolates are superb and the evening turndown with cookies and water is so nice.

Room Tip: If in the back ask for a higher floor. But preferably ask for the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misselly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

To me the quality of a person shows when they engage with their Elders. If the Wedgewood were a person they would have strong character. This was an ideal location to bring my 78 year old mother on her first vacation in over 30 years. She was treated like gold by the staff who worked very hard to ensure she had everything she needed. The valet staff always welcomed her, remembered her walker before we had a chance to think of it, helped her in and out of doors. We were both tickled by the hand written note and box of chocolates in our room upon arrival.

This classically decorated hotel thinks of everything from sound proofed glass on the windows overlooking the bustling Robson Square to warm cookies at bed time.


The views were great for people watching but easy enough to get out and about to Robson street and see equally great people milling about.

The high tea was a highlight but don't forget the spa. My spa treatments were incredible. Valet parking was a breeze and a deal for this city. It is wheelchair accessible but the ramp is in the lounge, a minor inconvenience. Very helpful & professional staff.

I highly recommend this intimate hotel where service is the order of the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superchiklit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Two girlfriends and I checked into Wedgewood for a two night stay on September 7th. We drove in from Portland, and we used the hotel’s valet parking during our stay. From the time of our arrival, until the time we left, we were greeted by friendly faces, and most of the time, I was addressed by name. The hotel is very nice, and I hope to stay there again when visiting Vancouver.

We had originally made our reservations for September 3-5, but changed our dates due to the possibility of long waits at the border crossing on Labor Day weekend. When I called to make the change, the dates were quickly and easily adjusted with a slight increase in price.

We arrived around 6:00 pm and our beds were already turned down for the night, cookies and bottled water left on the nightstand, as well as a box of chocolates. We had reserved a one bedroom suite – two double beds, sitting area with double sofa bed and French sliding glass doors separating it from the bedroom, beautiful marble bath with separate tub and walk in shower, complimentary WiFi, two flat panel TVs, private balcony with chairs and table, and plush bathrobes and slippers. The linens were very nice and the beds comfy. We were in room 1007 on the 10th floor. The view was okay, nothing special. In the mornings, it was somewhat loud on the side street below our room - it sounded like big trucks going down the street, maybe garbage trucks.

When we noticed that we only had one TV remote, I called the front desk and another remote was promptly delivered to our room. On the first morning, we ran short of washcloths, but on morning #2, we had enough for all three of us.

Both the bathtub and shower were very nice, always had hot water. Those “good-smelling” Gilchrest & Soames bath amenities were provided in the bathroom. Love them!!!!

We never did get to visit the Bacchus lounge and restaurant, but it was very elegant. There was a piano player on the night we arrived, and the music sounded very nice. The lounge doors are open to Hornsby Street, and allowed for some fresh air and people watching while drinking or dining.

The hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk to most of the places that we wanted to visit downtown. Robson Street is only ½ block away – really close by! We walked to Gastown, Canada Place, and to the Aquabus to Granville Island, among other places. Pacific Centre Mall is only one block away.

The hotel staff even agreed to store our luggage after check-out on Friday so that we could do some last minute shopping and touring. We were able to leave the car parked as well, so it worked out perfectly! I was even able to leave my Mac laptop with them, and it was safely stored until I returned.

Very nice service with a personal touch. You will not be disappointed.

bb

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayou babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

A very well run hotel without some of the annoying "cool" factor that affects some of the newer properties in the City. Highly professional and pleasant service. Rooms are a bit frayed at the seams - carpet, upholstery, furniture all a bit dated and ready for an upgrade, but the location is superb, and overall experience very satisfactory.

Room Tip: I had a room with a sitting area and a huge patio area that was lovely for morning coffee and evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBKNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This hotel is an incredible boutique hotel for adults that provides a comfy British decor. The lounge is a perfect spot to catch up on the news with good friends over a bottle of wine and appetizers. The valet service is impeccable and adds to a stress free time in Vancouver. The location of the hotel is convenient for people who have appointments at the nearby St. Paul's Hospital and I like to be close to the shopping at Pacific Centre Mall. The beds are comfortable and we appreciated the bedtime chocolates with the turndown service. We initially had trouble operating the television and phoned the front desk. Within minutes, a maintenance person was at our door and quickly fixed the problem. The business centre was always free so we could access our emails quickly. If you can afford this luxury, it's worth it!

Room Tip: Check with the hotel about upgrades to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandiceWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Hotel & Spa

Property: Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Address: 845 Hornby St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wedgewood Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wedgewood Hotel & Spa is one of the city's leading luxury downtown hotels. Located amidst the gardens and waterfalls of the fashionable Robson Square in the heart of Vancouver's thriving cosmopolitan core, the Wedgewood has become a true landmark. It is the only member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux Group in Vancouver, a collection of the finest hotels and restaurants around the world. Vancouver's only member of the prestigious Relais and Châteaux, and one of Canada's leading luxury hotels. The hotel is proud to be the only hotel with private balconies in all the rooms with a stunning view of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wedgewood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Hotel And Spa
Wedgewood Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing