We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Lots of Space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Grand Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Location, Lots of Space”
Reviewed June 3, 2007

We stayed at the Westin Grand last week for 3 nights while in town to see The Police.

The upside: great building, lovely lobby, clean common areas, friendly front desk, super comfy bed, large and mod workout facility, great location on Robson, quiet room at night.

Negatives: Having only two elevators to service twenty some floors is really inconvenient. We waited for up to 5 minutes on multiple occasions during all 4 days we were there. Whoever designed that part of the building didn't think that through. Two elevators is more appropriate for a 6-8 floor hotel I would think. Another negative- moldy grout in the shower- YUK! Who wants that in their face in the morning? Also, air conditioning vent in bedroom blows directly on the part of the bed where your head would go and there is really no way to adjust it. I woke up with a sore throat from breathing cold air most mornings we were there. Couldn't completely turn off the air because the windows don't open and it got warm and stuffy real quick without it. The valet area is super small and the staff working it didn't seem to be working together to keep people moving through. One person would park a car in the middle of a space so that nobody else would be able to pull in and another valet would roll his eyes and go move the car 3 feet to accomodate another vehicle. We waited over 10 minutes just to be acknowledged when we pulled up the first time and we were the second of only 2 cars there at the time and there were two guys working. After 7 hours in the car, I was ready to get out and was a little annoyed by the Three Stooges routine in the valet area.

I'm spending a lot of time writing about the negatives, but that doesn't mean that I didn't enjoy our stay. Overall, it is a nice place with good staff in a great location and that combo is hard to find.

  • Liked — Large comfortable room
  • Disliked — Long elevator wait and confusion with the valets
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    573
    148
    59
    22
See reviews for
339
578
103
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

Had a suite for 3 day get-away. Can't say enough about the staff - very helpful, friendly & accomodating.

Room was clean, roomy, modern. Beds as always comfy. Hotel is great location - just 2 blocks from yaletown, and walking distance to about everything.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_ramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

My husband travels to Vancouver often on business and for this stay we decided to try the Westin Grand . We (self, husband, one year old) stayed in a King bed suite with a walk out balcony for 6 nights at the end of May. The room was large and very clean and it was very convenient having a microwave/kitchenette area to heat up meals and milk for my little guy. The balcony was maybe 12 square feet, so it may not be worth it to book the step out balcony if you are expecting something bigger.The beds were so comfortable, and the bathroom had a wonderful shower and separate soaker tub, and was very large as well.The staff was very friendly and accomodating and made all of us feel very welcome. Since we have a toddler we received a welcome kit that contained a rubber duckie, night light, first aid kit, and outlet plugs for our room. The porter even told us to let him know if we needed anything special for our child (soy milk etc...)as he would run out and get it for us. Room service was prompt, and the seared tuna sandwich, portobello sandwich, veggie lasagna, and apricot french toast were very tasty. The pool was not heated enough to be an outdoor pool at this time of year, but it was pleasant to relax on the deck. The location is great and within short walking distance to Robson shops, BC place, the theatre, Yale town, and the library. There is a liquor store right next to the hotel so that you can buy your own wine and a budget rent a car one block east of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again, as many of the rooms are suites and can accomodate small families very well. A tip about the rooms is that the king suites ending in 03 are a bit bigger than the ones ending in 09 (there are two on every floor)

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Dimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauai, hi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

The staff at the Westin Grand is incredible. They not only offered us an early check in, but gave us an upgrade. The room is beautiful; the view is spectacular and the room itself is clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the internet service did not work from our room and the tech service they go thru is useless. After I was on the phone with the tech service for a over an hour, I went to the front desk to complain. And to my surprise, they were very kind and offered us a different room or the use of their business center. Later that evening upon returning to our room, we were so surprised to find a gift card for breakfast. They went above and beyond.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank deriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

Stayed here for two weeks on business and found the staff extremely helpful and friendly. No issues with the room, very very clean and well kept. Stayed on the 23rd floor... exceptional view. within walking distance to everything in downtown and skytrain access is close by. Would recommend to anyone... will stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — decor is a bit dated
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JBOUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Ok its a Westin .. but ask for a room above the 20th floor and facing the Stadium, And you will get the point ... VIEW!!! I felt like was in some Sophia Coppola lost in translation location. Stunning! Yale-town, where the hotel is located, is seconds from the Robson shopping District, and the Davie Street restaurants. Did I mention the view? floor to ceiling windows in both the living and bedroom area more than make up for the dated beige, but still some how tasteful, decor ... The staff are stellar and helpful ... There were daily issues with the internet, but when I called to staff to complain, expecting them to Balk, and make it my issue, they took me off guard and took the blame. Its wonderful to be validated and helped isn't it? I was also assured that the issue is due to a new service and the kinks arent going to be long standing ... So the extra 10 mins needed to sign on once a day weren't so hard to bare. (it was only an issue at the start of a new 24 hour period not every time I logged on). Anyway .. stay here, you'll enjoy it. and the view ... really excellent.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2007

I can't really write more then what's already been said, but, a couple key points about this hotel I wanted to make sure everyone knows about:

1) The Restaurant was fantastic. The food was well prepared and the staff were prompt and very friendly

2) The rooms are amazing; this was quite simply the best hotel I've stayed in this past year

3) The location is close to bars, clubs, restaurants, GM place, anything basically that's worth going to in the evenings while in town on business

4) The staff really do make this place special. They will go the extra mile for you

5) If you don't stay in this hotel you are really missing out..

  • Liked — The room and service
  • Disliked — Nothing, it really was perfect.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank slashd0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Grand Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Grand Vancouver

Property: Westin Grand Vancouver
Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Grand Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Grand Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing