We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Standout hotel in Vancouver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Grand Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Grand Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Standout hotel in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is hands down the best Starwood property in Vancouver. The location isn't exactly glamorous, but if you spend enough time in Vancouver (and have been kept up at night by the ambulance sirens on Burrard) you'll realize it's outstanding. Rooms are excellent as well.

Two small suggestions - the "universal gym" in the workout room is so complicated it needs a monitor to show you how to use it. And their wireless internet it not very mobile phone friendly, I probably had to enter in a password 25 times over the course of my 3 nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    534
    139
    51
    21
See reviews for
322
543
94
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel on our way to visit our daughter. We were very late arriving (2:30am) but the staff were still very friendly and attentive.
Our room was clean and really well laid out with a well planned kitchenette. The king bed was extremely cosy and comfy.
The location in downtown Vancouver is perfect for shopping; right next to a grocery too.
While we were waiting for a friend, we watched the attentiveness of the staff helping a family with young children. It was really heartwarming to see that kind of caring from hotel staff.
A brief but appreciated stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our first stay at Westin Grand.
Having not rented a car, travelling with 6 month old infant, and two checked luggage, we made it in from YVR via SkyTrain (Vancouver City Centre station) in the rain very easily!
The location was excellent, the all-suite rooms were amazing, the in-room umbrella came in handy!
This was our first time in Vancouver.
The property is in the middle of a lot of things as other reviewers will tell you.
Based on our experience with the staff, Canadians are hands down friendlier and more helpful than Americans.
Best Westin experience I've had in North America.
Did I mention there was a Westin Crib w/ Heavenly Crib Mattress??
Walk to Yaletown and try The Flying Pig ~ if you don't not eat pork, you must go!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Abe L,

We are so very happy that you decidied to stay with us on your first trip to the city. I'm glad that our location was to your liking, and that our associates were able to make your stay just that little bit better.

We hope you will return to our city very soon and that the Westin Grand will be your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

There is nothing bad to be said about this hotel. The staff is very attentive and friendly. We were upgraded to a Superior Suite with a wonderful view thanks to SPG Gold. The suite was comfortable, clean, and quiet. Yaletown, Gaslamp, Waterfront, Chinatown...everything is a ten or fifteen minute walk away. The casino and Granville Island water taxi are also a short walk away, as is the sky train which will take you directly to YVR. If you don't want to venture that far in the rain, there is lots of dining and shopping right around the hotel. Other small touches, like the umbrella in the closet and the housekeeper keeping the coffee stocked, added to the experience.

They were doing smoke alarm testing that weekend, so we had to listen to the alarms for about five minutes one afternoon. It should be noted that the testing took place in the early afternoon when most guests would be out and about, away from the hotel. The only reason I bring this up is because in any other hotel I might have been highly irritated by the alarms. However, the overall excellence in all other aspects of our stay more than made up for the five minute inconvenience.

Definitely a fantastic place to stay during your first trip to Vancouver!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borisaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
274 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Vancouver Westin. We upgraded to a better room and the bellman said we were in the new prototype room for Westin properties. The furnishings & bed were classic Westin style--comfort & chic. Love the new lighting in the bathroom and the compact kitchenette--a dishwasher no less. I missed the dual head Westin shower which seems to have been traded for a big square rain shower with attached mobile washing wand. Not sure I liked that so much. Service in the bar/restaurant was not the same as our first visit. Wait staff were slow to refill drnks and food took a long time from order to table. Don't be in a hurry here. The property itself seemed a little "tired" in that wood finishings were shabby in public areas & cleanliness was just a bit off. This really surprised me for a Starwood property. Bellmen were attentive & helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

VERY friendly and welcoming staff. Well positioned hotel for attending functions in and around Vancouver. We stayed there for Cirque Du Soleil, which was just a 15 minute walk away, at the Concord Pacifica.

Stayed here before. Usually spotless, but over this weekend the public areas did get notably unkept. e.g. lift floors, etc. That said, the hotel was fully booked, as there were numerous functions going on all at the same time.

The lifts are quite odd in this hotel, not enough in my opinion, and you have to wait quite some time, every time, you want to use the lift. Once you get used to swiping your card in the lift, it does become more bearable. On checking in , we met a couple in the lift who had gone up and down three times, until we showed them how things worked!!! :)

I have stayed here before, and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Corner, deluxe suite on the 30th floor. Great views, no noise and very few other rooms on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viscountwalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce B, General Manager at Westin Grand Vancouver, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear viscountwalden,

Thank you for posting your comments, we appreciate the feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed our location, our friendly associates, as well as your suite. I'm sorry that our elevators were a source of frustration for you, we take the safety and security of our guests as the highest priority, hence the 24hr requirement to swipe a key card in the elevators before access to a guest floor is permitted.

We certainly hope we can welcome you back to the property very soon.

Sincerely,
Bryce Beatty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

In a nutshell, very nice hotel in a great location within walking distance to shops, the harbour, the stadium, and Chinatown. Rooms are very comfortable with incredibly comfortable beds and a great shower. Food options in the hotel are excellent and it also has great amenities such as a heated pool and gym. The hotel has 32 floors so you get extensive city views from the high floors. This is now one of my favourite hotels in Vancouver.

Location: Central location close to lots of shops and restaurants, the underground mall (Pacific Centre), stadium, Chinatown, and the waterfront.

Room: I stayed in the suite which is not super huge but just right. It is nicely furnished with a small kitchen area hidden behind doors. The bed was an incredibly comfortable but only a double. It had lots of different pillow options.

Bathroom: Small but clean and with a great shower - usual Westin shower with 2 heads and perfect pressure. The shampoos and body wash provided are from the Heavenly Spa range and smell great.

Hotel Restaurant(s): I used the restaurant only for breakfast, which was excellent. I love that they label foods Super Foods, High in Antioxidants, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to take advantage of the amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukmagicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#22 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,991 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#10 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 95 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 3,191 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Grand Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Grand Vancouver

Property: Westin Grand Vancouver
Address: 433 Robson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Grand Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of British Columbia's most exciting cities, the all-suite Westin Grand, Vancouver boasts easy access to all of the city's best shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Grand Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Grand Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing