We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very conveniently located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Grand Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Grand Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very conveniently located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is on Robson, right across the street from some good fast food places. Check out JAPADOG, Japanese hot dogs. There is also a Vietnamese noodle place next to JAPADOG with great noodles and Vietnamese sandwiches. If you continue to walking up the street, you’ll encounter tons of shops and they all open till 9PM at night. So I’d give the location of this Westin a 5 star.

The Westin Grand is a all suite hotel with a kitchenette (stocked with utensils so very handy if you were to take out your meal from across the street) AND believe it or not, a dishwasher(!). Never encountered a dishwasher in a hotel room before. I’m not so sure that’s a great idea because it’s taking away part of the living area. The square footage of the room is no larger than other hotel rooms. So putting in a kitchenette AND a partition wall to segregate the bedroom and the living area, makes the whole place feel smaller. There was only enough space for a queen bed in the room, not much storage neither.

So in summary, I’d say, the hotel is in a great location, but the design of the room is not the best we’ve seen compared to other Westins. We also stayed in the Sheraton Vancouver Wall Center during this trip. I’d say the Sheraton facility and room is definitely more superior to this one, if you so happen to be comparing these two hotels. However we did not walk around the area near Sheraton so we can’t comment that location compares to the Westin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guinevere and R... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear glyster,

Thanks for sharing your review and some great local tips! Japadog is a favourite among our team here!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    543
    143
    54
    21
See reviews for
329
553
95
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is situated in the centre of Vancouver, it is ideally located to let you explore Vancouver. We found the staff most helpful with any queries we had. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. We had a suite and it was more than adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineW209938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments Pauline! We hope your travels bring you back across the pond soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at the Westin Grand several times as a couple. We just returned from our first family vacation there (June 30 - July 6), where we used it as home base for ourselves and our 7 year old daughter. It was an excellent stay. The suite is spacious, and we loved our little balcony for morning coffee. Having a kitchenette is awesome when traveling with kids - we undoubtedly saved money eating cereal and fruit in the suite each morning. The hotel is very centrally located - we walked to Yaletown to take the ferry to Granville Island, and could easily walk down Robson Street to shopping, restaurants etc. (Granted, we live in New York City so an "easy" walk to us could seem a bit far to someone else). The outdoor pool, hot tub and deck were great - we swam most mornings with our daughter, and alway found another kid or two for her to play with - people were friendly and the vibe was very relaxed. Everything is clean and comfortable, not super luxurious but certainly upscale. We need to give a special shout-out to Lisa, the concierge. She did 2 extraordinary things: (1) got me an appointment with her own personal dentist when I had an unexpected dental issue on vacation; and (2) made friends with our daughter and looked out for us during the week. She was great and we will definitely be back to the Westin Grand Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear patchNewYork,

It was an absolute pleasure to welcome your family! We're delighted you enjoyed Vancouver so much, and that Lisa, our start Concierge, was able to make your visit so memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Grand Vancouver at the beginning of our vacation in Vancouver, just before we went over to Vancouver Island. The hotel is very nice and in a really great area of Vancouver. We could walk to the water shuttle to take us over to Granville Island as well as nice places to eat. Our room was very nice with a very nice view of the city. We would definitely stay at the Westin Grand Vancouver again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a higher level room. It was not very expensive, gave us a corner room and a very nice su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyedoc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Eyedoc44,

Thank you for visiting us! Great choice taking the Aqua Bus to Granville Island, it's one of our guests' top favourite attractions! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We've got back from a stay in Vancouver in the Westin Grande. I was so disappointed with the room I could not wait to get out of it. The pictures show fabulous views of ceiling to floor windows, well not in 908. We booked a superior suite with queen bed 4 months ago for 4 days, so I think they had plenty of time to get us a decent room. The furniture and fittings I can't fault, however this room has view of the rooftop a floor below, is right at the back of the hotel, is hemmed in by high rise and certainly does not have 'picturesque windows highlighting cityscapes or mountain views ' as advertised. We were too tired too complain or move rooms, having arrived from travelling in the Yukon, so just put up with it. It was not what I was looking forward to. The air con vent in the bedroom was pointed directly at the bed making it very uncomfortable to sleep with it blasting in the face, and the wardrobes were basically 2 cupboards, one of which was in the living area. Also an ice machine in the corridor was on a connecting wall next to the bed and could be heard filling up with water constantly, which sounded like a flushing toilet all night. Finally, as other reviews, the lift was impossible to get without at least a 10 minute wait, ridiculous to have just 2 small lifts for a hotel with 31 floors. I'm not one to gripe normally, but this room was just not acceptable. I only wish I'd had the energy to complain, but I did not want to ruin my trip of a lifetime by getting into a confrontation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Joan85,

Thank you for your review, my sincere apologies that the room you were placed in did not offer the view you were expecting. While we certainly try to place every guest in the view suites, unfortunately this is just not possible. I'm so sorry that this ruined your experience with us.

Our staff is here to assist, I wish you had called, we may have been able to offer you some alternatives to the room you were in, our staff our excellent and care deeply about your experience, there would have been no confrontation.

Please if you return, I invite you to reach out to me, this way I can provide you with some options regarding your room.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found the staff to be very helpful, from great dining recommendations to service in the restaurant to directions to local attractions. The hotel is close to many great Vancouver attractions, including the AquaBus, BC Place, Yaletown and Library Square. Our room was very clean and comfortable and had a nice view of the many high-rise buildings in the area. Even though our room was near the elevator, we experienced no noise. The fitness center was crowded in the mornings but there seemed to be enough room for guests to do yoga, lift weights, and use the cardio and weight machines.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for your comments svd92708! It looks like you really got to experience the best of Vancouver during your visit.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

1) room furniture was frayed
2) no wifi anywhere in hotel without paying
3) ran out of set of towels when they did our room
4) nothing else to say but there is a 200 character minimum which does not make sense nothing else to say nothing else to say

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear e a,

Thank you for your review, I apologize that your stay did not go well with us. We actually do offer complimentary wifi in our lobby/restaurant space, I'm sorry that you were not made aware of this.

I will certainly follow up with housekeeping regarding towels, we have a full stock so even if the particular housekeeper did not have enough, more towels should have been sent to your room after the fact.

I certainly hope that you will consider staying with us again should you return to Vancouver.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Grand Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Grand Vancouver

Property: Westin Grand Vancouver
Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Grand Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Grand Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing