We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend, as part of a brief getaway for our anniversary. We arrived via car and parked in the self-park lot under the hotel. The cost for that is $21, and does include in and out privileges.
Check-in was easy, and when we mentioned conversationally to the front desk person that we were celebrating our anniversary, she upgraded our room, even though she had just finished checking us in to a different room! We were placed in a balcony suite on the corner of the building, which had a nice view of the city. The sitting room and bedroom were nicely decorated, and the bathroom was large and lovely. The suite (as with all suites in the hotel, I believe) had a handy little kitchenette area, which included a minibar, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher, several drawers of utensils, and shelves with cups, plates and wine glasses.

The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance of several interesting areas of Vancouver, including Gastown and Yaletown. There are tons of restaurants and coffee shops in the area, as well as plenty of other shopping, including a huge underground mall just a few blocks away. There is also a full-sized grocery store next door to the hotel.

We were pleasantly surprised to find a plate of chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in our room upon our return from exploring!

Check out was also easy, and the person working at the desk made sure to ask if we had had a nice anniversary celebration. I was very impressed by the service at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,586 - 1,592 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2009

The hotel has a small footprint. Small lobby area. Clean and well maintained other then the glitch with the sometimes on elevator. The worst when you have to wait endlessly when one of the 'vators are not running. I was upgraded to a larger room, mini suite, actually.

The room was nice. clean. The WESTIN bed was very clean crisp and comfortable. One problem wiht the hotle is that taxis are in sort supply and when they call for one you do have to wait abit. Dont know if this is typical of all hotels in Vancouver.

Overall it was a good stay but nothing stood out.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharem57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

The hotel is in a very good location and the staff were mostly quite helpful. We had a nice balcony view (though the inclement weather rendered it mostly useless) and a room with comfortable and pleasant appointments. However, even though the hotel may be "all suites," the 2 rooms in our suite were rather small. It would be nice in Europe, but for North America I found it a bit compact. The bedroom could only accommodate a queen bed. And even then it was cramped. The couch also had some questionable stains. The large windows were a nice touch, but on the 16th floor there was quite a bit of street noise at night (sirens, etc...). I would consider staying here again, but would insist on a bigger room and higher floor. As a Platinum Starwood member, I don't believe I really received the best room available. Apparently, this benefit doesn't even apply to all suite hotels, which is a disappointment, for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morerainplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We had excellent service at this hotel and it's our second time staying there. It's been consistently good and we will definitely be back. Our go-to choice of places to stay since it's close to everything you need.

It's in walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. Not in any particular district but within blocks of Yaletown and Gaslamp.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sleepygirlsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

It was a magnificent hotel and we stayed at a wonderful room on a wonderful level and it was very cheap for the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank goodreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed at the Westin for 3 nights in September - overall we were really happy with the standard of the room, the helpfulness of the staff and the hotel location. It is situated at the quieter end of Robson Street but only 10mins walk from the action. We had booked a "superior one bed suite" and it was lovely - nice bed, great bathroom, mini kitchen etc.
If there was one tiny gripe it is that unless you had a laptop for free wireless, the internet in the lobby was waaaay over priced. However, the gym was the best hotel gym I've been in and there was a great pool and jacuzzi - excellent for relaxing after being out and about in Vancouver!
If we go back to Vancouver (which I hope we will..) I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Mungo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

The staff were friendly and efficient.

The room was clean and in good condition.

The location is great for central Vancouver.

But for some reason that I can't quite put my finger on, it just wasn't a very memorable stay. I think that is because you can get from your room to the street outside without going past reception, so you don't "feel" like you are in a hotel.

Our stay was perfectly satisfactory however and I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank JonnySLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,599 reviews
Gastown
Delta Hotels Vancouver Downtown Suites
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,865 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,673 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand, Vancouver

Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $185 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated and located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Grand, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing