We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snotty staff, basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Snotty staff, basic hotel”
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Had a very mediocre 3 night stay at the Listel in November 2008. Front desk staff, with the exception of one person working the graveyard on a Saturday were rude, making snotty comments about guests within earshot of other guests. Although Housekeeping was polite and seemed a bit overworked, they disturbed our room despite the do not disturb sign.

The rooms were basic, despite the pretense on the website of being a boutique hotel with aboriginal art in every room. One framed print in the room does not make for a unique aboriginal art experience. Beds were insanely uncomfortable and the washroom was incredibly cramped The jacuzzi was not operational during the stay.

The only good thing I have to say about the hotel is the location is close enough to the central downtown core for the average tourist. If you're looking for a comfortable room with friendly staff, go elsewhere.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank game_misconduct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    802
    186
    55
    22
See reviews for
367
901
127
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Listel Hotel twice during our recent trip to Canada. The first time we stayed was for 4 nights and we had booked a room on the Gallery Floor. The room was equivelant to a very good 3 star room with all the amenities you would expect. The only thing I could complain about is the lack of safes in the rooms. Although they do provide a service at reception where you can access your own safety deposit box. This seems perfectly safe as only staff have access but it is a bit inconvenient.

The hotel has a lovely bar and restaurant and is decorated to a high stadard throughout. However the best thing about the hotel is the location. It is a 20 minute walk from Stanley Park, 15 minutes from Canada Place and right on Robson Street (the main street in town). There are some great restaurants within 5 minutes walk and we found the area to be very safe at night. However, the views from the rear of the hotel do overlook some rather run down high rise appartment blocks. Dont be put off by this.

We returned for 1 more night after spending some time in Whistler and Victoria before leaving for Toronto and the hotel kindly accomodated our request for the same room, despite only booking a standard room.

We found all of the staff to be pleasant and some very pleasant.
Free internet access in reception is also a nice touch.

We definately recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No safety deposit boxes in room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geordie_Paddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Great location, nice room, friendly staff. Will stay there again.

  • Liked — Cool art!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeboneAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, ab
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Upon check-out I discovered I was being charged $200.00 for smoking in my room! Although I had not smoked in the room and all the front desk staff admitted they had seen me going in and out to smoke, they would not reverse the charges. I had 3 different staff members come to the room and all admitted that there was absolutely no evidence of smoking in the room, they would not reverse the charge. They said they had to spray the room the day before and for that there was a 200.00 fee. No-one approached me about it at the time...they waited until I was checking out to inform me of the charges..had they informed me the day of the so called infraction...I would have gone to another hotel, they chose to wait until I was checking out and had no time to make an issue of the matter, and because I cannot prove what I did not do, I have absolutely no recourse. Be careful!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roryCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

It's a pleasant enough, if an expensive hotel. but they tried to charge > $7/day additional for "facilities charge" - not mentioned on web site or at check in, only on a paper note hidden in the key-card envelope. Also another $3/day for "destination marketing fee". in other words the room rate they quote you is increased WITHOUT YOUR AGREEMENT, by $10/day - so you need to get their agreement to waive these fees ahead of time, otherwise you will be informed they are MANDATORY.
Turns out "facilities charge" is for unlimited LD calls in Canada (we don't know anyone in Canada), 20 pages of fax/day (haven't sent a fax in years!) and unlimited internet (didn't have a computer with me).
Parking is an extra $24/day, you can't self park.
Breakfast in the room is $18, plus $2.5 delivery charge, plus GST, tip NOT INCLUDED (their Capitals) - so breakfast for 2 in the room runs $50.
The tea left in the room is undrinkable Nestea Orange Pekoe, so take your own tea bags!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cheating on room rates
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbNevadaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimMockford, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, September 30, 2008
All fees and prices are listed on the hotel's website and on any other sites that the hotel has the ability to affect. When confirming a room on the hotel's site the exact amount of money per night charged including the room rate and any taxes or fees is shown prior to the booking's completion, this amount is then restated in the confirmation sent to each guest. A card is inserted into the key envelope at check-in reminding guests that they will not pay additional for Long Distance calls to Canada or the USA, faxing worldwide, Internet use (wired or wireless) or photocopying... We specifically went with this system to eliminate "hidden costs" and it works well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We checked in very late with no problem. They were helpful and friendly which was especially nice when we were tired and needed rest! The Listel is attractive and funky with art suprising you around every corner. Even the luggage cart was sculpted metal.

Price was high, but maybe not compared to other hotels in the area. There wasn't much there that wasn't expensive.

Our room was great - comfortable, clean, terrific view, and a "balcony" big enough for a party!! We loved it. It was also in an ideal location to grab food at midnight when we arrived and again in the morning before we had to take off.

By the way, we were leaving for a cruise and one of the staff took it up on himself to confirm our boarding pier without us even asking him to. It was extremely thoughtful and a big help to us!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supertramping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamanna
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We have stayed twice at the Listel Hotel on Robson St. and will stay there every time we go to Vancouver. It's lovely, has great art, a wonderful staff, nice sized rooms with great amenities and a good restaurant bar. The prices are very reasonable for the locale.
We've recommended the Listel to friends who've come back raving about the place.
It's wonderfully located for biking and walking around Stanley Park, the restaurants nearby are diverse and the shopping is, of course, quite good.
Love the Listel!

Helpful?
Thank mamanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,519 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,508 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Property: The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Address: 1300 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Listel Hotel, Vancouver is located on city's most vibrant shopping and dining street. It is also known as "Vancouver's most art-full" and eco-friendly hotel. The property features original and limited artwork throughout the 129 guest rooms and public areas. It also boasts two award-winning and popular restaurants - Forage and Timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Listel Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Listel Vancouver Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing