We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very convenient place to stay in Vancouver. The service was very good and the room was very nice. Very comfortable beds and nice, but small bar. It seemed to be in walking distance to most of the key locations in the CBD.I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thanks for staying with us Rick! We appreciate your comments, glad to see you had such a great stay. See you again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,766)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Grand, Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Resturant - Food is Great
Rooms - lovely beds
Service - great love the waiters in the resturant love the chefs
I would spend a lifetime there.
Swimming - great pool could be cleaner hot tub is great very hot and awesome

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillSoccer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi Will!

Thanks for sharing your review! I'm extremely pleased to see you had such a good stay with us, and that you never want to leave! We hope that means we'll have many more visits from you in the future!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is among the better hotels I've stayed in. It's small, but it's centrally located in downtown, right on Robson St. near restaurants and stores. The views from the top floors are really nice. The room was clean and well-kept. The only quirk is the elevator system...you have to take a different elevator to get to the underground parking. Not a big deal, but a bit inconvenient.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvalentine002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear bvalentine002,

Thanks for your comments! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. That view is pretty hard to beat! Thanks as well for your patience with the elevators. We know they can be a bit cumbersome. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Upon arrival all the staff at the Westin are friendly. We arrived before 3 and our room was not reading so rather than keep us waiting the girl at the front desk upgraded us to a deluxe corner suite. My wife loved the room as it had small balcony overlooking the pool and a separate bedroom. The main room was cozy with an extremely comfortable couch. Although we were only on the six floor the room was quiet and comfortable. We loved the added feature of having a built in mini-kitchenette - sink, dishwasher, microwave and fridge. The beauty of this is that there is a an IGA grocery adjacent to the hotel that sell groceries and at a reasonable price.
We had breakfast in the "Hidden" - the hotel restaurant and although it was not awe inspiring the staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. All of the staff in the hotel were very friendly.
THe beauty of the Westin Grande is that it appears to be a "small, homey" hotel that makes you feel at home and do not want to leave. It is very close to BC Place and Roger's Arena, walking into town is nothing and it you want to go further afar it is very close to the Sky Train. On check our billed was emailed and right away I spotted a problem. We had received a bed and breakfast rate which included paid breakfast for two. What is amazing about this rate is that you can have the full breakfast buffet, the continental or anything ala carte and it is all included in the rate. However on my bill the full charge did show and when I called the hotel right away immediately fixed it. The only two knocks I have and this is chain hotels in general
1) Why can't loyal ( eg Starwood) customers get free wifi 2) Fix your cordless phone - I have yet to stay in "brand hotel" where upon check in the cordless phone either has a dead battery or it is broken. As I was over for a phone and low stress visit , I did not even bother to call the front desk - but why can hotels NOT routinely check cordless phones and TV Remotes on a regular basis.

I would most certainly recommend the Westin Grand for any business traveller or anyone coming over for a concert or sporting event

Room Tip: If possible get a corner room with a balcony
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cicero12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Cicero12,

Thank you for sharing your review! We're so glad to see our associates made your stay more special and memorable, and that you felt at home during your stay. That is one of our top priorities. We appreciate the constructive feedback about WiFi and phones as well, thank you!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

As usual excellent stay all staff were professional and accommodating highly recommend

So comfy beds, room service fast and effective front desk formal but personable and the chef and breakfast staff so so good superior by far

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thanks for your comments Emma! We really appreciate your positive feedback, I'm looking forward to sharing this with the team!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We love staying at the Westin Grand Vancouver. It's an excellent location, close to Rogers Arena, Granville Street, and numerous delicious restaurants. The beds are the comfiest you will get in a hotel - we purchased our set at home to duplicate the beds they have! We have stayed at other hotels in Vancouver for a comparable price and the quality is just not the same. We won't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Corner suites have a small patio and a walkthrough bathroom - ideal if you have a baby sleeping soun...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VernoniteCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear VernoniteCanuck,

Thank you for staying with us! We're thrilled we're your go-to hotel for Vancouver trips, and hope we can welcome you back again soon. Great idea purchasing the Westin Heavenly Bed for your home. Sleep doesn't get much better than that!

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Staff: Always helpful and very pleasant. Lisa Cummings was our concierge -- she was wonderful.

Public spaces: Compact but classy. (We did not make use of the pool, workout facilities, or spa.)

Restaurant/Bar: Beautiful, with big, sunny windows. Ate only breakfast there, very good.

Room: We had a corner suite on the 20th floor, with balcony and separate bedroom (king). Spacious and comfortable with various lighting options. Huge windows in living room and bedroom. The bedroom was large, with the most comfortable bed we've ever had. We appreciated that there were two types of duvets on the bed -- a thick one and a thin one, so you could choose the one you like. (Most hotels have only those big thick ones that are always way too hot for our liking.) The bathroom was also large and had a shower stall separate from the soaker tub. We appreciated the little Pullman kitchen. The hotel has a Green program where you can opt out of daily maid service in return for hotel vouchers or Starwood points, your choice. This is one of the few hotels we've ever stayed at where you could properly set the room temperatures (and the bedroom had a separate thermostat.)

Location: around three-and-a-half blocks from the airport Skytrain and the Pacific Centre Mall; close to the big sports venues, Edgewater Casino, False Creek; next door to the Performing Arts Centre and the library; IGA store, Tim Hortons, Starbucks, and liquor store all clustered around the hotel: many restaurants in the area; although the breakfast at the hotel was excellent, we don't like spending a lot on breakfast, so we walked about two blocks to Rosie's, where the menu was plainer and smaller, but the prices were much more reasonable. Subeez is also nearby, but we didn't try that one.

Car parking rate is lower than most other downtown hotels.

We highly recommend the Westin Grand.

Room Tip: Two suggestions: Our living room windows and balcony faced west, which meant we were looking into th...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOIS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at The Westin Grand, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words Lois! We're thrilled you had such an excellent trip to Vancouver. We'll happily pass on your comments to Lisa, we're very lucky to have her on our team.

We hope to see you again soon!
Bryce Beatty,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,595 reviews
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,504 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand, Vancouver

Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $190 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Grand, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated and located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing