We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Monte Porzio Catone, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Attention to detail”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Wifi solid not exceptional but not slow either from room with the paid daily of 15$.
Food at bar is very health conscious and rock star service from bell hop to concierge to wait staff. Good place to access the other Vancouver yalestown and Granville but walking distance to Alberni at black and blue and other great restaurants . Central place to access all Vancouver by foot instead of being on one side or other, great fitness Ctr . Westin catering to the successful yuppie with Vancouver flare

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Eric,

I'm so pleased to hear that you received 'rockstar service'! It was a pleasure to welcome you, we look forward to many more visits.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    589
    150
    63
    23
See reviews for
347
596
106
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Like any other Westin around the world tried few so far & promise myself won't don it again & I do !
I just cant get over the idea of paying for internet !! appalling .......
asked 3 times to get my room hoovered ,, no chance ,,,despite very pleasant desk
great location but really must improve the quality of the service and upgrade their rooms

Room Tip: Don't bother stay if you have another option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detroncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear detroncj,

Thank you for your review, my sincere apologies that we did not respond to your request to have the room vacuumed, this certainly does not sound like our staff to ignore a request given 3 times! I will speak with the housekeeping team regarding this as we pride ourselves on our guest service. We do offer complimentary internet in our lobby and restaurants, I'm sorry if the front desk did not inform you of this.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed July 2013.

Very large room - likely the largest out of all the hotels I have stayed at in Vancouver. Lots of sitting space. Separate bedroom that is spacious.

Very good customer service. My bag did not arrive with me, and the front desk arranged to get me everything I needed - tooth paste, etc etc.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank one3Sport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor one3ag! I'm glad that you enjoyed your spacious suite. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Being an SPG Gold I would have expected more..Actually ducting check-in the girl at Front Desk was extremely friendly when I mentioned I visited this hotel 5 yrs ago on Business trip/Chinese Concert (we were upgraded to cornered suite). She asked me if I would like to pick 1) a drink or 2) points I said 2) points and she had offered " free internet service" for my stay and she mentioned that 3 times as I asked her for directions how to get to a hairdresser appt I was late for. She asked me to call down if I have problems signing in to the internet which I did not have time to after I rushed upstairs threw my luggage down, and called a cab.

That weekend how could I forget it was a rainstorm and I was soaked buying groceries at IGA few doors down from Westin Grand. Soaked in my wet clothes through the broken Westin Umbrella I freeze to death as the heater warms up in my tiny room. Looking for bottle waters it says it is safe to drink from the tap, please ask front desk for bottle. Being Celiac I have to drink bottle water and I asked about the Internet as well. Apparently Mgmt on site wasn't very friendly told me water is safe to drink I should be Environment Friendly when I asked for Bottle Water even after I presented my SPG GOLD. I am sorry Westin Grand Please accept my apology and Trip Advisor please accept my apology for not being environment friendly!! I do Recycle and not use Plastic bags, make a greener environment but do I have to bring a doctors note with me the 5Ws? Please Westin GM I do have my own Privacy!!! When he asked me how many bottles, I gave up...I will buy water from IGA next door (Sigh..talk about Terrible service for Over-Priced hotel). He argued with me I was trying to cheat the system for "Free Internet" (Horrible Service). I told him I could tethered from my phone I have 3GB from Rogers Corporate Plan and I can call SPG in the morning than he gave me a password.
I didn't get an upgrade as I was supposed to, there was no heat in my room during my stay. I had a fever 103 I was so tempted to call an ambulance during my stay as I was busy throwing up and the hotel was super noisy. For $300/night service was awful. If I won a free night there I will not stay there ever again!! It is far from restaurants, the sky train station, the shopping, etc. Yes you are close to the hockey game and what view?? It's all blocked by condos. I asked Concierge who sat very comfortably cushioned up in her chair flipping pages of her latest gossip mag for directions, she told me to ask Valet. What does Concierge do??
I just want to cry

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear JMKP2,

I'm sorry for all the issues and frustrations you faced during your stay. I would like to speak with you directly regarding this as I want to ensure that we can address the issues properly. My direct email is bryce.beatty@westingrandvancouver.com I sincerely hope that we have a chance to connect.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel is typical westin, clean and decent, nothing to complain about. Wifi is the worst I have ever experienced, very slow and constantly down. Leaving in the morning I had to wait for 10 minutes for the elevator, I realized now why they have a tv with cbc news on every floor, something to keep you occupied while you wait. Also why only one security swipe on a very wide elevator cabin? Doesn't make it easy if you get into a crowded lift and have to ask people to swipe for you.
Too bad, otherwise this would be a decent choice in Vancouver as rooms are big, bright and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear morr87,

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry that you were frustrated by our elevators, we only wish we could install more! Your comment on the security swipe is a good one, I will speak with our Engineering team to explore getting another one put on the other side of the elevator.

We are constantly upgrading our service and just this week are upgrading our internet capabilities making the connections stronger, this should assist with any issues you were having.

I hope that you will return to us in the future.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Typical high rise hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver. Very clean, comfortable and lots of amenities. Definitely lived up to Westin brand standards that we are use to. We enjoyed our "high rise level" room and although there was construction going on next door (new high rise) we were not affected by nor noticed any noise unless we opened the window.
Our room had a very comfortable "heavenly" bed along with a separate living room and mini fridge, bar and microwave. tastefully decorated and we called this home/base camp for 3 days.
We were in the heart of shopping and many restaurants, theaters. We are adventurous and set out everyday on foot and car to enjoy all that Vancouver has to offer (we were here 10 yrs ago and returned to visit our favorites places!) Must see: Granville Island, Stanley Park, Canada Place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear m0welsh,

After being absent from Vancouver for so long, I'm delighted we provided such a great home base for your return! We hope it's not too long before we can welcome you back to our city again!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for a week for business purposes. Its in a great location that is close to many good restaurants and bars. Facilities are very clean and there is always someone ready to help. My room had a nice view of the city, which was a nice way to wake up every day. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmenjivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear dmenjivar,

It was a pleasure to have you call our hotel home for a week. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,556 reviews
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,521 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated and located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing