We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #24 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very quaint hotel”
Reviewed June 24, 2006

As a business traveler, I'm in hotels every week (usually the typical chains). I took a chance on this one since the other hotels were booked and I was pleasantly surprised. The service was outstanding, the room had been refurbished, it was well-appointed and clean (Aveda hair products in the bathroom - top of the line!), and I enjoyed the jazz in the lounge each night. Its location is top-notch, right in the heart of the city surrounded by great shopping and restaurants. A Starbucks directly across the street for the junkies out there! It was also priced right. I don't usually give positive reviews like this, but I made a point of telling the manager how pleased I was. It was a comfortable stay, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Letty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    787
    184
    55
    22
See reviews for
357
889
125
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2006

Just stayed there last week. First it is a very good location right on Robson street. So if you like to shop, then it's very good. The staff was friendly and attentive and a great resource for local picks to eat/drink. The restaurant was nice as well and had jazz from 9-12pm each evening. The room was nice and comfortable and will definitely go back when in Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 21, 2006

I stayed at the Listel last october with my boyfriend on a 3 week holiday across canada.
We stayed at the Listel for 6 nights and both loved it. The location was perfect,right on Robson Street and easy walking distance from everywhere. The staff were very helpful in giving us directions etc.
The only down side was the size of the bathroom, it was tiny. Other than that we had a large room with 2 double beds and everything else we needed.
I would recommend the Hotel to anyone looking for a centrally located Hotel in Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2006

My wife and I stayed 4 nights late April. Great location. If you are there as a tourist, don't even THINK of staying "downtown", unless you like deserted streets at night with plenty of homeless and drug addicts to keep you company. Very San Francisco like in that respect.
The hotel staff was fine, as was the housekeeping. I like strong, hot showers...something not to be had at this hotel. If they had bathrooms with showers on commercial aircraft, this is probably be what they would be like.
This was our first time in Vancouver. We enjoyed our stay, and liked the ambience of this hotel. If you don't want to stay in a place where you are the only one not on a package cruise trip, this might be the place.
If you are in your 20s, stay in Yorktown. If not, and you are an independent traveler, this is a fine choice.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2006

Booked two rooms for three nights. One "museum" room, one "gallery" room. The deficiencies of the cheaper "museum" room are all made up for in the "gallery" rooms. The problems with the museum room include: 25 watt bulbs, no luggage racks, skimpy closet and drawer space, rickety desk chair, "cadet" sized tub, very little space for toiletries.

The gallery rooms address all of these issues and are more richly appointed: better artwork, interesting ceiling moldings, etc. That being said, both room styles have comfy beds and are quiet. Neither room had a loud night, from Friday-Monday. No free Internet access, either wired or wireless. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would love to stay again, but I'd pick a Gallery room.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank boberonicus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
283 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2006

Just returned from the Listel Hotel. Reservations were made directly through the web site - easy. We had initially asked for an early check in but when our ship was delayed coming into Vancouver we called and the customer service was great. Check in was a breeze - offered assitance with the luggage (contrary to others). The hotel lobby is very sleek modern type feel. The location is great - I would say near the "end" of Robson street - still within the "hip" area and conveniently located within walking distance of many shops, restaurants, clubs, etc. Check out Stanley Park (also within walking distance).
The initial impression of the hotel was good - nice lobby, though small. The room we had was on the 6th floor and frankly not very "picturesque" since we faced the alley way. However, the room was very quiet and clean. The bed was comfy and the linens nice - higher thread count. The furnishings were nice - though the room a bit on the small side. There is a nice "wall of window" looking out which gave the room plently of light. The bathroom was the biggest disappointment as it was small (toilet/tub/shower in one small room) - the water pressure was non existent! There is a coffee pot in the room which is nice and a large closet (sliding glass door).
Overall, the service was good - accomdated us no problem with a late check - in and called a taxi for us. The location is great - good Korean and Japanese Resturants right across the street and a Starbucks on the corner. We stayed in the Musuem Room - and paid a bit more and frankly not sure if it was worth it. There is a bar/resaurant connect - ok but not very lively when we were there.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SDSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2006

We got a good deal on the Listel from Expedia, but if we paid the full price, it would have been one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. The hotel was in a great location, but when the limo pulled up nobody came out to help us with our bags. Check in was also a problem. Since we booked with Expedia, we were not told that we had to have a credit card to book into the room. We offered a large cash deposit with our passports, but the hotel did not accept it. The only reason we got was because "it was hotel policy". At every other hotel we have stayed at, they have accepted a cash deposit in lieu of a credit card. We had to have an authorization from someone else faxed to us. If we didn't already pay for the hotle, we definatly would have gone somewhere else at this time.

The room itself was alright, although we had to take our bags up there ourself. However, you have to insert the keycard in the elevator before you can choose a floor. The front desk staff did not make us aware of this, another guest at the hotel did. It was not a boutique hotel as advertised.

The only good thing about this hotel was the location. It was close to good shopping and restaurants. However, there are other hotels in the area, hopefully with friendlier staff.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sar_979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, May 16, 2006
Thanks for your comments, and the opportunity to improve!

I apologize if the staff were not as proactive as they ought to have been, we did have some fairly new individuals working with us at that time; additional training has been conducted, specifically because of comments received online and through our guest comment forms, and I believe that that issue has been resolved.

With regards to our policy of requiring a credit card at check-in; what can I say... we do require a credit card at check-in! It's stated on our website, Expedia's website and any other that we're involved with, its a fairly standard policy at most hotels or outlets that provide rentals of any kind.

Thanks again for your comments,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,481 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 90 in Vancouver
2,463 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Property: The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Address: 1300 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Listel Hotel, Vancouver is located on city's most vibrant shopping and dining street. It is also known as "Vancouver's most art-full" and eco-friendly hotel. The property features original and limited artwork throughout the 129 guest rooms and public areas. It also boasts two award-winning and popular restaurants - Forage and Timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Listel Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Listel Vancouver Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing