We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed July 8, 2014

First time to Vancouver, no real knowledge of area and picked this hotel becaused it accommodated my family of five. Slightly out dated decor and a small bathroom but still felt clean and comfortable. Having two TV's and a small kitchen a plus with kids. There was a grocery store very close. We bought items and carried them back. Tones of options for food just walking down Denman st. Very close, nice walk to Stanley Park. I have young kids and they didn't even notice the walk. I will defiantly stay here again. Cab ride from airport aprox $36, to Canada place $10. Only two times we used cab, was able to walk everywhere we needed from location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
1  Thank Cmalitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

What we loved: the location can't be beat. Easy walk to Stanley Park, dynamic street life right out the door, great restaurants everywhere you turn. The views were fantastic from our high-up floor, which made it very enjoyable to look out over English Bay and Stanley Park to the north shore mountains. Also, the service was just the way I like it ... quick and courteous when you need it, but not over done, like I've experienced at some other downtown hotels. The parkade had quite a few spaces that are actually large enough to park in easily with a large minivan (as well as some difficult ones).
What we didn't like: the hallways and lobby of the hotel look somewhat dated. Not run-down, but not fresh, either. (The interior of our room, however, was very nicely renovated). The pool is in the basement, so it works fine for kids, but not a great place for adults to lounge.
Overall, we will definitely stay at this hotel again when we visit Vancouver. We have stayed there five or six times, and have tried at least 5 other downtown hotels. None come close to this combination of value for the money with a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JRM_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I booked this hotel on Hotwire because it was the only d/t hotel that was pet friendly and $100. Great value for location. Room was spacious and kitchenette was useful. My only complaint was that the view was just horrible from our 9th floor room , directly overlooking roof top air handling units which were super noisy. I figured this must be the Hotwire view because it looks like the upper floors have tremendous views.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowySunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

There is no other hotel like the Coast Plaza. Close to English Bay, Stanley Park and all the amenities. While the hotel is aging it still provides great value and service. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: King standard with kitchenette and a view of English bay make it a perfect stay.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank Loooeeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The Coast Plaza is not the best hotel from far. But it is an excellent choice! I guess we got what we paid for. For sure I would stay there more times. The only thing is the A/C. I am guessing they don't have a central A/C system and used a portable one. Far from be the best choice. It didn't work at all!

Thank Marcelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

It was the first time in Vancouver, didn't know much about where to stay, This Hotel's location is excellent, walking distance from English Bay, See Wall, Stanley Park, Coal Harbour, Robson Street. Restaurants all over the place, also convenient stores. Rooms are spacious (stayed in 2 bedrooms suite). Rooms are dated and need new carpet. The only thing it was far from the ferry to Victoria (it might cost from $70-$80 to get there).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Coast Plaza hotel has everything so person wants in a hotel. It is an older building which has been kept up. It is just steps from English Bay and a leisurely walk to Coal Harbour. A few more steps and you have arrived at the top park in Canada. Once there you can stroll and wander in the lush green haven.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room which opens on to Denman Street if you want to observe the night life on the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#45 of 92 in Vancouver
1,447 reviews
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
2,267 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 1763 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1P6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $139 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 35-story Hotel located downtown, near Stanley Park & English Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Suites
Coast Plaza Vancouver
Coast Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing