We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old dated hotel in cost saving mode that gets away with uncomfortable beds and basic amenities because of its location in the We”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old dated hotel in cost saving mode that gets away with uncomfortable beds and basic amenities because of its location in the We”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location in the West End between Davie and Robson allowed us to easily access the sights such as Stanley Park, Robson square and Granville island using public bus transportion. So this is a good hotel if you don't care about comfort but only location. The beds were terribly uncomfortable with thin sheets and the most flat lifeless pillows ever. My boyfriend and I woke up with a neck ache. The room was spacious but the TV was quite small given it was all the way across the room. The heating system was old and hard to regulate so we were either freezing or sweating.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear travelingjava,

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us even though you acknowledged our location is fantastic. It was a surprising comment to read as all our bed sheets, pillows and beds are in good shape. We rarely get complaints on those items. If you can contact the undersigned with your room number, we will appreciate it. TV's are the general hotel size 37".

Sincerely,

Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    528
    258
    114
    52
See reviews for
405
382
99
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

WHO: My family of 4 (including two children,ages 9 and 5)
LENGTH/REASON FOR STAY: A one-night leisure getaway
COST: Hotwire deal (Accurately listed as a 3-star hotel) $66 base rate, plus $16 for tax, plus $25 for parking. It was an off-day in winter.

Value-wise, this rate seems like a steal. Thank you, Hotwire. If we had paid a $125 base rate (a price we saw quoted on the web), we might have said it was an "average" value.

Despite being Hotwire guests, we were not treated like second class citizens during check-in. After seeing our squirmy children, the desk clerk kindly booked us in a slightly larger room. All contact with hotel staff was pleasant.

The room was far more than we expected. It was a large suite that include a couch/sitting area and a slider to that leads to a large balcony. We were on the 19th floor with a very nice city view. The TV was a newer flat-screen on a swivel that allowed us to watch from any part of the room. The carpets, wallpaper and furniture seemed up-to-date, The windows and slider seemed brand-new. The beds were VERY comfortable. Wi-Fi was free and fast.

Our suite's bathroom was small and dated. The tub and toilet were 70's era salmon colored. However, one of the most important bathroom features, the shower-head, was modern and excellent.

This is an older hotel, and certain areas (bathrooms, hallways, locker-rooms for the pool area) are quite tired-looking and dated, and the elevators are a bit rickety; but none of these things really detracted from our stay. The basement pool helped us keep the kids entertained.

The location was excellent, a nice neighborhood close to Stanley Park. The hotel is next to Denman Street, which offers countless restaurant choices. A grocery story and a pharmacy can be found in the "mall", directly under the hotel. The $25 per-day parking fee is not outrageous by Vancouver standards. We had free in-and out privileges and were allowed to park there as late as 6pm on the day that we checked out.

We would certainly consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfselect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear gfselect,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are pleased that you had a nice and comfortable stay with your family at an incredible price. Due to our location and size of our rooms, we are quite popular with families. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very nice experience. Clean, convenient, & a good choice. I would stay again & recommend to others. The staff were friendly & competent which is very much appreciated. Excellent overall value. The only negative I could mention would be the excessive parking fee of $25 per night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear bcbuc,
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel and staff. We take great pride in our service and it is very gratifying to hear back from. We appreciate that very much. I am sorry you felt our parking prices were excessive. Let me assure you, if checked around downtown Vancouver, you will find our prices very competitive. We hope to see again in the near future.

Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I'll preface these comments with the fact I booked this hotel via Priceline.com. I got a steal of a deal for a 2-night stay. Priceline indicated this was a 3-star property. I've stayed in better motels that were 1-2 stars! The rooms are dated (at least the lower tier rooms), the mall is something out of a 70s movie (not sure why some folks are bragging about being attached to a mall), and the parking situation is horribly managed. The pros - convenient location to Stanley Park, walking distance to shopping on Robson, seemed like a decent area, and in the "mall" was a grocery store. The cons - room was dirty and dated, the parking garage charged me twice and 2 weeks later is still unresolved (was told by hotel to not leave parking receipt in car on dash - got a ticket!). We stayed at the Coastal Coal Harbor a year ago and it was fabulous. This property does not even compare. Look elsewhere - there are better options in Vancouver!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skorchkatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Skorchkatrina,
We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us due to our physical attributes. What's lacked in that area is more than made up by our staff and service. We take great pride in providing emphatic service and create memorable moments as you can judge by reading other comments on this site. We are sorry your parking situation was not resolved to your satisfaction. You can contact the undersigned and it will be looked after immediately.

Sincerely,
Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oromocto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Coastal Plaza for 1 week in May 2012. The room and decor was quite dated, but the size and kitchenette made up for that. Also, the beds were great; I had some of the best sleeps of my life. So much so, that I went out and purchased the same bed when I got home!

The location was great, walking distance to the beach, Stanley Park, Canada Place, great restaurants, shopping...my only disapointment was being so far from the Sky Train.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Melissita78,

Thanks for your belated comments on your stay in May2012. We are glad to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed all the amenities and services we offer. We are also pleased to hear you went out and bought the same bed we have in the room. We hope you are sleeping better than ever. We look forward to your return visit soon.

Sincerely,
Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Coast Plaza at Stanley Park many times and it feels like my second home away from home. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Love the location. Great hotel for being close to shopping, walking the seawall, checking out Stanley Park and lots of other things to do in the area.

Room Tip: higher rooms have great views of the city and the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear andrea w,

I am glad to hear that you had a great stay again. We love having you back again and again in your second home away from home. I sincerely appreciate your comments. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel though older has the best team. We stay there any time that we go to Vancouver and they treat us very well. They have really large suites and fantastic king beds. The front desk staff are amazing and always helpful as well as the parking attendants.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pradeep P, General Manager at Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Janette M,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel and services. Our staff is well known for welcoming guests with passion for service and dedication for excellence and I am pleased to hear you experienced it first hand.
We look forward to your return visit soon.
Sincerely,

Pradeep Puri
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,401 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
3,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites

Property: Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Address: 1763 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1P6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 35-story Hotel located downtown, near Stanley Park & English Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Suites
Coast Plaza Vancouver
Coast Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing