We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and Affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Everything works! Close to all city sites and restaurants. Terrific staff. Very comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the french press coffee service in the morning -- a great touch. Forage is fabulous and the price is right for this type of restaurant. Very fresh ingredients.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    759
    179
    53
    21
See reviews for
340
855
122
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
157 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

What amazed me about this hotel was how helpful and courteous the staff was. Anything I wanted, they jumped to get it. The hotel itself is delightful. It's a like-new property filled with objects of Canadian art. The location is just plain fun: a street lined with shops and restaurants, teeming with busy, thriving young people speaking many languages, I presented a seminar in the hotel and was extremely pleased with the banquets people--always attentive, on top of my every need, totally professional. I look forward to working and staying in this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djess55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you appreciate original art and food, this is Vancouver's gem. Situated on Robson Street close to shopping and Stanley Park, this boutique style hotel has recently opened 'Forage' restaurant featuring a delicious sustainable menu. Chef Wittaker has created an interesting menu using local, fresh ingredients. Remember to request french pressed organic coffee and paper delivered to your room. An artful hotel at an affordable price - a rare find.

Room Tip: Request rooms with upgraded bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I love staying at the Listel when I am in Vancouver. Faces light up when they recognize you, and I feel like I'm coming home. Its small and intimate, and I always feel welcomed. Staff go out of their way to be helpful, and are just naturally friendly. I love all the quirky artwork, and look forward to seeing what's new if I haven't been for a while. Great location close to shops and restaurants - but at the quiet end of downtown so also comfortable to walk around, and not too noisy. Location also made my commute back to Horseshoe Bay ferry terminal much easier than having to cross town in busy traffic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are a little dark, but location is really REALLY awesome for me. Seconds walk from everything and it is a really great little set up and i would stay again when the price is right and if im here for leasure! One big improvement needed is the wifi. Ive stayed here 3 times and every single time the wifi really sucks in the room. I dunno why it doesnt get improved since ive heard so many complaints about it at the front desk from other customers too!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avidtravellerbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday weekend, which coincided with the Dine Out Vancouver Festival. The hotel had a special rate through Tourism Vancouver which added to the value.
I upgraded to a museum room on the 6th (top) floor. The room was clean, relatively spacious studio-style room with a king bed. Well appointed with some First Nations artwork. The room was surprisingly quiet considering it overlooked busy Robson Street.
Great, central location in the middle of the shopping district so it was quite easy to get around on foot. Front desk staff and housekeeping were courteous and efficient. The only downside would be the overpriced parking (valet only), but that may just be the price of parking in downtown Vancouver, and the valet did leave a gift of delicous cookies on my dash :)
Overall, a nice, clean and comfortable boutique hotel that provides great value in a central location. There are nicer hotels in Vancouver, but you will easily pay double (at least) for an equivalent accommodation. Don't forget to check out the attached Forage restaurant!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I prefer to stay in smaller boutique hotels as I am not someone who uses the facilities of a large chain. However, I didn't feel this one lived up to expectation. We paid a extra for the museum room floor but the expectation of lots of art turned out to be a little stretched. There were a couple of pictures in the hallway and in the room a few more…didn't really do it for me.
The room itself was clean and tidy, although it was nothing special. It was on the small size, only one comfy chair and a smallish double bed. This could have been the room we were given as I did notice on the floor map that it looked like we had one of the smaller ones on the floor.
Reception staff were on the most part pleasant and helpful although at check-out there seemed to be a new member of the team who really couldn't have cared less which was disappointing.
Reception itself was small although this didn't bother us as again not sure why some hotels waste space on huge receptions.
Not having a safety deposit box in the room is a pain – as an international traveler there are some things I don't want o have to carry around all day or leave in my room - it wasn't very convenient to be swapping jewelry and putting it on in the hallway.
We did eat at the restaurant one evening and the staff there were very welcoming and knowledgeable. Not the cheapest meal we had but one of the nicest.
Overall – would I recommend it? Only if you get a good price - the location is excellent within walking distance to the Skytrain and it is on a bus route and within walking distance to other major ones. A free bus to Capilano suspension bridge available from one of the hotesl opposite was also useful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hong Kong Rats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Property: The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Address: 1300 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Listel Hotel, Vancouver is located on city's most vibrant shopping and dining street. It is also known as "Vancouver's most art-full" and eco-friendly hotel. The property features original and limited artwork throughout the 129 guest rooms and public areas. It also boasts two award-winning and popular restaurants - Forage and Timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Listel Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Listel Vancouver Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing