We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated Yet Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #24 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outdated Yet Pleasant”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I got a great deal on this "4-star" hotel (per the different travel websites I researched this hotel on) through my credit card company. I would say this is a 3-star hotel disguised as 4-star. Since it's a small hotel (why pay for a larger hotel that will be just as average?) and the service was good, so I will bump my true 3.5 rating to a 4.

I booked a Museum room since it was on the highest floor (there are only 6 floors). I was told that there was no size difference between this type and the mid-priced room -- the only difference is the art in the room.

Let me start with the bad:
- Room was decent, not spectacular. You could tell that it is an old hotel that had some sort of makeover. Had I not gotten a great deal, I would've been highly disappointed. The TV was a 25" or so tube TV. The TV armoire looked like it was taken from the alley outside our room and refurbished.
- Bathroom is not for those afraid of the dark! The light illuminates the commode. However, when you get into the shower and close the curtain, it's lights out! Kinda scary the first time, but I guess you get used to it. I was just hoping Norman Bates wouldn't be waiting for me.
- One of the selling points on their site is that their windows open - Yeah, that's nice. However, our room was facing the alley, so when trash day rolled around, you would wish they'd have thicker windows that *didn't* open.
- Their other selling point is included Wi-Fi. The connection was pretty crappy at best. In that regard, I'd rather pay $15 or whatever other hotels charge to get a good connection.
- A/C unit is loud. It's also manually controlled (not digital), so you cannot set it to reach a certain temperature before it turns off. You either keep it on and tolerate the humming throughout the night or turn it off.
- The lamps that come out of the wall were about ready to fall off. They reminded me of a teeter totter.

And now the good:
- Bed and pillow are pretty comfy! I wasn't a fan of the bed coverings, though. They made me think this is what a jail bed would feel like.
- Large (yet mirrored) closet. I was able to put my suitcases in there and keep them out of the way.
- Location was great! It is surrounded by many different places to eat. If you go further east on Robson, there are plenty of places to shop. We also did walk to Stanley Park from the hotel. We didn't have a car, so that made the location perfect. If we couldn't get to a place on foot (i.e., Capilano Suspension Bridge, Grouse Mountain), the SkyTrain and bus stops were not far at all.

If you're looking for a decent, no frills (e.g., swimming pool that you're paying for but not going to use) hotel that's within walking distance to shopping, dining and leisure, then this is a great place and I would recommend it. If you're looking for high-class, fancy schmancy, then keep looking.

Room Tip: Go for the Museum room if you want to be on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaiLaiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    787
    184
    55
    22
See reviews for
357
888
125
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We booked on Hotwire for a great deal, we were happy with the price and location however we got there to find out parking would be 50 ++ dollars !!! for one night! Are you kidding , thats half the room price! The Front desk attendent than explained there was no pay parking around and we would need to pay and just park at the hotel, my boyfriend found overnight parking for $ 15 dollars across the street . Front desk was very short and cold. Dont let the pictures fool you, the lobby is the only thing they keep up to date with modern decor everything else needs a reno! -1 star .We will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candaced215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen-Jim, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. Parking is not inexpensive in Vancouver, or any other major city for that matter. The hotel does not charge $50.00 plus taxes per night for parking; however the hotel does charge $26.00 + tax ($35.23 total). Taxes on parking throughout the city are very expensive...but at least the tax on parking is used to pay for a great public transit system. I will add that for the price of parking the hotel provides a gated parking lot and valet services at no additional charge. Although the crime rate in Vancouver is quite low property crime, particularly vehicular break-in is a problem in many parking lots... but because of our gated lot and valet service it is not a problem at this hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Listel is a smaller hotel in a nice section of Robson. It is a refreshing break from large chain, impersonal hotels. The staff are great, the room is fine, and near-by shopping and dining meets most needs. I was impressed by the professionalism of front desk, room service, and hospitality of housekeeping. I will definitely stay here again. Oh yeah, free wi-fi, and other business amenities. Wow.

Room Tip: Take a room on the Gallery Floor and enjoy fresh, French pressed coffee, delivered each morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeVictWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen-Jim, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we do have a super good location... and a great staff, thanks for noticing! With regards to Internet access, we do include both wired and wireless access, plus free long distance calling within North America and many other business services in our fees. And yes, I agree, the Gallery Floor option is a good one as it includes the morning French Press coffee service or specialty tea offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed at this property 10 years ago when it was newly renovated. This time it is showing wear. Love the location on Robson Street. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were well appointed with "green" initiatives. The beds need work. I will be back within the next ten years to see if things get updated.

Room Tip: Request a high floor (odd numbered rooms) so you can see the water from your window between building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmThePadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here as our travel agent assured us this was the "nouveau" place to stay. We had just left The Empress Fairmount in Victoria and was probably spoiled, however, the Listel offered none of the charm we were hoping for. We were told we were upgraded to the "museum floor". Apparently this meant we had more mediocre artwork to view. The room was quite "green" and by that I meant, they used the environment as an excuse to offer no amenities.
We wandered down to the lobby to ask the concierge for a restaurant recommendation. He threw out about 17 names. Now this is about as valuable as throwing out none. So now we have it narrowed from 20 to 17, and unfortunately we chose one of the 20 that shouldn't have been on his list. He suggested a very upscale chinese restaurant in the area, where we had a very expensive poor meal. At least, the manager noting my wife ate none of her meal took it off our bill. Perhaps Canadian Asian food does not fit our palate?
Anyway, Considering the price of the hotel, I would surely expect better than average. Wish we had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen-Jim, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for your comment, I'm not certain what was meant by nouveau, our hotel is 26 years old and has been offering a good product at a good price for all of those years. That said, our hotel is definitely not a Fairmont, not in size, not in style, not in philosophy and certainly not in price. We do though offer a good quality, customer focused, small hotel experience at a reasonable price. We do have a great art collection throughout the hotel (that not everyone appreciates... but so be it). Vancouver is a very International city, with that comes very authentic foods, what has been referred to as "Canadian Chinese” food is more likely authentic Asian cuisine I'm sorry that this guest didn't like it. As far as our sustainability programs go, we are recognized leaders in our industry, and we are proud to be... and yes that means reducing waste. We realized a few years ago that we were going through about 45,000 small bottles of shampoo and lotion each year with the empty bottles destined for landfill... so we stopped we now provide the same level of excellent product through in-room pump dispensers. This amongst many other environmental initiatives in play at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights on a trip with work. The place is clean and tidy.

I found the front desk staff a little short but the housekeepers were very friendly.
Very good location but with some terrible artwork hung in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over Robson st. Depending on the room you might see the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roremc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hotel was clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The view was nice. The walk to the convention center was long, especially with elevation changes and crowds. I could not find any shuttles, other than from airport. The wifi was useless. Could not stay connected. Ended up heading across to Starbucks any time I needed it. Very convenient to rent bikes and ride along sea wall. Close to shopping, but mostly tourist-trap kind of shopping. There is no real character to the area.

Room Tip: I liked the view from the Gallery Floor. I did find it annoying to use a key in the elevator to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwsiwyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,479 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 90 in Vancouver
2,456 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Property: The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Address: 1300 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Listel Hotel, Vancouver is located on city's most vibrant shopping and dining street. It is also known as "Vancouver's most art-full" and eco-friendly hotel. The property features original and limited artwork throughout the 129 guest rooms and public areas. It also boasts two award-winning and popular restaurants - Forage and Timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Listel Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Listel Vancouver Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing