We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We were staying at another hotel just down the street and having a lousy time. Eating at O'Doul's one night, the wait staff suggested we move to the Listel and could get us the same rate. I went and looked at the rooms they had available, and moved the next day. Saved our holiday big time. I was truly impressed with all the staff from the front desk to the restaurant were we eat on numerous occasions. They truly treat you like family. We also got a welcome gift on arrive, and were called by name each time we came in or went out. As for the art work, my husband is an artist and we loved the paintings. The wine reception was also wonderful.

Great place, great staff, will stay there again!! Thanks, guys!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer31250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    772
    180
    55
    22
See reviews for
347
870
124
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Stayed two nights recently and had a nice time. Everyone at the Hotel was polite and attentive. The car valets were also very helpful and cheerful. We had lunch at the restaurant which was also pretty good. A little pricey but, good.

Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Parking is $26.00 a night if you're driving there. Hotel room was spacious and clean. We were on the second floor on the back side of the hotel so we had to listen to the trash trucks doing the rounds early in the morning. Other than that, it was still quiet. I guess the cheapest rooms are on the lower floors. Overall, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterlc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed during/for the Vancouver 2010 Olympics! Man oh man what an experience.. One hell of an experience not to forget! I was nearly depressed to come Back home to Toronto! I loved the city, the culture, some of the unique restaurants & the very fine west coast chilaxed laid back Vancouver People & Atmosphere to make it an overall great experience! But Than again maybe it was like this more so like this for some aspects because it was during Olympics! This was by the way our first leg of hotel stays on this trip & one of the better ones too!

Now onto THE HOTEL! :)

Upon arriving the concierge/valet was extremely friendly, warm & helpful! Made me & friends feel like we were a somebody. :)

Pretty decent location for the most part! Not really far from anything. Nice n' cozy low key quiet boutique like hotel! Very clean hotel & rooms too!
Rooms seem quite well designed..at least ours was! I loved the chaize lounge cozy comfy full length couch by the window where you can chill lay back with
couple people. Also rarely do u have hotel rooms these days where windows can be opened. The top window opens allowing nice fresh air into the room.

Unfortunately did not get to experience their restaurant...

I understand the hotel is trying to go GREEN & I guess to cut costs but I still prefer personally branded mini bottled Shampoo &conditioner over dispensers which I've never seen before...but I guess it was still pretty cool & the quality was good.

Our room was facing the rear of the hotel which very much reminded me of Europe/middle east particularly Istanbul, Turkey which I really liked...It probably felt this way due to the apt. design setup w/ the small groundfloor basic parking lot & narrow street etc looking out the window.

What I really appreciated & quite surprised to find was the welcome package (red wine w/ a O'douls Wine/Bottle Opener), Exquisitely delicious Premium ARTSY box o' Chocolates, & a welcome letter that was sitting on the coffee table. It really made me feel "special & welcome".

Concierge very friendly professional & never made you feel it was all about "the tip" !

I could see the caliber class of hotel I was dealing with as soon as I booked as well as when I had to call the hotel to to discuss a few things. Very professional, friendly, Courteous Staff who seem to really care about your stay/experience.

I would definately stay at the Listel again!

P.S I forgot to mention that upon my request,to have as a souvenir, the hotel sent me a complimentary wine/bottle opener by mail

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank to335i1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Once again, the Listel has amazed me with it's geniune service, extraordinary housekeeping and fantastic dining.
As someone who also works in the hotel industry, it's easy for me to "nit pick" any flaws, but I must say it was very hard to do so!
The front desk agents and valet drivers were all so positive, friendly and shown a general interest in where I was even from.
Housekeeping was prompt and any special requests I had for the room (more body wash, shower cap etc), they attended to.
The dining room was unbelievable. Even though I went in by myself, the bartender was very personable and kept me company. Not to mention the food was to die for. Accompanied by live jazz as well!

Overall my stay was a 10/10. I truely mean that too.. I would never recommend a hotel to anyone if I didn't honestly think they should go there.

My only "complaint" is that the air vent was a bit rattly, but I just turned it off anyways - didnt need it when I had a balcony! :)
Also, if anyone else were to bicker about that, can they honestly say their vents at home don't make noise too?

Keep up the phenomenal work!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank branmuffin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We've stayed at the Listel three times over the past few years and enjoyed each stay. The staff is outstanding, and the food in their restaurant is excellent. Plenty of art to enjoy in the lobby and the hallways. We easily walked to shopping, museums, parks, and restaurants. The rooms are not fancy but the beds are comfortable and there was space in the room to set up a card table and chairs when we wanted to play cards. And the staff asked us who won each morning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family for fun leisure time. Booked through a major online retailer and they noted that at check-in. We ended up with a room facing the back alley and parking lot. The windows are NOT double insulated and you can hear every car and truck rumbling down the alley. We could overlook that, but could not overlook the art work that we had to confront every day getting on/off the elevator and in the lobby.

We understood that the Listel proudly displayed art work from different sources, but we are here on VACATION and were confronted with huge pictures of chained, abused monkeys and hyenas in Africa (amongst other animals and people) and pictures fairy tales'heros' in various states of social or medical angst; think Rapunzel with a bald head staring at her hair in her lap, sitting on a hospital bed with the chemotherapy dripping into her. One of many pictures in the hall and lobby.

This is hospitality? This is a relaxing place to come with your family? It was a total downer after coming back from great experiences to confront this day after day after day.
Please Listel, I can deal with push button vats of shampoo and body wash (thank god i brought my own though), and telling the staff for three solid days that there were FOUR of us in the room (more towels, cups, glasses-again-please), but ditch the depressing art work for something more fitting for a HOTEL, with TRAVELERS, and offer something SOOTHING, and less confrontational. Even on business travel, the last thing you need to stare at in the evening is a manacled chimp staring back at you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2010

My fiance and I booked a trip to The Listel Hotel over Easter weekend. We drove up from Seattle and arrived about 4 hours before check in time. The front desk let us check in 4 hours early. They have valet parking which works out well since the hotel is right downtown where parking prices are ridiculous. The hotel room was nice. It wasn't the most modern hotel room but for location and the cleanliness of the hotel made it a very comfortable stay. The hotel staff was friendly, free internet service and free long distance calls to the US for up to 3 hours a day. We booked a Gallery Floor room and were very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahpalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Property: The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Address: 1300 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Listel Hotel, Vancouver is located on city's most vibrant shopping and dining street. It is also known as "Vancouver's most art-full" and eco-friendly hotel. The property features original and limited artwork throughout the 129 guest rooms and public areas. It also boasts two award-winning and popular restaurants - Forage and Timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Listel Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Listel Vancouver Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing