We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I just recently stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. This hotel is close to many amenities, very friendly staff, great food & very quiet.
One night we walked to sea bus and took a great ride over to Granville Island to eat dinner, the other nights we wandered around until we found any ethnic food we wanted, we also had dessert at a fabulous little bakery. ALL WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE !!
The hotel is very clean, very quiet and the pool and hot tub were fabulous.
I will be back with my family next time !!

Room Tip: We were on 12th floor with view of ocean....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good value. In a fab.location.
The west-end is a vibrant neighbourhood close to all the highlights of Vancouver. Short walk to Robson shopping and the city but close to the beach and cafes .
I love having a small kitchen when I am in the city.....chill the wine , keep left-overs from great local eateries ,store fruit and yoghurt for an early breakfast.
The decor is dated and the wallpaper was starting to peel in a few corners .....definately need new linens and duvets ....that would help. But for the price and location ....it is a good home away from home.
The pub was packed on thurs.eve ....30% off & a hockey game! Average pub fare.
Always come home to the friendly staff at Coast plaza.
We did miss feeding the squirrels at the front door!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serene-goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

An old apartment complex turned into a hotel. Great location and adequate accomodations. I was put off by the continental breakfast which consisted of obvious previously frozen miniature sized pastries. I was expecting more for the price. The staff were very professional and friendly and did their best to make me feel welcome. I would recommend it for its location above all, just don't expect anything fancy.

Room Tip: Use the kitchenettes to make your own food, or eat out. The hotel food is nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthVancouverBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed on the 30th floor overlooking the beautiful City of Vancouver. The view was fabulous and ALL the staff were incredibley helpful, courteous and knowledgable about the neighbouring restaurants. The hotel room and lobby need to be revitalized as the hotel is older and the furniture is dated. The pool and gym were fine. We ordered room service once and the food was delicious! We appreciated the free shuttle service downtown. For the staff, price and proximity to Stanley Park, the hotel is average to very good.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces Stanley Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandiceWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife and I spent three very comfortable nights in this hotel. It compared extremely well with the other 4 star hotels we had stayed in in Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Banff and Jasper.

Very handy location for the incomparable Stanley Park and for Denman and Davie Streets, Sunset Beach, West End and English Bay, but somewhat out of the way from the city centre,Waterfont and Gastown. Nevertheless, city transport is great and nowhere seems too distant on foot. A great variety of eateries within a stonesthrow of the hotel.

The large lobby was manned by friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff, the banks of lifts kept waiting time to a minimum and the rooms on the 18th floor were spacious, clean, comfortable and well appointed - apart from a lack of overhead lighting, which made reading difficult.

The swimming pool was larger than many - some 18 x 14 metres & reasonably warm, the whirlpool and saunas were good. TVs in the bedrooms were large & modern, writing desks & armchairs were functional, hanging space was generous.

We enjoyed tasty meals in the restaurant and the brasserie. Good steaks and fish & chips. Friendly & efficient service and reasonable prices for wines & beers.

My only complaints were that the top floor proved inaccessible and, as with all the other Canadian hotels we stayed in, the pillows were too large & the loo paper too thin!

Room Tip: North & east facing room were quietly located, south-facing had the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We recently stayed here for one week and it was great. We selected a King suite with a kitchen as we wanted to have breakfast there. The room was a great size with a wonderful view. It was a little tired and could use with some updating especially in the kitchen and bathroom. The room was very quiet and had a big balcony. The location made it perfect. Close to stores and restaurants as well as Stanley Park. The bed was very comfortable as well. The staff were all very polite and efficient. Would stay here again if in Vancouver even though it is not a fancy hotel but had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tstsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have stayed at the Coast Plaza many times over the years. We always enjoy our stay and this trip was no exception. This hotel meets all of our requirements: clean, great location, value, and it has great staff too.

English Bay and the seawall are practically just outside the door and Stanley Park is Just minutes away, as are Coal Harbour and False Creek (Granville Island). Easy public transportation on Denman makes it easy to get anywhere in the city. There are MANY restaraunts on Denman covering a broad range of cuisines. If one is looking for a relaxing stay with easy access to fabulous walking and views and food, I can't think of a better location.

Our 22nd floor room had a view of English Bay. A grocery store in the complex at street level is convenient to get fruit and other staples.The kitchenette with a fride is very useful on a longer stay.

My only negative comment is that, in our room, Wi-Fi was very slow.

We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors (above 15) on the south and west have views of English Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johann806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 1763 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#48 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $98 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 35-story Hotel located downtown, near Stanley Park & English Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Suites
Coast Plaza Vancouver
Coast Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing