We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We recently spent one night at the Coast Plaza Hotel as we were participating in a half marathon that weekend. We booked pretty last minute (maybe a week before) and ended up paying about $250 including tax. In my opinion this price was high considering the age and condition of the building and amenities. But during the summer in Vancouver rates everywhere are high. The building appears to be a converted apartment building so the rooms are actually quite large and have a kitchenette and ample balcony space(though there are no chairs on the balcony). The finishings were older and could definitely use an update, but the room was clean which is more important to me. The staff were helpful and provided us with additional towels, and we were even able to checkin a few hours early which was a huge bonus after our run. Cabs were available outside the front lobby most times, and if not the staff quickly called one for us. There is an air conditioning unit in the corner of the room which is pretty noisy. Our room was on the 11th floor and to get ice we had to make our way to the 21st floor. While many people seemed impressed with the location, we found it to be a bit far removed from the downtown core and situated in a residential neighbourhood. Though the walk probably wouldnt take long, we ended up cabbing into town a couple times (each trip was about $10). For tourists it is only a few blocks from Stanley Park and the Seawall which is convenient. All in all, though this would definitely not be our first choice to stay at again, this is a decent budget option in an expensive city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhejjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,089 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the long August weekend to take in all the festivities. Very central location. Parked and walked everywhere. The one bedroom suite was perfect - loved having a full kitchen. All the staff were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to you. CJ and MJ

Room Tip: Book early and get a view of the Beach!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjcopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The most comfortable way to enjoy the Fireworks is to get a room at the Coast Plaza and then walk down to the beach and enjoy the show. This way there's no need to worry about travel time getting home - it's just a short walk to a comfortable bed and a good night's sleep. And with the reasonable check out time in the morning we enjoyed a walk on the sea wall and a great breakfast before having to head home. The Coast Plaza is great for a Mini Vacation in Vancouver.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

It was meant to be just a family get together - but the Symphony of Lights and Gay Pride parade made it a Very entertaining weekend and we had an excellent view of both - thanks to the helpful staff at the hotel.

Room Tip: we were on the 32nd floor - Denman side - great views of course - elevators were surprisingly fast.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanMCQWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I like going to this hotel when I travel on business to Vancouver. The location is superb: 2 min walk from the Seal wall, great neighborough for restaurants. The hotel is attached to a shopping mall that has a Food Basics and the Denman fitness center (old gym but all is there). The service is courteous and helpful. Once, the fridge in my room did not work properly and I lost all my food. Without asking questions, the hotel refunded my food bill. It was greatly appreciated!

The only thing with this hotel is that you do not go there for the luxurious, modern rooms!! The furtniture is old and let's say it, ugly. The wall paper needs to be replaced. All very circa 1980s. There is no central A/C. But it is clean (not sparkling but it does the work). In all the rooms I occupeid, there was a balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel was probably really impressive back in the 1980's but it seems they haven't changed much since!! Wallpaper, carpets, furniture are outdated, kitchen appliances and furnishing are old and worn. The beds have been replaced and were very comfortable. And our room was very quiet. Can't beat the location - walk to the beach, Stanley Park, along the seawall, to Robson Street etc. I know it's downtown Vancouver, but given the price we paid and the hotel website/photos we expected more. Unfortunately finding a hotel for the weekend we were there was tough so we paid a premium. If you can get a decent rate then I would suggest staying here but shop around first and book early.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keynotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and since there was so much to see in Vancouver area we didn't spent much time in the hotel except to rest. The hotel was very close to Stanley Park and there were bike rentals just around the corner on Denman street. The room was comfortable and reasonably clean, and ours had a balcony and had a side view of the ocean. The bed was OK, and the coffee provided was pretty good. Parking overnight is $25 per night - thought it was a little on the high side -- guess that reflects Vancouver being a rather expensive city to live in. Given the price we got from Expedia I thought this was a decent hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Straits V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#45 of 92 in Vancouver
1,446 reviews
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
2,265 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 1763 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1P6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $140 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 35-story Hotel located downtown, near Stanley Park & English Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Suites
Coast Plaza Vancouver
Coast Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing