We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special for a Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Grand Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothing special for a Westin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's conviently located downtown, where we needed to be for a hockey game, so the location was fantastic. We booked on expedia to get the best rate possible, otherwise I would not say it's a great value for cost. We had a basic queen room. The bathroom was nice and big, however, the shower head was not the Heavenly double head, but they still put the sticker in the shower saying it was! And it would have been nice to haev 2 bath robes, not just one. The kitchenette is a nice touch, great to have actual wine glasses and a fridge. Parking was expensive, $30 for the one night. We didn't hear much traffic noise, especially for being on the 8th floor. I'd say it was just ok, we much prefer another Westin nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diesel1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear diesel1129,

Thank you for your review, it sounds like your stay was mostly positive. However, I apologize that the parking rate and the lack of the double shower head negatively impacted what would have been a great stay.

We work hard to ensure our parking rates are competitive and are actually lower than most hotels in the area. We are in the process of putting in the new generation shower heads for Westin, the "rain shower".

I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    565
    147
    59
    21
See reviews for
337
573
101
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
607 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We chose the AAA package with free wifi. Parking at $30 is self park under the WESTIN. For families looking for Suite accommodation - this is a good choice. We had a suite in the 26th floor which was by no means spacious, but did have a separate bedroom. We were told by other guests that rooms were too small for luggage. Ours with the Queen sofabed made out fit weekend luggage. The ventilation made the sitting room freezing with the bedroom doors closed, so don't expect to sleep with the doors closed. The checkin was not so
good as we were sent to the wrong floor with kids and luggage. The keys stopped working that night and the room was not fully made up as we had requested. However most of the employees in the hotel were really helpful and pleasant. Really nice pool, spa, steam rooms, sauna and workout facilities. The bar offered breakfast - SKIP THE BUFFET - eggs were dry and rubbery, but the alacarte menu was very good and the service was extremely accommodating. Lots of good options nearby - our favorite was Commune about 3 blocks away. The location is 4 blocks from Robson square, 5 blocks from Gaslight district and a few blocks from Yaletown. Perhaps a little gritty for some, but our teen saw it as an adventure. Just a note - you enter the hotel from a small alley - definitely odd, but it has an optional small door to stairs on Robson. We would probably stay again, if our plan was to shop .

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Gemma'smum,

Thank you for bringing your family to stay with us! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and got to explore so much of our beautiful city. Please accept my apologies for the mixup at check in. We hope to see you all again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wife and I stayed here for our weekend get away in September. After we arrived at YVR. We bought a one zone FareSaver booklet from the 7-11 at the airport and shared the tickets. The hotel was super easy to get to via Skytrain even in the pouring rain at 11:45pm.

From the hotel we took the train and on foot to various sites around Vancouver along with eating some authentic asian food in Richmond. The hotel is also walking distance to the bike rental for Stanley park by the convention center.

We especially enjoyed the shopping major shopping streets around the hotel and Japadog is literally next street over.

The corner room we were given has a kitchen and a living area. It was modern, clean and comfortable. The bed was a bit small/short but still comfortable. We opted in for the green choice program every night which exclude room cleaning with bonus Starwood points. The bathroom amenities were excellent.

The hotel has a terrible business center. I had to do some work for an hour during our stay and the business center not only cost extra but it was terribly small and uncomfortable. The Wifi also cost extra which really diminished our positive experience at the hotel.

Overall it was a comfortable stay, but for the price I paid, i'd rather stay somewhere with free wifi and a better business center. The hotel is definitely not for small-business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Frank L,

Thank you for your detailed review of the property, it sounds like you enjoyed a variety of our amenities, our location and the service you were provided. However, I'm sorry that the business centre detracted from what would have been a very positive stay. As a small hotel, unfortunately we do not have the luxury of space, and while our business centre is small, we do try and provide everything a person may need.

Again, my apologies to you regarding the business centre, perhaps you could return to us in the future for leisure purposes?

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
291 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel has one of the better work out rooms I've found. Even the least expensive remote hotel tends to have aerobic machines. The Westin had the usual range of dumbells to 50# and the less common multi-move pulley machine. They also have medicine balls, bosu boards, stability balls, balance boards, stretch bands and steps. You can put together an awesome body weight/free weight session. The pool is long enough to actually swim laps.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear David,

We like to say "out of town doesn't have to mean out of shape." We're glad you're able to take advantage of our facilities to stay active. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a very conveniently located hotel for downtown Vancouver, being within walking distance of anywhere that does not involve crossing water. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The biggest advantage is that all rooms are suites with a separate living room, with fold away beds, and kitchenettes, which allow you to save money on meals. The staff are invariably helpful and friendly. The hotel is not cheap, but offers a number of discounts (AAA for example, which make it affordable). My biggest gripe is with the expensive self parking ($30), which is excessive. Much cheaper places can be found nearby. Also the internet connection from the rooms seems to be consistently bad (connection is often lost) and the TV often doesn't work well. I regularly complain about this, but they never seem to correct it.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear JAM2012,

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your business as a repeat guest, it is a pleasure to welcome you back each time. Please accept my apologies that we have failed to resolve your internet and television issues on your previous stays! On your next visit, please email me at bryce.beatty@westingrandvancouver.com so I can proactively ensure you won't encounter this. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Westin is a great brand, with all the luxury trappings of the Fairmont range (the amenities, the quality of the furniture and decor) but without all the ceremony (greeters, door openers, bag carriers, valet, security, etc) that makes the Fairmont quite pompous. Westin is more like the quiet luxury brand which is appealing.

The staff at the Grand are very polite and helpful, consistently over 10+ stays here this year. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have tasted and there are many other options for the more health conscious (or less hung over!).

This is my go-to hotel when working in Vancouver and I would recommend it for sure.

Things to watch out for include a warm and stuffy underground parkade in the summer and with only two elevators when the hotel is busy you might be frustrated but really, I've never waited more than a minute.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites with separate bedroom 00 has a good view over BC place, 01 is a small but perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Ayup,

Thank you for being such a loyal guest! It's truly a pleasure to welcome you back each time, and we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to many more stays in the future!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for three nights before boarding a cruise to Alaska. We were in a queen suite with a view which included separate living room and mini kitchenette. The room was clean and comfortable, the view was grand. The location couldn't be more convenient. Vancouver is a very walkable city and the hotel is right in the middle of everything. The staff was helpful and friendly, especially Lisa, the concierge (almost certain that's her name).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Jen and Martin,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us before your Alaska cruise. I’ll be sure to pass your kind comments on to our staff members. We hope you come back to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,596 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Downtown
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Grand Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Grand Vancouver

Property: Westin Grand Vancouver
Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Grand Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Starwood, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Grand Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing