We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected medical emergency.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Unexpected medical emergency.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I cannot say enough on how helpful the staff especially Front desk personal Sam in particular we to us during an medical emergency for a a good friend of mine. We needed up unexpectedly in Vancouver with a family member in ICU at St. Paul's. with no hotel bookings and it being summer time it was a difficult task to find rooms at an affordable price. Sam was very understanding and worked with us on a nearly day to day basis to book our room and eventually another one for family members. They have no idea how helpful it was to know we had a clean safe comfortable place to go during our down time from the hospital. Not have to pack every few days and move from one place or room to another was greatly appreciated. We will back for our next stay for sure. Hopefully to enjoy Vancouver under happier circumstances. Though the hotel was older it was clean, the staff great, the clientele quiet and of course the street noise was there but tolerable. Love the hotel small unique and Greta location for our needs and future ones while visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    377
    153
    36
    20
See reviews for
269
228
93
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
254 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had the fortune of staying at this hotel for a few nights and THOROUGHLY enjoyed the experience! I came across the hotel via a search engine. I live in Tacoma, now, and decided to swing up to Vancouver to check things out. Upon arriving, I was pleasantly greeted and quickly checked-in. My room had a BEAUTIFUL view of the bay and mountains in the distance. I chose to stay at this hotel for a couple of reasons. First, I was looking for a hotel with rooms fully equipped with kitchens, as I am on a strict diet. Secondly, The location was very fitting and accessible to all the sites. And, lastly, the price was QUITE affordable considering the previous two criteria. I will DEFINITELY be visiting Vancouver, again, and The Riviera Hotel will be my first choice!

Room Tip: When booking your room, specify whether you would prefer a city view or water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thurman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great price, great location, secure parking. Room was clean and neat but quite dated. Towels were thin and few in number. The mattress was old school with wire coils that could be felt easily. The walls and floors are thin so bring earplugs. The street noise and people upstairs were easily heard.
If you are just staying a night I'd go for it. For anything longer, keep shopping!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flatlandermanitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was expecting a bit of luxury at this boutique hotel in downtown Vancouver and was disappointed. I really appreciated having a separate bedroom but that was the only room with air conditioning, so my friend had to leave the balcony door open and use the supplied fan (a really good one though) to keep the living room with sofa bed cool. In downtown Vancouver on a Friday and Saturday night that translates into noise. More than I experienced in the bedroom with the a/c on. Minimal supplies, terrible coffee, small economy motel like towels, an empty hotel information folder, a bathroom door that needed to be lifted up before it closed (the screws were stripped), a lumpy sofa bed with only one extra pillow supplied for the second guest (but I had 4 so shared). The good things: free wifi, immediate response to problems with the cable vision (cable company equipment problem), extra coffee supplied by the friendly front desk staff, free parking (not usually available in the summer but I had booked three months in advance so it was honored). Location was GREAT... Vancouver has hills and this hotel was situated to avoid most of them when walking to the waterfront and Convention Center. Kitchen well enough supplied if one wanted to stay and a grocery store is only a block or two away.

Room Tip: Ask for the back room, on the water.north side. The harbor airplanes are a bit noisy but the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmist454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

While Hotel Riviera is centrally located and close to public transportation, this "boutique" hotel leaves much to be desired. Our room which consisted of two queen sized beds plus a kitchen contained furnishings from (what I can only describe as ) the former Soviet Bloc of the early 1950s. One bed was essentially unusable in that it would creak each time someone turned over. The window a.c.unit also began making banging noises on our second of two nights there. Each furniture surface plus the basin and counter in the bathroom were covered with tacky contact paper. The bath towels were both small and scratchy. Rooms in the front of the hotel look out onto busy Robson street; the noise abates around midnight.

But parking was free!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southwest0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel location near whole foods and numerous restaurants, the superb view out the 10th floor towards Stanley park, the fantastic service from Sam, Carlos and Darrel in regards to restaurants, bus lines, early cruise ship boarding, what else could we ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bfhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel was okay but did not meet my expectations. I had originally asked for a view room (option sof city mountain or lake views) which is level 5 and higher. We got stuck with a level 2 room with the balcony staring at a brick wall. I did not complain or ask to change rooms as we had been travelling a very long time and i was exhausted. On their website it also advertises free parking, however we had to pay $15 a day for a car park - false advertising. Apart from that the rooms were fine, with a well equipped kitchen and clean bed / bathrooms. Was in a good location close to lots of things in the city. Recommended if you arent interested in the beautiful views that Vancouver has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Greenbrier Hotel
Greenbrier Hotel
#71 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#25 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver

Property: Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Address: 1431 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#49 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location :-Centrally Located to in Downtown Vancouver IE 800 m from Stanley Park in Vancouver's West End,1.2 KM to Convention Center.English Bay Beach is 10 minutes' walk away. Burrard SkyTrain Station is 1 km from Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver.(RORSH) Free Wi-Fi is included. The spacious units at RORSH provide Harbour or Robson Street views. This hotel features Apartments/suites/Condo Furnished balconies,Living Room, dinning Area and Full Kitchens Loaded with Pots,Pans,Cutlery and etc .. Desks and cable TV,coffee makers and ironing facilities. A launderette is offered at Downtown Vancouver RORSH For guests convenience, the hotel offers complimentary umbrellas, a 24-hour front desk and a non-smoking environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing