We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hi

I am a travel agent and stayed at this hotel for six nights last week.

The staff at this hotel were amazing and very accomodating. The rooms were very nice with the beds being very comfortable.

They had just opened the pop up patio when we were there. It is gorgeous by the pool.

We used the concerige and bell boys alot, all were very good.

The only complaint I would have is that they need more elevators.

Thanks Kim

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmer9396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hi Kim,

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your discerning eye as a travel agent, and are pleased that our team made such a positive impression on you! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerley,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great location in downtown Vancouver - close walking distance to Yaletown and Granville St shopping. Staff was extremely helpful. Restaurant had a great breakfast menu. Suites were very nice with a huge bathroom, and having a kitchenette was handy while travelling with a baby. Did not find the WiFi slow at all. Reasonable price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Homer or W Georgia have much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt811113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Matt,

Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

As a frequent business traveller to Vancouver, I have been staying at the Westin Grand for a number of years now. It has a great location right on Robson that makes it easy to walk to all of the places that I generally want to visit (e.g., our local office, Yaletown and its stop for the Aquabus that ferries passengers over to Granville Island, the stores on Robson, BC Place stadium, etc.). There is a 24-hour Tim Hortons coffee shop right next door, a convenience store kitty-corner across the street, and a grocery store on one corner of the block with a boutique liquor store on the other. I really appreciate the fact that many of the employees have been on staff for years and so I often recognize faces when I visit and am always warmly welcomed back. (The hotel actually used to give returning guests a little bag of candy treats at check-in - the homemade marshmallows were my favourite - but they have apparently had to discontinue that practice for health and safety reasons.) The lobby is located up on the second level, at the top of a huge curving staircase. The elevators and bell desk are located at the rear of the ground floor space. One elevator goes only to the lobby and to the parking garage, while two others service the rest of the building. A room key is required to access the room floors. Given the height of the hotel, having only two elevators can prove to be slow, especially in the peak morning period, so be sure to factor that into your travel plans. (There are closed-captioned TVs mounted on each floor by the elevators, set to a news channel, to help you pass the time while waiting...) The rooms are all "suites", decorated in soft neutral colours, with small kitchenettes, typically built into closets so they are tucked away out of sight. They don't really allow for much cooking, but are great for heating up meals in the microwave and for keeping drinks and snacks cool in the fridge. Each kitchenette offers a selection of dishes, glasses and silverware, and a teeny-tiny dishwasher. The bathrooms are spacious, sometimes with separate showers and soaking tubs, and all are fitted with the Westin double showerhead and curved shower curtain rods. The bedrooms offer the infamous, and super comfy, "heavenly beds" with their silky-soft white linens and variety of pillow types. (Note that the studio model and the one that offers two queen beds don't have a separate bedroom but are just one big open space. The other models all have separate bedrooms, albeit often not large ones, as there is pretty much just enough room for the bed.) There is a programmable safe in each suite that is large enough to accommodate a laptop, and an ironing board with iron, and a very handy loaner umbrella, given Vancouver's often rainy weather. The living area has a large desk and a sofa with a chaise extension, and often an armchair or two. There are large (40") flat screen TVs in both the living room and the bedroom, where applicable. The hotel is physically shaped like a grand piano, so I typically get a one-bedroom superior suite with a king-sized bed on the curve of the glass, as it offers great views out over the city, including the Romanesque architecture of the public library building next door, and is always bright and light-filled. If you are lucky enough to get a corner suite, those units have small balconies that offer the chance to step outdoors to enjoy the view and fresh air. There is a restaurant off the lobby that offers a decent enough breakfast buffet (at typically high hotel pricing) and is also a great place to have a drink and a bite to eat after work. As a Maritimer, I have really enjoyed the lobster poutine on my last couple of visits, and the sweet-and-salty watermelon and feta salad is also very good. During my most recent stay, I discovered that food is available on the pool deck too, on the hotel's third floor, so that a drink and/or meal can be enjoyed outdoors, either in the sun or on the shaded side of the terrace. The outdoor pool is not huge (it's basically a rectangle, just two lanes wide, with a staircase at one end) but it is heated and is now filled with saltwater so there is no chlorine smell and it is still crystal clear. There are lounge chairs and groupings of tables and chairs placed all around it, and there is also a small hot tub tucked at one end. Back inside the hotel, there is a fully-equipped gym that looks out onto the pool deck and is open all of the time. The government rate includes Wi-Fi and I have never had any trouble picking it up in any of the rooms in which I have stayed. This is a great hotel and it will continue to be my home-away-from-home in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Anne,

Thank you for being such a loyal guest after so many years. We truly appreciate your business, and look forward to each one of your visits. Stay well!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We only stayed one night, we flew in the night before and were boarding a cruise the next day.

We arrived without our luggage and they were very helpful.

We are Starwoods Plat and they gave us a nice upgrade to a suit.

Try and get a high floor, probably better facing the sea, we were on the land side.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor, probably better facing the sea, we were on the land side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandM5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear AandM5864,

It was our pleasure to welcome you before your cruise, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My normal hotel was booked up so I decided to stay here and now I'll never change again. Excellent views, great staff and perfect location.

What I liked:
The room! see the pics!
The food! great bites
The people!

What i disliked:
The internet was a little slow. Not bad, but not great.

All in all, it's my new permanent home in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Get a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AgileDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear AgileTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your review! We're so please you enjoyed your first stay with us. We look forward to many more visits!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My return stay at this hotel was excellent! I was a little dubious after my last stay but was rewarded for visiting again. The room was great - sunny bright and fresh with a small balcony facing SW. It certainly helped with the sun beaming in. As I was returning from Europe business, the room was a welcome place to take the edge off of jet lag.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Steve,

Thank you for sharing your review! We're so pleased you visited us again, and are delighted to have welcomed you back. Safe travels, we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I originally booked on line for two nights and found out that I did not require the second night so I called the 800 number and cancelled the second night. When they did that the ate changed by $15.00. I questioned it and they said they could do nothing for me. Having been a repeat customer at this Westin I thought I would ask about the rate change once I got there in person. As usual I received exceptional service from the front desk and they not only changed my rate to the original quote, but they noticed that the original quote stated that all taxes were included (never happens). They did some investigation and found out that there was a gliche on their website that was corrected. They still honoured the all inclusive rate. Now that's customer service!

The only setback I find at this location is that Kitchen can be slow for food timing. The wait staff (Jesse especially) are excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thanks for your comments Eric! We truly appreciate your business a return customer, and it is our team's pleasure to provide the service that keeps you coming back.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,602 reviews
Gastown
Delta Hotels Vancouver Downtown Suites
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,868 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand, Vancouver

Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $183 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated and located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing