We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location,good view from room, a little pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Stayed two nights on 27th floor...great view.
room was clean and smart, staff were really helpful.
parking was expensive but easy.
great location for all the downtown sights.
A little overpriced???
would recommend though

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blinky_and_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,493 - 1,499 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2010

Our stay was fine, and location was great - but I don't think this hotel lives up to Westin standards. Tiny shower, only 2 elevators, concierge not very knowledgeable.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Impressed with the location (Robson St is one of the main streets in Vancouver) the standard of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff.
If you can afford it stay here - you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanP00le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Stayed at the Westin Grand on Robson in Vancouver in May 2010 for 1 night prior to and 2 nights following an Alaske cruise.

The hotel is very good indeed offering individual mini suites rather than rooms, with only 9 suites on each floor.

The hotel's restaurant 'Hidden' is also excellent. One small criticism is the number of elevators. In the mornings / evenings you can wait an age. Ok on the lower floors,as you can use the stairs but on the 17th, this was not an option.

We returned to the hotel very early in the morning following the cruise, but there was no problem at all with an early check-in.

The only issue is Robson Street itself which is a bit of a deserted cavern most of the time, and how Vancouver keeps getting voted as one of the best places to live in escapes me...it is like a towering Soviet edifice in scale and appears dull, grey and soulless in the Downtown, Gastown, and Yaletown areas at least - the streets are mostly devoid of people save the odd beggar outside of shopping / office hours - Seriously Moscow has more going for it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbetofop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

we stayed 3 nights here. We had a great stay, the location was perfect, the room spacious and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

A really well appointed hotel wih panoramic views and staff that could not have been more helpful fom the strart of our three night stay until the end. I could not reccomend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I had booked an Expedia deal at this hotel several weeks ago. It seems since the Olympic Games, Vancouver hotel prices have risen at least 100 percent. The Expedia deal was fairly good, and travelling with the in-laws, I booked two suites at well below advertised rates. The hotel is on Robsen Street, which as you know is the heart of Vancouver. Very easy to find, checking in was a breeze. The front desk was very friendly, efficient, and had an upgrade to a bigger suite all ready to go. The lobby is very opulent, clean, and smells of white tea. The elevators are express, and whisk you to your floor in seconds. This was nice because most hotel elevators in Vancouver are cramped and slow.
Entering the suite, we found it was in perfect order. One bedroom through the hall and bathroom were magnificent, with dual shower heads, marble everywhere, and nice bath amenties. The living portion had a giant flat tv, as did the bedroom. Temperature was already set to 68 degrees. Mini bar, kitchenette, and fridge, albiet cost prohibitive, were in very good order.
We checked out the facilities on floor three, and found a very well equipped fitness room, dry and wet sauna, a nice sized lap pool, and jacuzzi. You may order food to this level until 10pm, and it does make for dramatic views of Robsen Street and the surrounding city buildings. As with any Vancouver hotel, parking is really a drag...at 24.00CAN there just is not anywhere in the city you can park for less...so I accepted the fee with a minor grumble.
We did not dine at the restraunt this time, but I was able to query a couple just coming out who said it was too expensive for them, but remarkably good. Several other couples mirrored the same sentiment. I travel to Vancouver a lot, and I recomend a short three block walk west to the Lennox Pub at the Corner of Robsen and Granville. This is a fun and very traditional Irish Pub that strangely plays Reggae music....which is delightful. Dinners and lunch are fairly priced, and our entire dinner party loved the fare. A special note: The servers here were fantastic, cute and cheerful. This made our visit so much better.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand, Vancouver

Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $165 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated and located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Grand, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing