We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick trip to Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and since we knew we would not be spending much time in the hotel the location was the most important factor, and this hotel did not disappoint. The location was perfect, at night we got late night sushi and in the morning we walked to get coffee and went around English bay. Then a quick breakfast, walked back to the hotel and checked out. It was all very easy and close by. The staff were very friendly, the hotel is a bit dated but very clean. Our room had a full kitchen which was not that useful to us but if we had been staying longer would have been a great feature. For the price we paid this hotel was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear JoyB,
We are glad you found us to be in the right location and at the right price with right service. Happy to hear you were not dissappointed with our service. We hope to see you again on your perhaps a little longer next trip.

Sincerely,
Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Cosat Plaze Hotel and Suites. Our room was great - a one bedroom suite - two double beds in the bedrooom and a sofa bed in the livingroom. As there were 5 of us they offered right away to bring a cot if we would like that. That was great! There was lots of room for the cot in the livingroom. The kitchenette in the suite was so handy! We were on the 22nd floor with a fabulous view! It was so nice to pick up a few grocery items in the mall below the hotel. There were restaurants, shopping, English Bay and more all so close!!!All staff at Coast Plaze whom we encountered were friendly and courteous. It was so nice to experience! We highly recommend the Coast Plaza as the place to stay while in Vancouver! We will be back!!!

Room Tip: The suites are great for space and kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlaSok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear KarlaSok,
We are glad to hear you have deided to come stay with us on your return trip. We are glad you enjoyed the views and the amenities we offer. Thanks for recommending our hotel and staff and services.

Sincerely,

Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

First appearances can be deceptive- I have to say when we pulled up and saw the 1960s tower block to be our home for 4 nights the children were less than impressed. The building is not pretty. When we went to our room they were unimpressed with the floral curtains and wipe clean wallpaper ( they have just stayed in the new York palace so hardly in the same league!) . As the building is pretty tall at least you can find it easily on the way home!

However, this is a good family hotel. Suites are huge. Ours was on the 26th floor 2 bed suite and had views over English bay and down town. The higher up the better the view. The suite had a kitchen with dishwasher and huge fridge freezer. Any kitchen utensils that weren't included ( such as a cheese grater) were swiftly brought up by the staff. The beds were very comfortable. One child was on a cot bed in the living room as the options for beds was one king, one queen. He found it comfortable enough. The room was quiet and warm. Big and fluffy towels. Bathroom again a bit dated but was clean with toiletries.

Balconies were not pretty, no tables and chairs out there but good for the view. There was a laundry on the 26th floor.

We found a lovely garden area just up from the lobby on the last day. Ideal in the summer.

The pool- is in the basement and therefore a bit dark. The children went in a couple of times. It was 15m in length ish so ok for a swim.

Guests had access to a gym next door which we used each day. Again a bit dated but ok for free!

Running- I went running around the coastal route of Stanley park - 7/8 miles round route. Fantastic!

The complimentary cookies were enjoyed by the children greatly each evening and the evening bottled water and choccies were well received by us!

Wifi- bit iffy but great to have for free. Also free at lots of the local cafes

The staff- were helpful and knowledgable of the local area. Very friendly hotel.

The area- residential and felt safe. 0.1 mile from English bay with good restaurants but lots and lots of restaurants on denman street for breakfast meant we didn't eat in the hotel. Shame they don't make more of the top floor of the hotel as fabulous views- why not put the brasserie up here?? We would have def paid to eat up there. We ate at cactus club cafe and rain city grill- both v good. Spot cafe for breakfast.

Would we stay again- yes def as a family we would. Request a high floor room.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YummymummyCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear YummymummyC,

Thanks for your comments about our hotel. We are glad to read you had a nice stay despite apprehension about the looks and condition of the building. What we lack in shining new building we more than make up with our staff and service which keeps bringing guests back.
Size of rooms and views from rooms are like cherry on top. We can't wait to welcome you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was my first stay at this hotel and I must say I was impressed! Although it is an older hotel it is very well kept and clean. The location is the key as you are only a 3 block walk to English Bay and Stanley Park. Lots of great cafe's and restaurants on Denman St. The view from my 26th floor room was a stunning combination of the Bay, Stanley Park, Coal Harbour and the entire West End. I especially enjoyed the huge balcony which is hard to find in most hotels. A quick walk to Robson St. and all the shopping. All in all a very nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with balcony facing Stanley Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Larry F,

Thank you very much for comments on your first stay with us. We are glad you were able to enjoy the service and the amenities our location offers along with stunning views from our balconies. We would love to welcome you back on your next visit as well.

Sincerely,

Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have been enjoying our stays at the Coast at Stanley Park ,since our children were in university 20 years ago .
Whether a 1 or 2 bedroom suite ,we are able to relax with a magnificent view of the mountains and ships in English Bay .If we choose to eat in the is a food and wine store in the mall adjacent .
We can walk the seawall ... rent bikes ....take a ferry to Granville Island or enjoy a meal at one of the many local restaurants.
Many times ,the night we arrive ,we order dinner to the room and savor the sunset and the mountain vista . For us ,it doesn't get much better than this !!
Great staff .....oh yes .....cookies and milk delivered to your room each night ! mmmm

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindag567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear lindag567,
All of us here at Coast Plaza & Suites are thrilled to hear how we have become your go to place in Vancouver year after year. Thank you for such an endorsement. We hope to be your go to place for many more years to come. Continue enjoying milk and cookies while watching gorgeous sunsets from our room balcony.

Sincerely,

Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I book the Coast Plaza Hotel every year for the annual BOLDFest Conference - http://www.boldfest.com
Why? I'ts middle of the road prices, the conference facilities are more than adequate but mostly, because the staff are super!! Many have been there for years; its a family of workers who work well together, are so friendly and helpful to hotel guests and its alovely place. I like the fact that it is older, with charm. We have a lunch on the beautiful outside patio in early September. We party it up on the 35th floor with knock out views of the ocean and nearby mountains. We're in the midst of the vibrant West End, 4 blocks from the beach a few more to Stanley Park, and of course, the Gay Village on Davie Street. What more could you want???

Room Tip: Comfort room is fine. A double room suite allows for several people to share the cost with still amp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Patsy95,

What a delight to read your comments about our hotel and our staff. Obviously you have lots of fun here during your stay and conference. Thank you and we look forward to see you gain in September.

Sincerely,

Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I"ve stayed at the Coast Hotel several times and have never had a bad experience. The Dining room provides excellent service and food. The rooms are fabulous, and the front desk staff is most helpful. The location is downtown Vancouver - no car necessary. The pub which is attached to the hotel THe Comox has great entertainment and also offers great food.

Room Tip: You must get a room with a view, over looking the ocean, on the upper floors - it'll take your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannef116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear joannef116,

We accept your comments with great humility as the best hotel in downtown Vancouver. Thank you very much. We all take great pride in superior customer service that guests keep coming back. Our dining room and bar are the hidden gems with excellent food and drinks. Our staff is second to none. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#41 of 92 in Vancouver
720 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,659 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 1763 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $119 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 35-story Hotel located downtown, near Stanley Park & English Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Suites
Coast Plaza Vancouver
Coast Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing