We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A lovely location”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a few days at the beginning of our vacation here. The hotel was clean and quiet, and a great location for walking in English Bay. The room had a fridge and a coffee maker which was very convenient. Lots of great restaurants in the area, we would definitely come back for another visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Spirit2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    518
    250
    107
    49
See reviews for
387
371
97
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

5 of us (3 kids under 8) stayed 4 nights - i for work and rest of the family holidayed. great location - walking distance to stanley park, easy transport to capilano bridge, grouse mountain and the city. perhaps i am a bit less discerning than others but i thought the room and the hotel were fine. a bit of a wait for elevators sometimes but not enough to ruin my day! reception and concierge service was good. laundry was good (with kids and this being only part of our overall trip we used the laundry.) i'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our family of six prior to an Alaska cruise. As others have mentioned, the staff is great, and the rooms are clean and functional. We had a room on the 24th floor which had two bedrooms, two balconies and a nice view. It had older kitchen appliances, but they were functional and clean. My brother & sister in law (also with a family of 6) had a two bedroom on the 34th floor which was much nicer with updated countertops, modern appliances, and an unobstructed view. This hotel is connected to a small downtown city mall with a full grocery store, liquor store, Burger King and more! The neighborhood is nice, the location is an easy walk to Stanley park, and the free shuttle to Capilano, as well as English Bay beach. I would stay here again. We did use the swimming pool and hot tub, which is indoor in the basement. It was clean, the kids loved it, but it is loud when you add a few frolicking kids!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The staff are great and it's about the only reason I'd return to this hotel. Otherwise, it was overpriced for a weekend staycation with a friend for the fireworks & pride parade. The rooms are extremely dated. We booked a room with 2 beds and at check-in were informed that they didn't have any rooms left with 2 beds, so we go a room with a bed and a sofa bed (which my friend described as "nothing like sleeping with a spring in your back"). We did get moved the next day to a room with two beds.
The bathroom has nice full-size bottles of body wash, shampoo and conditioner, which is great. However, there is no fan in the bathroom so it's like a steam room when you exit. The hair dryer leaves something to be desired - absolutely gutless. Bring your own!!!
The rooms have generous size balconies.
Overall, value was not worth what we got. Next year we'll be shopping around for a better hotel in the area.
Also, most hotels acknowledge if you are staying for a reason. I mentioned it when booking the hotel, and at check-in that we were there to celebrate my 40th birthday. Nadda, zip, zilch - not even an acknowledgement.
Overall, one of the poorest hotels I've stayed in within the last 5 years.

Room Tip: No idea what you have to do to get a room with a view for the fireworks. I booked weeks in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goosebump2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Good location for downtown
Vancouver but in serious need of modernization. Hotel lobby looks impressive but sadly that's where it ends. Elevators are slow and small. Only just enough room to get your baggage in. We stayed in 2011 which was an upgrade for some reason they didn't explain why but we didn't complain. Room wasn't small and had an westerly aspect and balcony that faced north. The room was really really dated. Smelly too. Carpet needed a good clean but realistically it all needs to be gutted and completely renovated to bring it up to the standard for which they are charging for. We also found noise travelling far too you could hear what people were doing next door and above too. The swimming pool in the basement was very old and tardy with scum lines around the edge. Hot tub was small but nice temperature. The pool felt very dark and dingy. The staff seemed
Friendly and eager to help. Overall it's just not worth the money due to the outdated rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear PeaGee:

Thank you for your review. Based on your review, we clearly did not meet your expectations. I am sorry for that. I am not aware of a room that is as you describe and would be grateful to discover which room you were in to prevent the same preventable disappointment for future guests. Can you please email me more information to b.rohl@coasthotels.com?

Sincerely,

Brian Rohl
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I would visit Vancouver again just for the overall experience. If it is for the hotel: no way... I don't think that I can make the same mistake again. The staff tries hard to please you, but it is obvious that they do not have enough resources there to do their job right. With the excuse of saving energy and recycling; the owners of the hotel are so stinchy. You will even find signs behind the bathroom doors telling you that you will be charge if you don't leave the used shampoo bottles there (which I find reasonable) but the bad thing is that you add that to the rest of things that you will encounter there: toilet tanks which chain is broken and you have to get your hand inside the old tank to manage with your "duties" and things like that. It took 2 day for them to fix it. The list is long. But I will not blame the employees.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noemi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Noemi N:

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. You mention that you have more items than indicated in the review. I would be interested in learning about these. Can you please email me at b.rohl@coasthotels.com.

Sincerely,

Brian Rohl
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location and views (we stayed on the 29th floor with a view of the Bay all the way around to Lions Gate bridge) were fantastic. The staff was very friendly and the room was huge. However, the room furnishings, decor and overall feel just needed an upgrade. It felt very 70's and rough around the edges. I will say that once we were walking around and/or looking out the windows I can't think of a better location than the West End.

Room Tip: Up high and ask for the west facing corner rooms. Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Frank M:

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that our décor did not meet your initial expectations, but was glad to see that our fantastic views and location, huge rooms and very friendly staff allowed you to determine that a better location could not be found. I look forward to being your host again soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Rohl
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
684 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,375 reviews
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites

Property: Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Address: 1763 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1P6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 35-story Hotel located downtown, near Stanley Park & English Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Suites
Coast Plaza Vancouver
Coast Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing